Stylo

Steve was great last year and deserves all the credit he received, he plays hard and uncompromising footy that has earnt him a reputation as a 'dude' not to mess with (looking at you Yarran).

I'm concerned, however, that we may have seen the best of Steve's ability already. I know it was only a hit and giggle for us on Friday night but Steve looked horribly out of touch. Nearly all of his possessions were Dan Jackson-esque, and he often ran himself into trouble, causing a turnover or pressuring a team mate.

In my opinion, Steve is a small/medium lock down defender who tries too often to play like a running half back, despite lacking the skills and athleticism. We need him to learn his limitations. I wonder how the coaching staff view him and his role in the future? Perhaps as a tagger?

I fear if he doesn't learn some restraint he runs the risk of earning whipping boy status in the future.

Thoughts?

Ahhhh, with all of the other bruhaha going on we have sorely missed the "Where is *insert players name* at" threads....
IMO you are selling Morro a little short.
Sure he came in as a mature recruit but this does not mean he has little improvement in him now that he is in the AFL 'system'.
He is such a competitor and he LOVES the Tigers & playing in his dad's number that this passion can only drive him further.

We need him healthy and playing every week to lock away a small opp forward and provide grunt and underestimated run off the back line.

No reason why he won't be with us for another 6 - 8 years! :thumbsu:

Firstly, if last year is his peak, and that's what we have to look forward to for the next 8-10 years, I'll be happy.

Secondly, I reckon he thrives on the contest and the big occasion... last week, I got the impression the players were almost expected to treat that game as quite the opposite.

Firstly, if last year is his peak, and that's what we have to look forward to for the next 8-10 years, I'll be happy.

Secondly, I reckon he thrives on the contest and the big occasion... last week, I got the impression the players were almost expected to treat that game as quite the opposite.

Players never peak for 8-10 years. I'm just concerned about how much improvement he has left.

But I'll wait and see what he produces this year before jumping off the wagon. I spose he is only 24, should be entering his peak now.

Last year's NAB Cup he was the worst kick I've ever seen. Don't worry about pre-season games it's the first time in months they have to kick a ball with REAL pressure on them.

Players never peak for 8-10 years. I'm just concerned about how much improvement he has left.

But I'll wait and see what he produces this year before jumping off the wagon. I spose he is only 24, should be entering his peak now.
Peak may not be quite the right word, but I think it's fair to say a player can be considered a very good player for that long. Maybe 5-6 years is more accurate also.

Last year's NAB Cup he was the worst kick I've ever seen. Don't worry about pre-season games it's the first time in months they have to kick a ball with REAL pressure on them.
Spot on TJ, he struggled to hit up targets within 20 metres of him. All you blokes need to wait till a few rounds in of the actual season before you all start judging.

Steve was great last year and deserves all the credit he received, he plays hard and uncompromising footy that has earnt him a reputation as a 'dude' not to mess with (looking at you Yarran).

I'm concerned, however, that we may have seen the best of Steve's ability already. I know it was only a hit and giggle for us on Friday night but Steve looked horribly out of touch. Nearly all of his possessions were Dan Jackson-esque, and he often ran himself into trouble, causing a turnover or pressuring a team mate.

In my opinion, Steve is a small/medium lock down defender who tries too often to play like a running half back, despite lacking the skills and athleticism. We need him to learn his limitations. I wonder how the coaching staff view him and his role in the future? Perhaps as a tagger?

I fear if he doesn't learn some restraint he runs the risk of earning whipping boy status in the future.

Thoughts?
Not sure if serious?
Steve Morris, although has an awkward running style, is deceptively very quick and his agility to pounce on a footy or an opponent who is to the side, or behind him is phenomenal.

He is very important our structure and our overall team landscape.

Not only does Steve do his job (look at his jobs on Rioli, Davey, Ballantyne etc), he is like Kingy, instills a fear into an opponent which is vital to beating your opponent.

Not sure if serious?

Absolutely. Describing Morris, athleticism is not the first word that springs to mind. He's pretty quick yes, and goes in hard, but to me that is not athleticism. Athletic is evasiveness, sidestep, pivot, leap. Things he is okay at, but I wouldn't say outstanding.

I agree re. your fear factor comment.

Absolutely. Describing Morris, athleticism is not the first word that springs to mind. He's pretty quick yes, and goes in hard, but to me that is not athleticism. Athletic is evasiveness, sidestep, pivot, leap. Things he is okay at, but I wouldn't say outstanding.

I agree re. your fear factor comment.
I think these are strengths of his game. Remember his goal against the hawks. All he did was side step and evade the poo and pee

Think he will be a good player for us although his play style isn't going to suit the rule changes, He slides in alot and even headfirst most times from watching the AFL change in rule's video for 2013 not sure how this will affect his performance.

This thread is based on his match last Friday, say no more.

Not exclusively. Some traits of his game need improvement, even on last year's output, if he's to help us reach finals and beyond. Do you think the 2012 Steven Morris could be a premiership back pocket? I'm not sure myself.

Just my opinion of course. I'll be watching him closely this year, and backing him all the way.

Do you think the 2012 Steven Morris could be a premiership back pocket? I'm not sure myself.

I hate when people say that. What does it mean? Are there certain requirements to be a BP premiership player?

IMO he is the exact type of player you want/need in finals and definitely the Grand Final.

Where is he at - probably one of the firsts name on the whiteboard each week thats where he is at!

One of the biggest tickas to pull on the jumper in my 28 years of watching the tiges

Imagine what he will be like when her gets 50-100 games under his belt

Do you think the 2012 Steven Morris could be a premiership back pocket? I'm not sure myself.

Shit yeah!
Exactly the sort of player you need in the backline during the maximum high pressure environment on GF day.

Where he might sometimes look a little out of place is during a mid-season game with less pressure where we may be either well infront (or behind) where the ball is zipping around at a million miles an hour with heaps of racked up uncontested posesions and 'fast break footy'.

Stick him into a hard arsed contested fight for every inch of ground (ala a close final) & he would be the first picked in my squad to patrol the back-line.... punching the ball forward.... diving full length to smother.... crunching an opponent with a heavy shepard....

Bloke is built to play finals....

What are they?

Obviously there's no formula for it. Far worse players than Morris have won premierships before. But ideal criteria would be decent skills, composure, strong defensive game and strong attack on the footy. Morris ticks 3 of those boxes for me. His biggest deficiency IMO is 1 on 1 defending. Of course I hope to see him improve this as he's only in his 2nd year of AFL footy, but to suggest he's a 'premiership quality' defender at this stage is a bit of a stretch. I'm not saying we can't possibly win a premiership with 2012 Morris playing back pocket, we could, but I would like still like to see improvement. Do you think he can/will improve?

He will be fine. One year in the system and he fitted in beautifully. Hell get smarter, fitter and play his role perfectly. Type of bloke you want to be running out alongside you knowing hes going to leave nothing on the field.

His ceiling isnt perhaps as high as some of out other kids but hes the type of footballer you want at the club.

lol - seriously even if he doesnt improve that much he is still in the best 22. He is a 1% player, cant remember anyone from any team that goes in as hard as Morris. I think Morris has a weakness against aboriginal players. Might be a bit to sleek for him.