Will Fergus Watts come back and haunt us?

• Thread starter Thread starter thomo

macca23 said:
Nope, couldn't give a rat's arse really.

In years to come he'll be more remembered as the reason we have Douglas starring for us than anything else. :D

BOG for the Bays yesterday.:thumbsu: I might jump off the Hinge bandwagon as another has just pulled into town.

I just dont undestand why you'd go to a footy club where your dad is involved as a senior official. You'd be on a hiding to nothing-every time you got a game it'd only be because of your old man, every contract negotation is unnecessarily complicated and you dad is in your workplace EVERY DAY!

I think he has been very badly advised.

macca23 said:
Nope, couldn't give a rat's arse really.

In years to come he'll be more remembered as the reason we have Douglas starring for us than anything else. :D
Its Pfeiffer not Douglas that we got for Watts.

I really couldn't care less whats happening with Fergus. He is as good as dead for me.

localyokel said:
I just dont undestand why you'd go to a footy club where your dad is involved as a senior official. You'd be on a hiding to nothing-every time you got a game it'd only be because of your old man, every contract negotation is unnecessarily complicated and you dad is in your workplace EVERY DAY!

I think he has been very badly advised.
Mate of mine was a student at a school where his dad was the headmaster.
He did not like it.

Stiffy_18 said:
Its Pfeiffer not Douglas that we got for Watts.

I really couldn't care less whats happening with Fergus. He is as good as dead for me.

We got two picks in a row. This gave us the flexibility Stiffy to pick up two very different players if they were available.

We may not have gone with Douglas if we only had on pick at this time.

Stiffy the pressure continues to build.

As I said at the start of the year or even last year after he was selected, I am sure he will get some game time this year. We have a real gun player here. Hats off to our recruiting team.

We have still not seen the best of Fie Foe Pfeiffer either.

bigman said:
We got two picks in a row. This gave us the flexibility Stiffy to pick up two very different players if they were available.

That was exactly my point, bigman.

We would probably have stayed with the local lad if we hadn't had 2 picks in a row.

For me it's Dougie that we got for Fergie. :thumbsu:

macca23 said:
That was exactly my point, bigman.

We would probably have stayed with the local lad if we hadn't had 2 picks in a row.

For me it's Dougie that we got for Fergie. :thumbsu:

Like your style withe the dial Macca 23.

*PAF said:
He did play on an ex port listed player that was an in-betweeny size in the first quarter and got a few goals, then he played on an unfit Cole. In both cases he was too tall and with good delivery they had no chance.
Being too tall is an advantage he is not going to get at AFL level, plus his weaknesses will get found out.
I really think that his goalscoring feat in that particular game got overrated and said so at the time.

Yes i know, not sure who Cole is though, but people are making too much of him kicking 10 goals in a final. Before that the most he had kicked in a game was 3 maybe 4 i reckon, Watts is definately overrated.

I saw that game apart from the first quarter and he is not the first, nor will he be the last player, to get heaps of goals because of a mismatch or two at that level.
At AFL level or the SANFL level from years ago it is a different story.

He did play on an ex port listed player that was an in-betweeny size in the first quarter and got a few goals, then he played on an unfit Cole. In both cases he was too tall and with good delivery they had no chance.
Being too tall is an advantage he is not going to get at AFL level, plus his weaknesses will get found out.
I really think that his goalscoring feat in that particular game got overrated and said so at the time.

You lot were lucky he pulled one out of the bag at the right time.

EDIT: Got the NT boys mixed up as it was Roe not Cole who was the unfit player Watts played on.

Haha I was a bit confused when I saw my post as I did not remember posting that recently but then noticed it was from early last year.

I hope you aren't talking to me about being lucky as it was definitely unlucky for me that he pulled that out !

The irony of Watts & Pfeiffer delisted on the same day.

A no win/loss situation
The Saints delisted both Watts and Brooks on the same day. Both trades, both first rounders. :eek: