Coconut Rough

Sep 11, 2007
Neutral observer here,

Just wondering, with the recent loss of key players from the crows side, who do you have (young or old) who can take the next step.

I foolishly thought McGregor would, but obviously that's now not going to happen.

Some posters argue that the crows have the least promising youngsters in the league... prove them wrong!

Whose your wild card to burst onto the scene in 2008?

no way do we have the least promising youngsters Knights will be an elite player one day Van Berlo will be very good, Griffin & Maric are highly rated in SA. Douglas had a slow year but I recon he'll flourish in '08 he's my wildcard..

then theres untried Sellar, Tippett, McKay & Pfieffer all very decent prospects. But yeah Douglas I recon is ready to step up next year after very good performances in the SANFL with Glenelg

Kurt Tippett

Beat me to it.

Next year we'll see the true emergence of Douglas and what Reilly could have produced this year if not for injury.

Tippett, Reilly and Douglas - They're my 3.

Along with continued improvement from Scotty Thompson, and the AA form of Nathan Bock at CHB :thumbsu:

I think Pfieffer will emerge next year. I like the way he plays.
There are so many! They have all been injured.

And prepare for the reemergence of a Mattner!

Agree there. He's great to watch is'nt he, so slippery, just escapes from tackles by dodging and weaving. I think the future for the AFC will be quite good. With players like Pfieffer, Sellar, Tippett, Campbell, Douglas and the rest, once they get some decent game time, they will definately be good enough to step up. Seen alot of these guys through the SANFL and have they shown heaps of talent, just need 2 get the opportunity to show it.

Darren Pfeiffer.

1124.jpg

Be prepared to see a LOT of this photo over the off season. ;)

Darren Pfeiffer.

1124.jpg

I'd actually forgotten about him.

But yes, I expect him to really step up.

Personally, I think he'll be a real fan favourite. Ridiculous courage, great overhead mark, gives nice run.

Certainly one to watch.

Tippett still another year away I reckon. For me Gill will take it to another level as will Porps, Reilly, VB and Knights.. Maric and Dougo need to play 22 games. Need to get some games into Pfeiffer

We've lost 3 players .....but in reality only one starting 22 from this season.

Maric and Griffin will both be big improvers ......due to another PS and long stint in the gym + the fact both have played enough games to know what needs to be done to improve.

Expect Tippett to replace McGregor .......he's an exciting prospect, probably as exciting since Darren Bartsch (who unfortunately wasn't hungry enough).

Expect Gill to be better with a decent full PS behind him.

Hentschell to play out of defence after about half a dozen SANFL games .......probably as a flanker rather than KP.

Pfieffer .....make or break year .....frankly I think next seaon is the start of a good career ....albeit it has stalled to this point.

Hoping Mackay can have an influence and Porplyzia gets into the midfield more than he did this season.

Neutral observer here,

Just wondering, with the recent loss of key players from the crows side, who do you have (young or old) who can take the next step.

I foolishly thought McGregor would, but obviously that's now not going to happen.

Some posters argue that the crows have the least promising youngsters in the league... prove them wrong!

Whose your wild card to burst onto the scene in 2008?
Taylor Walker

We definitely have the players there ready to stand up and I think we will start to see that this year. All the doomsdayers really need to have a look at a few of the above list and just realise that there are some good players there, we only need to clean out a few older players that are taking their spots, eg Doughty, Perrie, Mcgregor, Massie, Shirley etc. I personally think Douglas and Mackay will be the big ones next year and I hope Pfeiffer does too as he could be a real gun.

There are so many! They have all been injured.

And prepare for the reemergence of a Mattner!

Hey fellas,
Sorry to bump the thread, but I've just been thinking about the responses and the events since.

Hudson = gone!
Mattner = gone!
First round draftpick from a few years ago = gone
And... Pfiffer, who some appeared to have pinned their hopes upon, also gone!

Don't get me wrong, I love the crowies. But I haven't like whats happened over the past few weeks, though I've seen nothing of Symes and have no idea how he plays.

I do know some have put the crows to finish bottom four in 2008. Are you guys willing to 'bottom out' in order to rebuild? Trust me, you don't want to, as a hawks fan I've been through a horrid few years before this one.

And... why dump Pfiffer if you are looking to rebuild?
Will another club pick him up?

Hey fellas,
Sorry to bump the thread, but I've just been thinking about the responses and the events since.

Hudson = gone!
Mattner = gone!
First round draftpick from a few years ago = gone
And... Pfiffer, who some appeared to have pinned their hopes upon, also gone!

Don't get me wrong, I love the crowies. But I haven't like whats happened over the past few weeks, though I've seen nothing of Symes and have no idea how he plays.

I do know some have put the crows to finish bottom four in 2008. Are you guys willing to 'bottom out' in order to rebuild? Trust me, you don't want to, as a hawks fan I've been through a horrid few years before this one.

And... why dump Pfiffer if you are looking to rebuild?
Will another club pick him up?
The club won't bottom out! Not under this coach and this administration.

As for Pfeiffer, his talent was there for all to see but it was the off-field issues that saw him get the sack. There could be a club willing to take a punt on him purely based on talent. If he can grow the **** up he could be a very good AFL player.

Like many I thought 2008 would be the year Darren Pfeiffer played some AFL footy. Obviously issues ran a little deeper than I thought.

Now that he is gone I will tip Ivan Maric will have a bigger impact this year. He has the size and fingers crossed he has a unhindered pre season unlike last year.
I also think Nick Gill will continue to dazzle with the greatest and the worst things you will ever see.

Like many I thought 2008 would be the year Darren Pfeiffer played some AFL footy. Obviously issues ran a little deeper than I thought.

Now that he is gone I will tip Ivan Maric will have a bigger impact this year. He has the size and fingers crossed he has a unhindered pre season unlike last year.
I also think Nick Gill will continue to dazzle with the greatest and the worst things you will ever see.

Is there any hope at all we will re-draft Pfeiffer and hope that his delisting works as a wake up call. I've not actually seen him play much personally, but everyone on here says he has 'talent to burn', surely we could give him one more year and hope after recent events he really does wake up to himself.

Darren Pfeiffer.

1124.jpg

Just had to say that's a great photo.
Positives: Left heel about to strike the grass.
Left quad=massive
left arm=straight and thumb pointed
face of concentration
right hand well placed
aami sign in the background
socks up

negatives:
none

Who will step up?