Sydney Swans
Who do these mofo's support?

Bruce is a closet crows supporter

Huddo?
Healy? Swans or Demons?
Dennis..freo or eagles?
Walls..carlton?
Robbo...calrton? but i once heard him say to Dunstall during a bombers v hawks game "Our hawks need to get up"
Sandy???

The rest I don't need to mention as we all know who they support.

I'm in Sydney so I only hear these guys commentate and that's about it.

Robbo barracks for Carlton, was a premiership player for them, but he is pretty obvious when he has money on a team, because he barracks for them like he's in the outer.

Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
Peter McKenna was great as he loved the Hawks, even though he never played for them!

About 10 years ago, it became fashionable to write off the Hawks before the beginning of the new footy season. You could be guaranteed that Peter McKenna would say : "Don't write off the Hawks. Don't EVER write off the Hawks"

I don't think he loved Hawthorn (why would he, when he played for The Pies and Blues, and barracked for the Bombers as a kid?), but he respected them.

Bruce hides his aligiances tremendously well.

Being from Adelaide, I am sure he has leanings towards the Crows, but he followed footy long before the Crows came in.

I had a mate in Adelaide who's brother met him a couple of times and he said he was a Collingwood supporter!

well Bruce macavaney is a south australian so I reckon the Crows.
Neil kerly is a south Australian and I reckon hes a crow too.

But they could very well support Port.Adelaide.
thats the Port.Adelaide magpies of course :D

Originally posted by Dan25
Dennis Cometti is a Bulldogs fan (believe it or not), and Denis' son barracks for the Bombers.

Peter Landy used to barrack for Hawthorn.

A bulldogs fan..well i'll be dammed!

I would have never pictured Sandy being a Magpies supporter!

What ever happened to Peter Landy..i knew he followed hawthorn becasue the last game at Wavery against the swans during the intervals he was hosting with a Hawthorn scarfe. he also got aroused at every goal that the hawks kicked that day..and they kicked a few! :mad:

Originally posted by X_box_X
well Bruce macavaney is a south australian so I reckon the Crows.
Neil kerly is a south Australian and I reckon hes a crow too.

But they could very well support Port.Adelaide.
thats the Port.Adelaide magpies of course :D

Neil Kerly is a crows supporter. When the crows play and he is a dropkick rider, he is too biased towards the crows. Legend or no legend..he ****s me!!

Sandy roberts loves the Swans from what I can gather in his commentary...
Brucie is pretty keen on his SA sides particularly the Crows although he calls unbiased.
Robertson is Blues
McKenna did like the hawks and Pies
Don Scott hated everyone when he commentated (Bring him back I say!)
While guys like Dermie and Dunstall, Dipper are pretty much obviously and unashamedly Hawthorn.
Oh and Denis Cometti? Well I think he has always liked the eagles but his sympathy vote lies with the Dockers now I reckon

Originally posted by IlGino
Don Scott hated everyone when he commentated (Bring him back I say!)

Haha, used to love Don Scott's comments.

Case A
Brisbane Bears vs North Melbourne at Carrara, 1989. North is getting belted and can't do a thing right. John McCarthy (North) runs into an open goal, and kicks a point from 15 metres out.

Discreet (but audible) comment from Don Scott : "shiiiiit" :p :p :p

Case B
Match review for Channel 7's Sunday morning Footy Panel, after about 6,000 people turned up for Hawthorn vs Brisbane at Princes park in 1991.

Comment from Don Scott : "At least your kids can go get a hot dog at quarter time, without being molested".

Robbo may be a Carlton man, but he sure doesn't show it in his call. Honestly, he doesn't seem to give a toss if we do well. On the other hand, I dunno who Drew Morphett barracks for, but he does seem to commentate like he is a Carlton fan.

Another voice unheard this year.

I liked Drews commentating..made even the bad games sound entertaining just like Sandy.

Bruce McAvaney said in an interview a couple of years back that although he doesn't "follow" an AFL team in particular, he enjoys seeing the Crows win being from South Australian, and that they are his "preferred" team.

So there you go :)

I used to love it when Mckenna was commentating

favorite line -- " don't tell me he's kicked this, i will not believe it"

he used to say it about 5 times a match as well.

My least favourite is G.Healy especially in the 99 GF with all his comments about North running out of legs. He always seems to barrack in his comments especially in North games.

Smokey

Another gem from Scotty.

1991 grand final - Eagles doing well early. Eagle forward soccers a goal to give the eagles their biggest lead. "oh nooo" exclaims Scotty. In a a grand final too. with 400 thousand million people watching (CH 7 estimates).

But did Scotty get shafted because of 1996 ?

Originally posted by Darky

Haha, used to love Don Scott's comments.

Case A
Brisbane Bears vs North Melbourne at Carrara, 1989. North is getting belted and can't do a thing right. John McCarthy (North) runs into an open goal, and kicks a point from 15 metres out.

Discreet (but audible) comment from Don Scott : "shiiiiit" :p :p :p

Case B
Match review for Channel 7's Sunday morning Footy Panel, after about 6,000 people turned up for Hawthorn vs Brisbane at Princes park in 1991.

Comment from Don Scott : "At least your kids can go get a hot dog at quarter time, without being molested".

Originally posted by TheSchwatta_#2
Another voice unheard this year.

I liked Drews commentating..made even the bad games sound entertaining just like Sandy.

That is truly frightening!

Peter Landy left 7 because he was going to be fired I think, but he agreed to stay on to help out for the rowing at the Olympics.

I thought he was a fantastic commentator, I don't know why they got rid of him. I thought Peter McKenna was good, but Don Scott was hilarious. He used to mumble about how pathetic this game was etc etc.

Sandy Roberts was/is a North Melbourne supporter. He's originally from Adelaide but has no allegiances there. He and Cometti are also the two best commentators by a mile.