Why is our sub-board so empty?

MajakHarpeWright

Suspended
If you look at some other team boards, there is a real sense of camaraderie amongst the posters and this is reflected in active and interesting sub-boards. We have the most populous team board on bigfooty but Lidge's Lounge is practically empty.

Why is this? And would you like to see our sub board become more popular, a place for fellow North supporters to regularly chat amongst themselves? I certainly would. Over to you.

Not enough posters comment regularly enough on threads to keep them on here. There are many threads to be found via the search function but only the ones you see have been posted on enough to remain visible.

It's the old story.........the sub board is reliant on people participating to make it "more popular". Many of us do frequent it. Many don't. That's the problem.

Use it or lose it.

There's at least 2 ripper threads in the Lounge. If someone doesn't like pets or music fair enough. Start a stamp collector thread or something.

As a frequenter of Lidge's Lounge, I have wondered the same thing, I think it would be great for more participation and comeraderie in the Lounge. I do understand the loss of threads from the page due to inactivity (can the time be extended or is it a set thing?).

I very rarely check in on other team boards, but get the feeling that our main board has a greater feeling of comeraderie (most of the time) than others and threads like Basia on the main board add to that feeling.

Maybe a "search and bump" session would get things moving.;)

If you look at some other team boards, there is a real sense of camaraderie amongst the posters and this is reflected in active and interesting sub-boards. We have the most populous team board on bigfooty but Lidge's Lounge is practically empty.

Why is this? And would you like to see our sub board become more popular, a place for fellow North supporters to regularly chat amongst themselves? I certainly would. Over to you.

In the last 7 days - old threads bumped, new ones started, existing ones posted in. But not by the OP :(

Back to you.

Would there be enough chat on this board to be able to justify a "Random Chat Thread" where you can just post whatever you want? See the eagles board, the essendon board.

Worth a try I reckon.

A question for the MODS though....

Why is is that threads that have been posted in as recently as 8/3/12 (covers thread) are dropped off the list of threads in the Lidges Lounge sub forum where as the Player Watch sub forum has threads in the list with last posts as old as 4/8/11 ?????

must be a setting that allows the thread to stay longer.

It doesn't help that thread's are only shown for the last week when I hit the Lidge's Lounge button thing.

Dunno if you can change that setting or not.

I shall investigate Groggy. It's ridiculous that it's only a week. I'll see what I can do in the next few days.

If you go down to the display options at the bottom of the page in Lidge's Lounge there is a little section called "Display options". There is a drop down box titled 'from the' and the current default option is "last week", if you drop that box down you get options to show threads from certain time peroids eg month, two months, year etc, with the bottom being beginning. If you select beginning, you can see every thread since the beginning of the lounge.

It's a tad annoying, are you able to change the default options T' Toes?

Brilliant, thanks Chron. I can certainly see every thread ever posted here now. Can everyone else?

(EDIT: But I can't lock it in as a default setting........yet. It's THAT which I shall investigate. In the meantime, feel free to bump more of the 33 pages of threads. There are some classics!)

Okay, I'm willing to commit to keeping the dream alive. :) I like to chat about random subject matter, and I've also often wondered why there aren't more posters in 'Lidge's Lounge'?

So I'll be bumping and posting in a few threads. :)

Okay, I'm willing to commit to keeping the dream alive. :) I like to chat about random subject matter, and I've also often wondered why there aren't more posters in 'Lidge's Lounge'?

So I'll be bumping and posting in a few threads. :)

It's a bit of a vicious cycle I reckon RoOGrrrl because it's quiet in the lounge, people don't tend to post in here and that, in turn, keeps it quiet. There are a few threads started on the main board that probably should be in the lounge, but posters probably think they won'r be seen unless they are there.

Good to see you've committed to the cause though, it really should be a great place to hang out, we've got a great gang of posters and it's good to chat about non footy stuff and have a bit of light hearted fun.

It's a bit of a vicious cycle I reckon RoOGrrrl because it's quiet in the lounge, people don't tend to post in here and that, in turn, keeps it quiet. There are a few threads started on the main board that probably should be in the lounge, but posters probably think they won'r be seen unless they are there.

Good to see you've committed to the cause though, it really should be a great place to hang out, we've got a great gang of posters and it's good to chat about non footy stuff and have a bit of light hearted fun.

If you like ''magic'', you might like this, Baz.

https://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=i5gK2MxGR0M

I agree.

I love my footy as much as the next person on here, and I always read the football-related posts, but as a female who has never played the game I don't actually feel qualified to comment much.

Season 2013 is done and done and while we await 2014 with anticipation, I reckon let's turn it up in The Lounge. :)

I might even get excited and start my very first thread. :)

Criss Angel is an absolute freakshow.

Thanks for putting that one up MR.:thumbsu:

Grogg and ShinbonerBaz, I assume it's all done with special effects. If that's the case, then the entire crowd had to be in on it. It's very well done. I especially like the part where the woman's torso tries to ''escape'' and he says ''come back here!'' My wife reckons the woman on the man's body exclaims at the end "I've got a penis!'' but I can't hear it.

Have you seen Dynamo? Putting people's mobiles in bottles, forcing coins through glasstop tables in cafes. Great fun!

I love magic - illusions, card tricks, everything. It's great to be fooled.

Bloody hell, we might have set a record for activity in the lounge tonight!! I'm sure Lidge would approve. :thumbsu: