why byrnes?? oh dear..

• Thread starter Thread starter kinggaz29

I have been to the few VFL games and Shannon Byrnes gets the ball but he kicks it straight to the opposition!
Or he kicks a behind. This was obviously going to be a contentious inclusion. I've watched him in the VFL and he is a ball magnet - let's just hope that he steps up tonight because he has talent. He's not a kid any more (23, I think) and this will be a genuine test of his ability to match the level achieved by the rest of the team this year. Good luck Byrnesie!

My guess is that Byrnes is in the team because Prismall is injured

They must be of the opinion that Varcoe needs to do more and one way to enforce that is make sure that no one in our team gets a free ride, so he can play in the VFL till his workrate increases.

Wouldn't surprise to see Prismall in next week if Varcoe doesn't get renstated.

I'm not the hugest fan of Byrnes but if his one role is to apply forward pressure I'm hoping he can at least hold up his end.

It's when the bloke gets possesion of the ball that the problems begin.

Basically the last roll of the dice for shannon in the hoops really. I hope that is enough of an insentive for him to think clearly and dispose of the football to the teams advantage.

Don't worry fellow cat fans. Bomber is just freshening up Varcoe for a few weeks before he is bought back in rejuvenated from the break. After all, this is Varcoe's first season playing senoir football and he sure doesn't have the body able to handle the riggers of a full season.. Brynes will be back in the magoos soon enough.

I think this has captured the real point for Byrnes inclusion. His inclusion has some realistic concerns right through most posts, but I must admit young Trav needs a run/rest in the magoos to freshen up and find the spark that's been dropping off slightly.

I'll be curious to see how he goes with the big boys, I don't think he's up to it TBH. BOG in the magoos is one thing, stepping up to play senior is another. It's more than possible Bomber is testing the field to see where Byrnes is really at and whether we need to look at his position with the club for next year. Of all the times, you would probably say this is the right time to do this.

Trav will be back, I'm sure of that, and it will be in a week or 2. Even Bomber would admit that he would have been hesitating on dropping Trav back, but considering it's his first year.. it was more likely than not to happen. Let's say you can't see The General being dropped any time soon because his form has been sensational and he actually seems to be going against the trend of first year performers and has been lifting. Young Joel would be the exception here.

If shannon deserves a go after a few good weeks, then timmy callan deserves a game after 12 months of solid football :rolleyes:

I'm not the hugest fan of Byrnes but if his one role is to apply forward pressure I'm hoping he can at least hold up his end.

It's when the bloke gets possesion of the ball that the problems begin.

Basically the last roll of the dice for shannon in the hoops really. I hope that is enough of an insentive for him to think clearly and dispose of the football to the teams advantage.

We'd all hope - his kicking does let him down and this will be his last chance for sure. I would really like to see him do well - again would emphasise our depth. He is faster than Tim Callan and he won't get a game while Bomber is still there anyway.

If shannon deserves a go after a few good weeks, then timmy callan deserves a game after 12 months of solid football :rolleyes:
Well yeah that is quite true.
I think most of us agree that trav needed a spell just a query on his replacement...
Should we have gone
a) NAblett
B)Gardiner
c)Keep trav in
D)play djerkurra
e)neither play with 21 men!!!

I think most of us agree that trav needed a spell just a query on his replacement...
Should we have gone
a) NAblett
B)Gardiner
c)Keep trav in
D)play djerkurra
B) CHARLIE??? Spare us! If you think Shannon's kicking is wonky, you should have seen some of Charlie's shanks in front of goal in the VFL!

I think playing Byrnes is very dangerous. He turns the ball over too often. You can't afford to turn the ball over much against the doggies because they rebound so quickly and hurt you.

This includes kicking points. Missing easy shots against the dog's often turns into an 11 point turn around. Coast to Coast goals need to be avoided.

We won't see Byrnesy providing the forward pressure that Varcoe delivers. Sure, Byrnes will get a few more touches than Varcoe, but the Doggies will also get an extra 3-4 free possessions from brainless turn overs.

Please Byrnesy, prove me wrong, but I don't see why such risks need to be made.

Woeful decision. Absolutely woeful.

Proven to struggle at the highest level, doesn't hit targets and is basically not up to it.

Hunt and Byrnes in the same team is always a worry. One is worrying enough.

Haven't seen your posts for a while mate? At least some one is talking a bit of sense in this thread. I rate Hunt though and value him much more highly than Byrnes.

Should we have gone
a) NAblett
B)Gardiner
c)Keep trav in
D)play djerkurra

I like your thinking.;)

There are 2 issues being discussed here:

1. Varcoes ommision
2. Byrnes inclusion

I dont think any one is questioning the former, it is the latter that seems to be raising a few eyebrows.

I really hope he can string a solid 4 quarters together and dispense many a pie portion of the humble variety to his doubters.

Let's get behind the kid.
His overall game has been severely and unfairly criticized.
I'm actually in favour of the move.
A bit sad to see Varcoe go but think Byrnes deserves his chance...
Good luck to him...

No argument with the decision from me, Byrnes has been ripping it up in the reserves week in week out apparently while we've practically been playing one man short the past couple of weeks with Varcoe contributing virtually nothing.

Bit of a break won't do Travis any harm and hopefully he'll get back to the form of earlier in the year, in the meantime Byrnes can play a similar role and also win far more of the ball then Varcoe; also don't think his disposal is as bad as some here are suggesting.

this has actually pis sed me off bringing in byrnes for varcoe why change a winning team? he adds so much to our team little varks and byrnes adds nothing!! bad move real bad move!!

i hate the fact you stole my name mate but i couldnt agree with you more! when they were sowing the cats team and it said outs: varcoe i said to my old man "if theyve brought in byrnes they will lose" sure enough on the next page ins: byrnes i was not happy at all...

We lost finals cause blokes like byrnes, kingsley, Haynes, Gardiner and playfair etc were in our team, we have got rid if all that junk this year and r better off, no way should byrnes even be considered for finlas footy, his skills r awful and i mean if u go back to that Hawks games in tassie, his 2-3 easy misses and Kings dodgy handball to crawford cost us, if king, Byrnes come in i really am not that comfortable, i hope Thompson doesnt try and be to smart the next few weeks

We can't have byrnes playing
We can't play Blake, king and ottens cause Ottens is a ruckman only and is very avg inside 50 for mine, is a gun ruckman

we cant have tenace either cause his skills under pressure r pathetic

stick to what has worked bomber and dont try and be smart.

No argument with the decision from me, Byrnes has been ripping it up in the reserves week in week out apparently while we've practically been playing one man short the past couple of weeks with Varcoe contributing virtually nothing.

Bit of a break won't do Travis any harm and hopefully he'll get back to the form of earlier in the year, in the meantime Byrnes can play a similar role and also win far more of the ball then Varcoe; also don't think his disposal is as bad as some here are suggesting.

exactly right. Travis will be back, he is a terrific player.

What worries me, after abit more thought about it, is that Bomber will stick with Stokesy in that (permanent) forward pressurer role, and leave Byrnes to do his handywork further up the ground (which has pretty much been Stokesy's role for the past few weeks now, and hence would be a step backwards for mine..)

Would pretty much render all this Byrnes/Varcoe comparison to be irrelevant..

What worries me, after abit more thought about it, is that Bomber will stick with Stokesy in that (permanent) forward pressurer role, and leave Byrnes to do his handywork further up the ground (which has pretty much been Stokesy's role for the past few weeks now, and hence would be a step backwards for mine..)

Me too.

Shannon Byrnes has racked up nearly 100 possies in the last 3 weeks in the vfl and varcoe has got about 20. Yes he has been great this season with his tackilng, forward pressure and 1 or 2 goals a game, but it is time for a rest. You cant keep your spot with 4 possies in a game even if u lay 500 tackles. He will benifit from the vfl, hopefully get alot more of the footy and get back in the side in a few weeks.

Byrnesy deserves his spot, so lets get behind him hey?:thumbsu:

I don't mind the inclusion for giving Varcoe a rest before the final 6-8 week campaign and exchanging pace for pace against the Bulldogs.

I don't mind the inclusion for giving Varcoe a rest before the final 6-8 week campaign

I don't think many mind giving Travis a rest either, the issue (other than that of the replacement in Byrnes) is the timing of his demotion. If there was one week to not drop Varcoe, this was probably it.

That is exactly what will frustrate me tonight.

Watch the Doggies:
a) mop up any crap delivery into the 50 from Byrnes
b) and then run the ball out of the 50 because Byrnes isn't even there to tackle them.

I'm in favour of this change. I actually (and I'll get heckled for this) would rather have seen Charlie Gardiner come in, though. I think our current hand-pass to running receiver style would really suit him, as it removes the need for him to make a decision about who to kick to. Think about it! Surely we can admit that he's pretty good at getting into space on the lead, just that he runs into trouble after that.

Charlie ack! I just fell over laughing..or was I mimicking his ability at falling over when the ball is within five metres? Sorry crosby couldn't resist! You know Charlie is always going to be 'the fall guy' LOL.

regards,

REB

Charlie ack! I just fell over laughing..or was I mimicking his ability at falling over when the ball is within five metres? Sorry crosby couldn't resist! You know Charlie is always going to be 'the fall guy' LOL.

regards,

REB
I like him. I say give him one final chance, given this will be most likely his final year of AFL football. If he shows something, give him one year.