why byrnes?? oh dear..

• Thread starter Thread starter kinggaz29

Byrnes injects spark and pace into our team. Knows how to win the footy, yet lets himself down with his disposal. Varcoe doesn't get enough of it and even when he does he doesn't use it well either. Byrnes is more value to the team at the moment. All Varcoe does well is chase.

Gee whiz. Maybe it is just a case of Varcoe-love, but I reckon that some of the posters on this thread are being a bit harsh on Byrnes.
Just because you didn't want him in the side in the first place, there is no reason other than your own egos to mark him so poorly.
Sure he wouldn't get the votes but he was a long way from playing badly.
The comment blaming him for turning the ball over in the goal square is absolutely ridiculous. Surrounded by three bulldogs, he attempted to handball over the top to Chappie. What exactly was he supposed to do better?
He had fifteen possessions and some want to talk about the four that didn't find team mates, not the eleven that did.
Some of his 'chase-downs' were, dare I say it, Varcoe like.
He also laid five effective tackles.
The Champion Data rankings system (see AFL website) had him placed in front of 20 (yes that is twenty) other players on the night.
Those lower ranked players include his Skipper, six other Geelong players and thirteen of the opposition.
Now I am by no means suggesting that he starred, but his game was certainly worthy of another and if he can continue with those numbers and perhaps improve as he readjusts to the tempo of the "Ones", he may well participate in our finals campaign.
Yep im with u mate. He got 15 possies in his first game in the ones for a while. Varcoe got 4 last week in his 12th or 13th game straight.

Most people are too harsh on byrnesy. He is a good player.

That's stupid.
Never should've called for it?
Mooney's a big boy, twas his fault...

Well not really and I am not saying Mooney is without fault here, he was 25 meters out after all. Byrnes was in a better position to make a judgment on the situation though.

How can you blame Byrnes for Mooney's brain fade? It's like you're just looking for any excuse to bag the bloke. Get a grip on reality. I bet Byrnes wasn't the only player calling for the ball. When someone has the ball in the pocket, it is common place for most of the guys in the forward line to be leading and calling for it. IMO, the reason Moons dished it off was because he wasn't confident at kicking with his hamstring. The fault in no way lies with Byrnesy. Stop trying to validate your opinion. Varcoe was dropped because he was playing poorly. Byrnes got called up and played a decent game. You predicted it was a bad move. You got wtfpwnd. Move on.

I love the bloke. I don't know why you guys want to get rid of him. He is like grease lightning. Saw him in the grand final sprint. Unbelievable.

Mate you don't call for a ball when you are under the pump. Byrnes was calling for the ball, he shouldn't have been, it is that simple.

I thought Byrnes was ok, not bagging his game, just don't think he did the right thing in that situation.

Mate you don't call for a ball when you are under the pump. Byrnes was calling for the ball, he shouldn't have been, it is that simple.

I thought Byrnes was ok, not bagging his game, just don't think he did the right thing in that situation.

You do call for it. Anything to put your opposition under pressure. Doesn't mean he has to honour it every time. By your reckoning, a guy streming out from the forward line doesn't have to call for it if he's under the pump? Silly. Blame rests with Mooney.

How does a lead in the forward line apply to a handball received situation? Silly

Maybe I should clarify. You do not call for a handball receive after your team mate takes a mark unless it is to your teams benefit. It ain't rocket science, it something every coach will tell you from Vic kick up to AFL.

Do you all agree that he earned his selection?
I was sitting with a Bulldog supporter and asked him to watch No 17 and tell me what he thought - he and his sidekick thought Byrnes played as they expected their own players to do - to operate at top speed and deliver - so were complimentary. I'm biased because I rate him and my reservations about his kicking were put aside. Even my mate Hunt made relatively few errors though for both of them they might have appeared real clangers in a close match. They were both pretty good and I did not sense Byrnesie trying to be 'the big star' - just doing his bit in a stunning display by the Cats.

Did okay I thought. Better than Varcoe has been the last few weeks anyhow. Laid a few good tackles too. Not quite sure what position he was playing though...

This is very interesting. I don't particularly want Byrnes in the side, but if you need a fast forward pocket to get possessions and apply defensive pressure he's our best bet right now.

Others can talk all they want about Varcoe - but he isn't getting the ball. I'm not sure how your disposal is so much cleaner and superior when you're getting 4 touches a game. Byrnes, as I thought, got a lot more of it and applied just as many tackles as Varcoe would have. He did his job.

I thought it also showed the difference between a first year player and a guy who's had 3-4 years. Varcoe will probably overtake him eventually, but like Hawkins we now know just how raw these guys are. Plenty to learn yet.

Also shows what a freak Selwood is.

DJ is awesome; I have always liked him as a player and never really understood why he wasn't part of the team originally, although admittedly it is hard to see who he would have replaced out of our best 22 :P Hopefully he stays around though, because he is a really good player who would get a game in most of the teams.

This is very interesting. I don't particularly want Byrnes in the side, but if you need a fast forward pocket to get possessions and apply defensive pressure he's our best bet right now.

Others can talk all they want about Varcoe - but he isn't getting the ball. I'm not sure how your disposal is so much cleaner and superior when you're getting 4 touches a game. Byrnes, as I thought, got a lot more of it and applied just as many tackles as Varcoe would have. He did his job.

I thought it also showed the difference between a first year player and a guy who's had 3-4 years. Varcoe will probably overtake him eventually, but like Hawkins we now know just how raw these guys are. Plenty to learn yet.

Also shows what a freak Selwood is.

Who would you rather for Week 1 of the finals: Varcoe or Byrnes?

Selwood is unbelievable. A bargain at pick seven.

Who would you rather for Week 1 of the finals: Varcoe or Byrnes?

Selwood is unbelievable. A bargain at pick seven.

Very tough question. Under intense pressure you don't want Byrnes fluffing kicks left right and centre, but then again right now you can't see Varcoe getting a touch in a really tough game either.

So, to answer.......I don't know.

Whilst I'm a Varcoe fan and Byrnes one of my delist players, he did enough to stay in the team for 1 more week. The heat is now on Varcoe to produce.

Were you there Friday night? - Byrnes wasn't too bad at all - and I've often been very critical of his dispoasal.

Yeah I tend to agree. I'm not rapt on Byrnes but he provided more than Varcoe was. It's all wonderful chasing people down, but you've got to get it yourself. Right now Varcoe doesn't, and Byrnes does.

Still 6 weeks to go though, if Varcoe plays a couple of good games in the seconds he'd most likely come back in. Unless Byrnes kicks a few goals as well. We'll see.

Were you there Friday night? - Byrnes wasn't too bad at all - and I've often been very critical of his dispoasal.

his disposal was not bad but his decision making was horrible at stages, taking his man on and beating him and then stopping coz he did not know what to do next.

or the handpass back to blake, which put blake under the hammer.

and that missed goal opportunity when he was looking to handball it out from 20m.

brynes can't finish full-stop. don't really think comparing him to varcoe is right - but look at the difference in finishing. i'd honestly rather NOT have byrnes racking up more than five kicks upfield. dunno. could be the lack of senior games, but both he and Hunt seem a step off the rhythm of the rest of the team.

rhythm.

If Matty Scarlett is still sick as reported on TV last night, then one assumes that Hunt will hold his place. Byrnesie, I'm not sure. He and Nablett could not be more different - depends who we need to counter Fremantle who are fired up under Harvey. Byrnes was bloody fast last Friday night and made relatively few boo-boos.

From today's Addy:
Depth has its own despair
Jason Shields
25Jul07

41byrnes.jpg

ENJOYING THE MOMENT: Shannon Byrnes says just being a part of the team at the moment is sensational.

DEPTH is every coach's dream, but it can be a nightmare for those players on the fringe of the senior team.
But the group of players banging down the door at Geelong this season are remaining up-beat, according to small forward Shannon Byrnes.
Byrnes, who had been out of the seniors since round four, got his chance against the Western Bulldogs at Telstra Dome last Friday night.
Byrnes was brought into the side at the expense of Travis Varcoe and picked up 15 possessions and had five tackles in a lively performance.
He is desperate to retain his place in the team for this Saturday's clash against Fremantle.
"It's obviously been a hard team to get back into, so I was just rapt to get the opportunity to play with the boys again,'' Byrnes said.
"Because there are so many of us (on the fringe), we all sort of work together to keep each other up. And the senior guys are great as well, they don't just forget about us, they include us in everything.
"I suppose it is a group thing. We all try to get together and do the right things and hopefully when you get your chance, you can take it.''
Byrnes said the consistency of the AFL-listed players in Geelong's VFL team was one of the reasons for the Cats' sustained success in the AFL this year.
"I think it is every coach's dream to have that sort of luxury that he can leave good players out of the side,'' he said. "It means that the senior team is going well and it keeps the senior blokes on their toes.
"I think that is why everyone needs to keep playing well in the seniors because they know if they slip up there is going to be somebody else to take their place.
"I suppose when you are in the VFL, you just have to try and keep yourself up every week, keep yourself motivated and know that things can change pretty quickly up at the top. You've got to always keep your name up there.''
David Johnson also grasped his opportunity with both hands last Friday night, shutting down key Bulldogs playmaker Jason Akermanis after Matthew Scarlett was a late withdrawal with the flu.
"Just to be a part of the team at the moment is sensational,'' Byrnes said. "The communication out on the ground is great and everyone is playing for each other.''

"This is the best side that I've played in, no doubt about it, but as we keep saying, things can change quickly so we are not getting ahead of ourselves.''
The selection table will again provide coach Mark Thompson with some headaches this week, with Varcoe, Nathan Ablett and ruckman Steven King particularly good in the VFL last week.