Why do we follow................??

General Lee

Rookie
Sep 23, 2004
Lads and ladies, I don't know how old most of you are but we have been crap for the best part of 25 years, however, I'm 27, and I wouldn't/couldn't follow anyone else. I don't understand these people that follow 2 clubs. I started following them in 84, i was 7, my best mates old man was a member so I went to the footy with him.......my question is why do you follow them and so damn passionatly???

1979, first team I ever played for, under 7s Caloundra Panthers, had Tigers guernsey, and back then, the Tigers were a very respectable team. So from a young age the colours stuck! Plus my old man went for Carton, so it was a bonus to ******** him off by following Richmond. Until 1982, that is.

when i was little my brother and i barracked for the kangas, his best friend talked him into switching to richmond, and i followed suit (i would have been about 6 or so i reckon) it just made sense to me, as i loved the colours and the mascott so much more, alas, the roos have won two flags since then and we have been the most disapointing team in the comp, but there is just something about richmond that i love, i wouldnt change it. still remember sitting in the stands for k.b.'s last game, richmond was in my blood after that. i moved to queensland at 13 (1987) and the coverage of the footy was so bad up there i pretty much forgot footy all together, which i look back now as a bit of a mercy, i got back into it in 95 when we made the finals and then more into it at the end of 97, and have seen every game i could (which is mostly on the tv sadly) since then. there you go - the saga of the Darth Tiger.

started following them since 82 when i was 7 and my parents moved down to Melbourne from Sydney, Dad being a Richmond supporter took me to see Richmond play Carlton at the G first game of 83 and we got thumped but I have been one-eyed ever since.

unfortunately we have been $hithouse ever since too, I used to think I was a bad luck omen LOL

but I would never follow anyone else.

The very first photo ever taken of me was three days after my birth, and I was wearing nothing but Yellow & Black mittens and booties, and was holding a 1969 premiership flag in my hand. So in the end, no choice really thanks to my old man, but will never ever change, just love them too much. Cannot wait for the next 5 years.

My Dad was a Carlton supporter but, like most Carlton supporters in my opinion, not a very passionate one. So I sort of supported Carlton at a very young age. :eek:

When I was in Grade 1, my best mate was the son of the mayor of Richmond. I went to his house one day after school and met his whole family. When they asked me who I barracked for their jaws dropped and they duly told me the error of my ways. Their passion for the Tiges was overwhelming, yellow and black was injected into my veins that day and its been in there ever since.

There is a nic on this forum that sums it up perfectly .....

"ITS IN THE BLOOD"

I feel sorry for anyone that dosen`t barrack for Richmond

I genuinely cannot remember the exact moment i was indoctrinated but i was in primary school in Vermont in the early 70`s and pretty much everyone went for Richmond back then , or you lost your baby teeth sooner than expected

I don`t care what anyone says ........ there is no bigger high in footy , than when the tigers are conjuring a stirring victory in front of 60,000 at he "G" , in full voice ..... cannot be beaten .

No one has the passion or the voice that the tiger army has when in full flight and that is where the secret lies , after a generation of misery .... it is still there

IDGAF, you've got it spot on, and so has everyone else, cheers for the replies, I can't wait for the season to start again, I'm the same every year. Everyone should get on and read these, its stirring.

ive gone for them all my life. my dad is a richmond member and i go to the games with him and uncles n cousins etc most weeks. i love the club and wouldnt have it any other way

Me and my brother were told from an early age that we could either barrack for Richmond or go and live somewhere else. Strangely, the older I got, I realised my Dad wasn't actually that passionate a supporter. But my Nan (who had lived in Richmond as a girl and been to every game at Punt Rd) was as passionate about the Tigers when she died aged 72, as she was when she used to go as a girl. I can't imagine supporting any other club, it wouldn't feel the same. At 28, I haven't seen much Tiger success, but I still love them to death. So I can only imagine how much pleasure a successful Tigers era will give me. :)

That's cool that a lot of you are parts of consecutive generations of Richmond supporters, it really adds to the history and culture of the club, I reckon.
At least one of my kids (6 yrs) follows the Tigers. Maybe I can begin my own "dynasty" of Richmond supporters!

when i was 9, I turned on the tv and I saw Richmond leading against Carlton just before half time :D. I thought I would start to barrack for them because of the colours, the emblem and they were leading in the 1982 grand final :D. Ever since that half time break, we were the worst performed team in the league for the next 22 years lol.

Have a vague memory of a camping trip up on the Murray back in the early 70's. A moonless night with millions of stars, when all of a sudden a meteor ripped the sky with a humungous bright yellow streak which made an arc across the black sky. I think it was my calling ;)

Living in Sydney, I never really followed a team as a young kid - i loved watching the games and followed in a very losse sense the Swans I guess - but after seeing the Tigers play in 95 (on TV) and the atomosphere that was at the grounds I had to switch - so I guess I am comparatively a bandwagoner, I haven't had 22 yrs of suffering but the last 10 have been pretty poor too !!

See if you can figure this one out, I was born in Sydney in 79 and then lived in England when I was 5, when we came back to Australia we moved to Melbourne in 84-5.
I don't know what year, would have been a couple of years later but all I remember is being down on the Mornington peninsula and saw a news report on the footy with the ladder and the Tigers were actually not far out of the 8 for a change, so I decided to start following them. I've usually been someone who always supported the underdog, but with a family that wasn't footy crazy I didn't know about the dynasty that had been going on around when I was born.
Talk about a glutton for punishment, but I can honestly say I'm not a bandwagoner.

Why do we follow................??