Sacramento Kings
Who is Chad Gibson?
afc.com.au
9:43:53 AM Mon 17 January, 2005

Who did you play your junior football with?

I played with Tea Tree Gully from Under 8’s to Under 15’s.

What level did you play at Norwood

I played with the Under 17’s at Norwood last year and was lucky enough to play the last three games in the league team.

What was the experience of playing league football in the SANFL like?

It was very hard, but good. I enjoyed the experience. The bodies were much bigger and stronger and the pace was quicker than that in the Under 17’s. Although I only played three games, I learnt a fair bit during those games.

Who was your childhood hero?

Tony Lockett and Wayne Carey

When were you first contacted by the club, who contacted you, and what was said?

I spoke to James Fantasia at the Draft Camp, but it was only very quickly. Not too much was said about the Club drafting me so I didn’t listen to the Draft, but I was very excited when I heard I had been drafted by Adelaide and to be able to stay in Adelaide and not move interstate.

What has been the best part of pre-season training so far?

I really enjoy the weight training.

What has been the worst part?

Coming last in the runs.

How big a step up has the training regime been from what you have previously been used to?

It is a huge difference. We would do more in one session here than we sometimes did in a week at Norwood. It took some getting used to – all the training – but I am enjoying the experience.

The most “interesting” teammate you’ve met so far?

Rowan Andrews

Goals for 2005?

I am aiming to play a full year with the league team at Norwood and play consistently. My fitness is an area that I need to work on so I would like to improve in this area.

Outside of training hours, what have you been doing in your spare time?

I try to catch up with my mates who have their own jobs or spend time with my family.

Stiffy_18 said:
What has been the best part of pre-season training so far?

I really enjoy the weight training.
I reckon opposition players will be sh|tting themselves :D

Stiffy_18 said:
What has been the worst part?

Coming last in the runs.
Not surprising

SpringChoke said:
Met him on Sat night at the Cas. He's a tall bloke but looked a little skinny.
At 195 cm and 93 kg he is a pretty big lad for a 17 year old. A couple of year in the gym and another 8-10 kg on his frame would make him a monster.

He has a great frame and looks like he has big bones. With his frame and style of play you can tell that he will be a very imposing player in a couple of years. Needs to work on his aerobic capacity and as a result I can see him being played as an attacking CHB for Norwood.

SpringChoke said:
Sounds like a case of mistaken identity as this kid cannot be described as skinny.

Stiffy_18 said:
At 195 cm and 93 kg he is a pretty big lad for a 17 year old. A couple of year in the gym and another 8-10 kg on his frame would make him a monster.

He has a great frame and looks like he has big bones. With his frame and style of play you can tell that he will be a very imposing player in a couple of years. Needs to work on his aerobic capacity and as a result I can see him being played as an attacking CHB for Norwood.
HE is going to scare a lot of players if he can catch them :rolleyes:

Apparently as fast as a rover, just better not be much longer than 50 mtrs :p

SpringChoke said:
17 and out on the town! and at the CASINO!! not a very good sign IMHO

Getting serious, apparently very fast for a big man, and you can understand in part if he has been playing as a ruckmen at U17 level, how much fitness would he have needed.

Ron Kneebone MK2 :)

Stiffy_18 said:
Reading too much into it mate. The bloke has got to go out. We all did at that age ;)
And much more :D
but we (at least I) had no chance of a career in sport.
But you are proberbly right. as long as he turned up for training in good condition.

jc67 said:
17 and out on the town! and at the CASINO!! not a very good sign IMHO
At the Casino doesn't really mean much, I visit irregularly with friends who are keen, doesn't mean:
a) I'm Keen
b) I'm getting into trouble

No linkage between the two I'm afraid. ;)

Wayne's-World said:
Getting serious, apparently very fast for a big man, and you can understand in part if he has been playing as a ruckmen at U17 level, how much fitness would he have needed.

Ron Kneebone MK2 :)
If he had the hands of say Jonathan Brown and aerobic capacity of Kenny McGregor to go with all the other attributes he could be deadly :D:p

Stiffy_18 said:
If he had the hands of say Jonathan Brown and aerobic capacity of Kenny McGregor to go with all the other attributes he could be deadly :D:p
So do you know who Ron Kneebone (the tank) was???

Wayne's-World said:
At the Casino doesn't really mean much, I visit irregularly with friends who are keen, doesn't mean:
a) I'm Keen
b) I'm getting into trouble

No linkage between the two I'm afraid. ;)

I dont see that as much as a problem either.

I do remember when I was out at the New York Bar and Grill at Marion a few years ago and saw Laurance Angwin out, this was before all his problems were revealed.

I saw him with 2 bourbons in his hands and a cigerette in his mouth, straight away the alarm bells went off, before you know it its game over.

Stiffy_18 said:
Cmon Macca, Noddy, Mark32 help Stiffy out here

Who was Ron Kneebone and what was his claim to fame?

Blue Red and Gold said:
I dont see that as much as a problem either.

I do remember when I was out at the New York Bar and Grill at Marion a few years ago and saw Laurance Angwin out, this was before all his problems were revealed.

I saw him with 2 bourbons in his hands and a cigerette in his mouth, straight away the alarm bells went off, before you know it its game over.
I was saying yesterday to friends:

" how dumb do you have to be when you decide getting stonkered and stealing a few CD's is better than getting $500K per annum to kick a footy around
:confused: - pretty dumb!!

Wayne's-World said:
Cmon Macca, Noddy, Mark32 help Stiffy out here

Who was Ron Kneebone and what was his claim to fame?

CHB or CHF for Norwood referred to as the Tank.

A big solid barrel chested fellow who took no prisoners.

Got cleaned up in the early days of his career by one of the filthiest scumbags to play footy in Port's Marx Kretchmer who assaulted a young Kneebone behind play and put him in hospital with bandages across his eyes for a week.

Kneebone made plenty a player pay for what happened to him in the years that followed, but he could really play footy as well.

Wayne's-World said:
I was saying yesterday to friends:

" how dumb do you have to be when you decide getting stonkered and stealing a few CD's is better than getting $500K per annum to kick a footy around
:confused: - pretty dumb!!

My mate was spewing because I think he was just over looked by the Crows that draft or a draft close to that one.
My mate had been working his arse off, staying off the grog doing everything right and missed out by a bee's ******** and then he saw this bloke making a mockery of the chance he was given.

Looks like Karl Norman is going down the same path too.

macca23 said:
CHB or CHF for Norwood referred to as the Tank.

A big solid barrel chested fellow who took no prisoners.

Got cleaned up in the early days of his career by one of the filthiest scumbags to play footy in Port's Marx Kretchmer who assaulted a young Kneebone behind play and put him in hospital with bandages across his eyes for a week.

Kneebone made plenty a player pay for what happened to him in the years that followed, but he could really play footy as well.
I like him :D:p

Blue Red and Gold said:
My mate was spewing because I think he was just over looked by the Crows that draft or a draft close to that one.
My mate had been working his arse off, staying off the grog doing everything right and missed out by a bee's ******** and then he saw this bloke making a mockery of the chance he was given.

Looks like Karl Norman is going down the same path too.

who are you talking about did he end up getting drafted????