why it was a GOOD win

:thumbsu: Coz we didnt really play that unreal...apart from clear winners in Richo and simmo most other contests were breakeven.at best with a a decent spell dring the middle parts of the match where we were smashed out of the centre

The win came from a couple of fellas that really lifted when we needed them to..pettifer and Lids come to mind.

This is the kinda grinding effort that good sides play at every other week...and the sorta game we needed against the Hawks. A good side always finds a way....i really hope this young group is taking alot out of this last month of footy in what it takes to be winners...I think they are, the depth of talent has grown enormously when you consider the 2 last fellas to complete the line up in Howat and whitey are contributing the way they are.

This side needs some fine tuning and some cosmetic surgery in defence and Midfield and we can be a contender pretty quickly..go tiges

It was a good win because of the style we deployed to win it. No flooding, no tempo, no basketball crap, just plain run and gun shoot out. Finally we are good enough to win that way against at least 3 sides! What I really enjoyed was how, even when they got within a few points each time, we always had their measure. How dfferent that was to past years when the boot was on the other foot.

the part i liked best was when we had it won, we chipped it around for the last 5 minutes just to give sheeds a taste of the 'basketball crap' we know he loves so much :D

why it was a good win? well lets just say that from about the 5 mintue mark, the result was never in doubt. Dont know about how others felt, but blind freddy could see we were classes above them.
The real pleasing thing is that it was again the case last week.
Been a long time since i have felt like that, watching the tiges.
To put it in perspesctive, watching the bummers and the baggers was like watching the tiges under Spud. Triers going nowhere. ;)

Darth_Tiger said:
the part i liked best was when we had it won, we chipped it around for the last 5 minutes just to give sheeds a taste of the 'basketball crap' we know he loves so much :D

Oh yeah, that was good, almost like Wallace was taking the mickey, I've never laughed so hard at a footy game!:thumbsu:

You guys ...particularily you Bojangles .... are deluding yourselves .

Richo won the game off his own boot ... simple . Grinding effort my @rse . We were comprehensively stitched up in many areas and we only won because of one blokes performance . The best game i reckon i have ever seen him play . But you know what ? Fletcher plays and we would almost certainly have lost .

Hardly the balanced "team" performance we should be looking for at the minute .

Put your rose coloured glasses away and retrieve your heads from your rectums fellas ... the cracks are wide open and the best thing about that game was that they have not been wall-papered over .

Frawley would have been out there spruiking us up as contenders on the back of that game .... but not Terry ;) They will get the "good will" mileage out of the last month for sure and why not , but there is a tonne of work to be done guys .

The day we start winning games that actually are not dead rubbers and have some genuine importance about them is the day we can start blowing smoke up our own @rses

IDGAF said:

Richo won the game off his own boot ... simple . Grinding effort my @rse . We were comprehensively stitched up in many areas and we only won because of one blokes performance . The best game i reckon i have ever seen him play . But you know what ? Fletcher plays and we would almost certainly have lost .

dont buy that one ....otherwise I could go *** for tat on the fellas we had out and its a few bloody more than Fletcher to...and it is stretching it to suggest we were comrehensively beaten...by who?....as I said in the first line, couple of clear winners and rest broke even at best..

Bojangles17 said:
dont buy that one ....otherwise I could go *** for tat on the fellas we had out and its a few bloody more than Fletcher to...and it is stretching it to suggest we were comrehensively beaten...by who?....as I said in the first line, couple of clear winners and rest broke even at best..
*******ed in arguably the most important facet of the game which is the "clearences" ... we were .

it concerns me that that does not concern you

CoggaRules said:
why it was a good win? well lets just say that from about the 5 mintue mark, the result was never in doubt. Dont know about how others felt, but blind freddy could see we were classes above them.
The real pleasing thing is that it was again the case last week.
Been a long time since i have felt like that, watching the tiges.
To put it in perspesctive, watching the bummers and the baggers was like watching the tiges under Spud. Triers going nowhere. ;)
I'm not blind freddy and we beat the equal bottom team by 16 points. Without Richo we would have got flogged. Nowhere near classes above them. Good post by IDGAF, a realistic assessment.

IDGAF said:
*******ed in arguably the most important facet of the game which is the "clearences" ... we were .

it concerns me that that does not concern you

Ill agree we were beaten out of the guts but in other areas we did pretty well considering that our set up down back was the non preferrred option having JB anchored to FB...I think the point of my original point may have been lost somewhere....I thought I said we didnt play that unreal yet we won through the efforts of a couple of clear winners. There will often be days like this and finals teams always find a way to win...its the sort of effort we needed to produce in tassie when things didnt go our way instead of falling into a screaming heap

DyerBolical said:
I'm not blind freddy and we beat the equal bottom team by 16 points. Without Richo we would have got flogged. Nowhere near classes above them. Good post by IDGAF, a realistic assessment.

this is the kind of lame ass comment that can only be forthcoming from a inferiority riddled tigerhead. the problem for the bummers DyerBol, is that the "without Richo" part didnt eventuate at the selection table on Thursday night. maybe next time we could make it a handicap game just for you.
So you are saying the way we moved the ball into the FL, and setting up set shots, didnt look any different to the try hard, kick around corners stuff the bummers produced? You are being ridiculous man.
I would even suggest that our backline lairised, it was that easy and half their score came from "stupid" lazy mistakes that we made. ;)

CoggaRules said:
this is the kind of lame ass comment that can only be forthcoming from a inferiority riddled tigerhead. the problem for the bummers DyerBol, is that the "without Richo" part didnt eventuate at the selection table on Thursday night. maybe next time we could make it a handicap game just for you.
So you are saying the way we moved the ball into the FL, and setting up set shots, didnt look any different to the try hard, kick around corners stuff the bummers produced? You are being ridiculous man.
I would even suggest that our backline lairised, it was that easy and half their score came from "stupid" lazy mistakes that we made. ;)
how do rate the midfields performance then O` positive one ?;) .... one who believes that the only way is up ...... this week

IDGAF said:
how do rate the midfields performance then O` positive one ?;) .... one who believes that the only way is up ...... this week

the midfield was killed after the 1st quarter and druing the times when TW had the second division in the middle up against the Hirds of this world.
In the 1st quarter Polo had the ball on a string and was delivering laser beams into our FL. Game over, after that it was all about keeping the crowd interested for the sake of the "rivalry" facade, to keep the TV audience from becoming a non TV audience if you werent a tiger and to sell more beer and pies. ;)

IDGAF said:

You should know by now ID that all we need is Aker, and all will be taken care of.;)

Combine this with MT's gameplan's, and we'll be unstoppable. What are our odds for the flag next year?

Harvey Leadpipe said:
You should know by now ID that all we need is Aker, and all will be taken care of.;)

Combine this with MT's gameplan's, and we'll be unstoppable. What are our odds for the flag next year?

Seeing that AKer is going to be allowed to "choose" his preferred club, i would suggest the punters are backing the tiges off the map HL. ;)

Was it just me or was that the loudest "Yellow and Black" i have heard in a while???

It was by far the loudest i have heard at any of our wins this season :thumbsu:

CoggaRules said:

I agree with this. I didn't like it at all. Stupidly let them back in during the 2nd term.

CoggaRules said:
Seeing that AKer is going to be allowed to "choose" his preferred club, i would suggest the punters are backing the tiges off the map HL. ;)
I`ll have a pineapple on it :thumbsu:

Gaspar and Kellaway gone i think i know what our priorities will be during trade week ;)

You just give me the nod and the bets on knackers

Harvey Leadpipe said:

Einstien got it wrong

F..k E=MC2

There is your answer to lifes questions right there

IDGAF said:
I`ll have a pineapple on it :thumbsu:

Gaspar and Kellaway gone i think i know what our priorities will be during trade week ;)

You just give me the nod and the bets on knackers

so you really think that its AK and Gas huh? no way that a Roach & Rodan can be in that mix, no way known. ;)

IDGAF said:

Hardly the balanced "team" performance we should be looking for at the minute .

Put your rose coloured glasses away and retrieve your heads from your rectums fellas ... the cracks are wide open and the best thing about that game was that they have not been wall-papered over .

Frawley would have been out there spruiking us up as contenders on the back of that game .... but not Terry ;) They will get the "good will" mileage out of the last month for sure and why not , but there is a tonne of work to be done guys .

The day we start winning games that actually are not dead rubbers and have some genuine importance about them is the day we can start blowing smoke up our own @rses

Sorry IDGAF I have to disagree. It was a good win because in past years or even past months we simply would have lost it! We have won 3 times in a row when we have been expected to win and against opoosition that is capable of a few surprises. I half expected this to be another Hawthorn affair. As for Sheedy tanking, those tanking tactics, when they work, are what Sheeds get called a master coach for. If they stuff up everyone just glosses over em but when they work he is a legend. Make no mistake, the biggest danger to us losing on Sat night was our own ability to get over confident or just plain stuff up and there were still signs. What I am pleased about is we got through it.

CoggaRules said:
Richo kicked 59 points off his own boot, the experts agree it was one of the most dominant games by one player in recent memory. The Great CoggaRules declares this a fallacy, apologies Oh Great One, never again will I question your wisdom. BTW what suburb are you from? Smack must be dirt cheap wherever it is.

DyerBolical said:
Richo kicked 59 points off his own boot, the experts agree it was one of the most dominant games by one player in recent memory. The Great CoggaRules declares this a fallacy, apologies Oh Great One, never again will I question your wisdom. BTW what suburb are you from? Smack must be dirt cheap wherever it is.

smack? Yeah, i guess he did do all that didnt he Dyerbol. Funny how he can do that when he plays and cant when he doesnt, isnt it? I mean, please illumimate us on your "without Richo" line and what that is suppose to mean. From where i sat, i could see the big no 12 running around, did you?

Lets face it, if all the teams we got smashed by were "without" we would be top 4 wouldnt we? ;)