Courageunderfire

Dimboola 3rds
Just wanted to know what peoples opinions were on what the club has to do to get back its positive image of the past and to get back on track???

Carn' The Blues:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Just wanted to know what peoples opinions were on what the club has to do to get back its positive image of the past and to get back on track???

haha you're asking internet people for this answer?

What you should be asking yourself is, what sort of people would be capable of engineering the logistics of such a task? The correct answer to that question would not only rule out 99.999999999999% of internet regulars, but also that many living humans in general.

Tough one.......but I'll take a punt..........win football matches?

I know it sounds complex and difficult but I reckon its just a crazy enough idea to actually work....:rolleyes:

1. Stability at board level. Greg Lee with a marketing background should be president. Reduce board numbers. Get Mark Mclure on the board

2. Appoint Sheldon as G M of football

3. Give the playing Group & coaching staff some stability. Let Pagan See out his contract. 2 years not one year. By then Ratten may be ready. Then get a commitee made up of Parkin and Walls to select the next coach

4. End of next year must appoint an assistant who comes from a premiership environment- Longmire/Voss etc

5. Sign up young players don't hold out on them for small amounts of money

6. Move the pokies facility into the suburbs

7. Sub committee headed by Harrison reporting to Greg Lee to develop marketing plan for membership drive.

8. We might be short 300-500k to impliment point 7. So go to Pratt & Mathieson for loan donation. If the plan is right they will support it. The plans have not been right.

9. Impliment original first stage development of Princes Park with advice from Daniel Grollo.

10. If we start looking stable and show some onfield improvement, confidently sell more sponsorship

11. Then look at expanded opportunites for Princes Park.

Tough one.......but I'll take a punt..........win football matches?

I know it sounds complex and difficult but I reckon its just a crazy enough idea to actually work....:rolleyes:

Ha Ha... Never a truer word spoken!!!! It really REALLY is that simple people. We win games, we get bums on seats. We get bums on seats, we get greater exposure. We get greater exposure, we get more interest from sponsors. We get more interest from sponsors, we get more income. Direct AND passive..... The flow on effect from winning games of football is MASSIVE. Prime time tv, newspaper coverage etc etc.

1. Stability at board level. Greg Lee with a marketing background should be president. Reduce board numbers. Get Mark Mclure on the board

3. Give the playing Group & coaching staff some stability. Let Pagan See out his contract. 2 years not one year. By then Ratten may be ready. Then get a commitee made up of Parkin and Walls to select the next coach

4. End of next year must appoint an assistant who comes from a premiership environment- Longmire/Voss etc

7. Sub committee headed by Harrison reporting to Greg Lee to develop marketing plan for membership drive.

8. We might be short 300-500k to impliment point 7. So go to Pratt & Mathieson for loan donation. If the plan is right they will support it. The plans have not been right.

9. Impliment original first stage development of Princes Park with advice from Daniel Grollo.

10. If we start looking stable and show some onfield improvement, confidently sell more sponsorship

The man knows his stuff:thumbsu:

The debt has to be eliminated. It is a millstone around the club's neck.

As much as the members/supporters shouldn't have to contribute even more, maybe it is the only way.

Ask 50,000 supporters to pay $50 a year for three years. Or ask the members to pay an extra $100 a year for three years.

Or maybe as suggested by ODNs in this thread.

The major caveat under any of these proposals would be that all monies raised under such a scheme go directly to erasing the debt.

Improved on field performances will undoubtedly help our financial situation, as will increased membership revenue and so on. But they will only help improve our balance sheet position over an extended period of time.

But somehow the debt needs to be cleared much sooner than that, because while it exists our club is constantly under scrutiny and our future is the subject of constant speculation.

(I know the suggestions are probably over-simplified, but they are only opening gambits. :p ).

For those who read odn's thread about donating.
why doesn't everyone purchase a new momebership on direct debit.

Now you can all sit here saying "oh wouldn't it be grand if a supporter gave 7mil to the club." or "wouldn't it be grand if we paid 1.92 a week for 3 yrs".

Somebody has to do it. I'm buying a concession 11 i think and a $66 one. and im only 15 without any real source of income. What can you do?

All good except for no.3. If if are to start on the long road back we need to be good on the field. One of the biggest probelms this club has in regards to winning games is the coach. give the players someone who they'll want to play under. He must go now if we are to get back going in the right direction otherwise, if we wait 2 years, god knows where's this club will be if we get more of the same.

I dunno - I was feeling really good until yesterday.

Every time I looked up at the club website there was a reminder about how good our kids were, and i was buiying it! Murphy, Kennedy, Gibbs! Geesh how can we not be good, or how can we not get much much better?

Then that moron shoots his mouth off!

I think we'll feel better when we can forget about this election and just focus on the footy. After all thats what we watch them for. Elections are just distractions.

I have a feeling and it's a good one.

That when we start winning more games, that will be the focus of many people, not board scenarios.

Our footy will shine once again, and it will be ok.

We'll be back.

Winning actual footbal games would be a ********ing sensational start.

We need to get the crowds back, we need to get the success back, we need to get sponsors lining up. All because of games being won.

If we play crap football for another 2-3 years, you can kiss us goodbye and follow your local league.

It all starts on Feb 24, belting Essendon would be a nice beginning. WIN WIN WIN.

That when we start winning more games, that will be the focus of many people, not board scenarios.

We'll be back.

Given the way our kids are looking at the moment, hopefully this will happen sooner rather than later.

As has already been said, the first thing we need to do is start winning some more games.

Obviously, that won't immediately solve all our problems off-field, and noone is suggesting that it will, but there is no doubt that it will help.

Hopefully, by winning more games, we set off a trigger, leading to a sort of domino effect to improve other aspects of the CFC.

One can only hope, and wait-but I have no doubt that we will survive, and we will be back. I only pray that people realise this, and stay on board. We've been on a bumpy ride, and there is some turbulence, but there is light at the end of the tunnel-of that I have no doubt.

Still thinking that we will get to 14 wins this year mate?

Theres a padock between the board room and the oval HBF, and its not being used for bulls. We will be making the eight this year with a capital 8. If you take Bower plus Gibbs, Murph, Kennedy, Setanta, Waite, Fish and wWwalker it equals 8, you can't argue with maths.

But what we can do is argue with your logic...

We'll be back.

Spot on :thumbsu:

Who cam tell me without having to look it up, what is going on at St Kilda ATM???

Pretty much the same as what is happening at CFC but one HUGE difference (well two acrtually):

1. They played a prelim final..........we spooned again
2. As a result of 1. they have all their sponsors in line and membership is booming.
3. (sorry, had to add this) The media aren't falling over themselves to point out the negatives after years of arrogance......and their board is staying tight lipped.

The formula is easy.

Win games = more members and sponsors = operating profit = reduced debt = greater facilities and profile = win more games = etc.

It starts and ends on the field. Those on the board would like to think that they are much more important, but at the end of the day the club needs to win, we need to stay loyal with our support, and the rest will follow.:thumbsu:

Good quality board = Good sound administration, Good membership & marketing & merchandising departments = Good support and facilities for players and supporters = People and businesses that want be involved in the organisation = Ability to retain players and attract players in trades = Increased membership = Ability to wipe out debt = Ability to re invest in technology, recruitment & coaching departments & and to treat injuries = Ability to win more games. Then the cycle continues to re invest in the deapartments for an ongoing sustainable formula.

When you build a house you build it off a plan.
Then the most important structure is the slab.
Then goes up the frame ect.ect.

I've been involved in many committies and clubs over the years and held office on a couple of occasions.

It starts at the top. If you cannot get the first point right and it is generally the hardest to do, the rest doesn't work which is clearly evident at our dear club at the moment and is the reason we are in this sad state.

True Jock.

You could have the greatest plan for financial security/investments etc, a wonderful marketing campaign etc.

If you don't win any games its matters not.

Football is an easy business when you are winning.
Unfortunately, the last time we were in a position to invest, plan for the future, and do all the things you mentioned, was when we were winning in the late 90's............and we were being run by arrogant crooks who beleived (and still do) that they are untouchable and that the rules and business pratice that applies to everyone else just doesn't apply here.

The illusion is over and we are playing catch up for lack of investing in our future for the past decade or more.

Plans such as the ones you mention are great. But without on field success it will never get off the ground.

I agree with you it helps when you are winning with marketing membership ect. no doubt.

I just wanted to point out that saying all we need to do is start winning and things will turn around is hopeful more than anything.
There is a way out of this though and again it starts at the top.

This is of the beat and track, Does anyone know when the election result's will be announced? Is it AGM?