Why does everyone pay out on Johnson?

He came fourth in our leading disposals with 440 last yr while regularly shutting down opposition opponents.. He an awesome 06 winning the Jack Dyer medal and i think is definately in our best 22 in the midfield..

Also Hughes will be a good player.. reminds me of an Ashley Hansen more of a lead up the ground type just needs to start kicking a few more goals n he'll be good

People delisted at end of 08: Collins, Hyde, White and either Moore, JON, Casserly

He came fourth in our leading disposals with 440 last yr while regularly shutting down opposition opponents.. He an awesome 06 winning the Jack Dyer medal and i think is definately in our best 22 in the midfield..

Also Hughes will be a good player.. reminds me of an Ashley Hansen more of a lead up the ground type just needs to start kicking a few more goals n he'll be good

People delisted at end of 08: Collins, Hyde, White and either Moore, JON, Casserly

How many of those actually hit a target is the big question?.

More than what some on here seem to acknowledge or more to the point choose to ignore to strengthen their point of getting rid of him as capt.

now let me see if I can sum this up...

he's slow :thumbsd:
a woeful kick...clangers galore :thumbsd:
says nothing off the field :thumbsd:
totally uninspiring on field :thumbsd:
we have a tagger as our captain :thumbsd:

Is that enough reasons for you???

send him back to Adelaide :thumbsu:

Too often he doesn't lead by example when he has the ball in his hands. Alot of the time he wants to give it off because he would rather not set up something himself. He'll look for the 2m handball to one of the 20 year olds. Probably 1/4 of the time he will do a skill error and turn it over. Other times he'll have the ball and there will be no one to give the 2m handball so he'll hold onto the ball and wait and will end up handballing to someone under pressure and there will be a turnover, but he had heaps of time to kick it long. He has a lack of footy brain and lack of skill. He has no strengths in his game, he'll never do something to lift the team to great heights. All he can do is tag a player, but many players can do that. He can talk to the players and fire them up, but so can alot of players. He can get 20 cheap possessions, but so can most players. He is a waste of a spot in our team. He is so predictable when he has the ball that the opposition just stick to their man and watch him turn it over by hand or foot. A player can take him on an open area and know they'll win by wrong footing him. He's not up to afl standard. He's done several things over the last 3 years that make me shake my head in disbelief :cool:

WOW that's what I call a sledge. There was sheer anger in that :thumbsu:

But he's the best trainer at the club :rolleyes:

From now on I want Polo as #1 tagger and Jacko as #2 tagger. Drop Johnson to Coburg where he can be valuable to the kids :cool:

But he works so hard :rolleyes:
But he works so hard when he hasn't got the ball :rolleyes:
He's so experienced :rolleyes:
He's tasted the ultimate success :rolleyes:
He's got a hard body :rolleyes:

I better stop now, this is making me feel ill.

I don't think he would get a game at many other clubs...He is a flaming dud.

he's slow :thumbsd:
a woeful kick...clangers galore :thumbsd:
says nothing off the field :thumbsd:
totally uninspiring on field :thumbsd:
we have a tagger as our captain :thumbsd:

Is that enough reasons for you???

Example #1

Example #2

But he works so hard :rolleyes:
But he works so hard when he hasn't got the ball :rolleyes:
He's so experienced :rolleyes:
He's tasted the ultimate success :rolleyes:
He's got a hard body :rolleyes:

I better stop now, this is making me feel ill.

I don't think he would get a game at many other clubs...He is a flaming dud.
he will have expiriance as a benchwormer at the end of this year
and has a hard body haha when does he use it:o

maybe sugar is past his prime:o...but it's the job of the younger brigade to make his role in the team obsolete before we show him the door. You can hardly drop a bloke who is ranked 4th in disposals, despite all the clangers etc

I know what the likes of Terry Tan and madtugger are going to say in response to that so don't bother guys, Johnson is still in the best 22 whether you admit it or not, let's hope the likes of Tambling, Jackson, Polo, Lids, Edwards, Cotchin etc step up and reduce the role that Johnson needs to play. Because at the moment he is still a prime mover in our side which shows we are a long way off yet.

From now on I want Polo as #1 tagger and Jacko as #2 tagger. Drop Johnson to Coburg where he can be valuable to the kids :cool:

I agree, I think Johnson will be a better player if he can just go out there and play footy and lead the way for the youngsters instead of having to tag the best player from the opposition.

I think Terry had no choice to make him a tagger because we haven't had anyone else.

Just think how difficult it would be if you had to lead a team of teenagers every week but also have the job of stopping the best opposition player, pretty tough is you ask me.

it could be worse .. imagine if we had lance whitnall as our captain .. YUCK .. he is a filthbag

I agree, I think Johnson will be a better player if he can just go out there and play footy and lead the way for the youngsters instead of having to tag the best player from the opposition.

I think Terry had no choice to make him a tagger because we haven't had anyone else.

Just think how difficult it would be if you had to lead a team of teenagers every week but also have the job of stopping the best opposition player, pretty tough is you ask me.
Agree. Johnson was only ever the 3rd/4th best midfielder in a very good Crows side and he was very good in that role. When he came to us we expected/needed #1 or #2 and were somewhat disappointed. He has been given tasks that would have tested the very best (carrying our inferior midfield). Once we began to put some quality into the midfield he was able to go into the tagging role to cover important deficiencies there. Now that Jackson is showing good potential as a tagger, it might/should free Johnson up to go back to doing what he does best - 3rd/4th midfielder. Don't forget also, that he has been playing on with significant injuries for a large part of the last 2 seasons (broken bone in a foot was one if I remember correctly).

He might not be the most dynamic or media savvy/up-front captain but for our young list he is a leader that is best suited. He has premiership experience, he is team oriented, he has a good work ethic (on and off field), he has good personal presentation/values, he is well-liked and respected by all in the club, and lastly, as luck would have it, he is a genuine 'Richmond person' - he has supported the Tige's since he was a kid and spoke with genuine excitement about the pride of being able to play out his career with us. Probably the only person at the club that would have been as suitable when Johnson was chosen was Bowden, a person very similar in almost every way. For our very young and impressionable list, Richo carries too many scars from the past, Browny is too much of a social scene personality, and no-one else is remotely near suitable. We have a number of potential candidates among our kids and that is a fantastic statement about the current leadership they are being exposed to and the quality of person that we are drafting, and the more time they spend under the safe guidance and leadership of Johnson, Bowden, and the latter day Richo, then all the better for their long term development.

Sure, a Voss or a Buckley might be a much better choice but we (and most other clubs) don't have one of those on the list, and IMHO we are getting good value and service from the captain we have.

He is an ok tagger and definitely not our worst player, but there is 10 players that I think would motivate us and just generally be better as captain.

OK, can you name them for us? I'll start with some names I mentioned in my post that I don't believe are suitable:

Bowden - same as Johnson, why change?
Richo - still carries the scars from past years. Has improved heaps (maturity, on-field attitude) in past couple of years but still a risk. Not worth it with only a season or 2 left.
Brown - very much a 'me' type player/personality. Extroverted, likes the party/social/public scene. Not suited to our list of young kids.

I'll add some names that I didn't mention that I also believe aren't suitable:

Newman - very much like Johnson without the age and premiership experience. Doesn't have an on-field presence any more noticable or influential than Johnson.
Polak - too risky. Too young, still trying to shake the ghosts of yesterday.
Foley - too inexperienced. Was a rookie 2 years ago and needs a couple of years more, minimum, to concentrate on learning his craft.
Coughlan - too risky. Showed qualities prior to injuries but hasn't near enough experience yet to say for sure. Needs to ovecome injuries first.
Pettifer - too flaky. Has too much of Richo's temperament - on-field displays of emotion are not suited to a captain.
Simmonds - too patchy. Needs to concentrate too much on keeping his own game at the required level.
Tivendale - see Newman with less on-field accountability.
Tuck - too introverted. Has the wrong personality traits for a captain, too much his own man, especially on-field.
McMahon - first year at the club. Not suitable by a long way.
Hyde - not good enough.
Deledio - way too young yet.
Tambling - see Deledio.
Thursfield - see Deledio.
Jackson - see Deledio.
King - see Deledio.
Pattison. - see Deledio.
Polo - see Deledio.
Raines - see Deledio.

Does this cover your 10 or are there some other options that I have missed?

johnson is rubbish but we have no one better

bowden or richo should have been captain after campbell but they both have their flaws and are selfish in some aspects, johnno was the safest bet at the time for a young group

he is very one paced so you cant stick him on a flank like a crawford etc so he can only be played in the midfield where he is past it imo

Nathan Brown would be the ideal captain. He's our best player and Brown and Richo are the only 2 players capable of inspiring the rest of the team on the field.

Johnson has been an okay captain. He seems to have the respect of the players and coaches and gives his all for the club. He deserves our support until one of the youngsters can take over...

he's slow :thumbsd: (had the lowest amount of touches against when playing on judd at his peak 2 seasons ago so he probably isnt too slow)
a woeful kick...clangers galore :thumbsd: (incorrect)
says nothing off the field :thumbsd: (so ?)
totally uninspiring on field :thumbsd: (incorrect)
we have a tagger as our captain :thumbsd: (we have a man who selflessly gives up his normal 30 touch game and does the team thing and players a thankless role as a tagger good on him)

Is that enough reasons for you??? (no)

(no)

Hes in our best side to start the year no doubt but it could get embarrasing if his form doesnt pick up and he gets dropped.
Not a fan of captains who cant get a game like van den burg.

Perhaps so much is expected of him because he has been the only on baller with with a respectable record in our midfield until recently.

His career so far has the most of our list covered by a long way.
Had no trouble getting a game at Adelaide in a better midfield than ours.
Yes his recent form is bad but injuries have played a part.

I hope he brings some good form this year so the younger guys have to force their way in.

The fact is he shouldnt have been given the captaincy in the first place.

hes sh.it,

anyone who goes to games live would see his indecision kills our continuity. A classic johnson play: takes the mark, goes back on his mark, lokks for short options sideways first, they ae on but decides to then look further up the ground, sees nothing as any leads have now been cut off, then looks back to the short sideways option which is now closed, gets the whistle to play on and then proceeds to either give a handball to a team mate that is red hot and not moving or gets caught pinged holding the ball. Hopeless, does this a fair bit too...

OK, can you name them for us? I'll start with some names I mentioned in my post that I don't believe are suitable:

Bowden - same as Johnson, why change?
Richo - still carries the scars from past years. Has improved heaps (maturity, on-field attitude) in past couple of years but still a risk. Not worth it with only a season or 2 left.
Brown - very much a 'me' type player/personality. Extroverted, likes the party/social/public scene. Not suited to our list of young kids.

I'll add some names that I didn't mention that I also believe aren't suitable:

Newman - very much like Johnson without the age and premiership experience. Doesn't have an on-field presence any more noticable or influential than Johnson.
Polak - too risky. Too young, still trying to shake the ghosts of yesterday.
Foley - too inexperienced. Was a rookie 2 years ago and needs a couple of years more, minimum, to concentrate on learning his craft.
Coughlan - too risky. Showed qualities prior to injuries but hasn't near enough experience yet to say for sure. Needs to ovecome injuries first.
Pettifer - too flaky. Has too much of Richo's temperament - on-field displays of emotion are not suited to a captain.
Simmonds - too patchy. Needs to concentrate too much on keeping his own game at the required level.
Tivendale - see Newman with less on-field accountability.
Tuck - too introverted. Has the wrong personality traits for a captain, too much his own man, especially on-field.
McMahon - first year at the club. Not suitable by a long way.
Hyde - not good enough.
Deledio - way too young yet.
Tambling - see Deledio.
Thursfield - see Deledio.
Jackson - see Deledio.
King - see Deledio.
Pattison. - see Deledio.
Polo - see Deledio.
Raines - see Deledio.

Does this cover your 10 or are there some other options that I have missed?
r u serious newman would be a great leader puts his body on the line everyweek and he can kick straight unlike johnson
if brown was a me type player why would he come back from a badly broken leg??