Will McManus retire?

Screw McManus retiring

He has been my favourite Dockers player since Day One plus, you look at the guy and he basically embodies the spirit of Freo

cook was ok tonight but parker and mcmanus who have been great servants looked slow and unable to handle the pressure they were put under.

I think Macca's good for one more year.

Parker though should retire- unless we want to keep him on the list in case of injuries- certainly not in best 22

Akumastarr said:
Screw McManus retiring

He has been my favourite Dockers player since Day One plus, you look at the guy and he basically embodies the spirit of Freo

I feel sorry for you, he should retire but it would be good for him to get to 200. Parker cost us alot tonight and he has been outstanding all year but he cant hold a leading forward.
Cook will not and should not retire he hits hard and does alot of stuff our young guys cant do at the moment.

I would have thought Shauny Mac would go around one more year. As for Parker I think he's still useful to the team just not on Hall or O'Loughlin. We really could have done with Grover tonight.

You feel sorry for me that McManus is my fav Dockers player? Why?

It's not like he's terrible, in fact, in the 06 season, he has been doing reasonably well all season, it's just the finals that he can't really handle.

I reckon he should continue playing throughout next season but when it comes to the finals if the Docks qualify, put him on the bench as a sub.

all three vets should play at least one more year to help solidify the team from the success this year! they all contributed heaps to the team and will for another year at least

Parker was just outplayed tonight, very honest player and Mecca had a bad night as others did against pretty good opposition

all 3 embody the spirit of the club

Cook, and Mcmanus are good depth players and Parker is still in our best 6 defenders. Maybe after next season.

early in the game did he do that SHOCKING OOB on the full? It was worse than the Western QBE Advert!!!

As for retirement, it will depend maybe on the rest of the list. Some people have to go to make room.

For mine it is a bad sign that they are still in best 22 - esp Macca. I'd have hoped that a young bloke would have demanded the spot from him, and forced his retirement decision. But facts are he deserves his spot in the team on form, so if he retires will be replaced by a lesser player who by rights should have played well and taken the spot already.

Akumastarr said:
he basically embodies the spirit of Freo
from an outsider's point of view, yeah that could be a bad thing...

he basically is just not up to scratch, and by saying he embodies the freo spirit is almost saying that freo are also-rans... in all honesty, when those players like mcmanus, and to a lesser extent parker and cooky move on - you will then have a new spirit at the club and hence a new culture

what im saying is, when those players move on you will usher in a new era at the club - one of success, and when this change occurs is up to them... i can guarantee when all the cobwebs and stigmas of the club's lack of success of previous years are swept away - you will truly be able to move forward as a club

think about it - as solid and sentimental those guys are to the club, once they are gone - your stars of tomorrow will be able to develop and shine - the sooner this happens the better

well done freo, you played a good game tonight, and it was great a season - congrats...

Funny how some freo fans were calling for Parker as AA, and now to retire. Who know's if its the same bunch, but still, ironic. As far as Parker, McManus and Cook go, there's not too many players worth replacing them with, regardless of our apparent depth. I wouldn't be too disappointed if they retired or went on, either way.

The matchups were wrong, and in hindsight it would have been better to go in with Grover instead of Webster, but it was difficult to know. Hard to criticise any individual player.

Will play on next year, as will Parker (even though he's 33). As will Cook.

The word 'dumbarse' immediately came out of my mouth when I heard that from Walls on TV. Clearly hasn't got a good understanding about the club.

docker_azza said:
Will play on next year, as will Parker (even though he's 33). As will Cook.

The word 'dumbarse' immediately came out of my mouth when I heard that from Walls on TV. Clearly hasn't got a good understanding about the club.

Maybe mate but the senior players over 27 should be leading the way in finals. Players like West and Johnson for the Bulldogs, Hall, O'Loughlin, Kirk, etc for Swans, Edwards, Goodwin, McLeod, etc for the Crows.

Parker and McManus really struggled in all 3 finals. Parker should probably go on imo but I think it is close to curtains for Macca unless he can accept being a depth player. We just need our more experienced midfielders to stand up and McManus struggled in the QF, SF and EF.

Would we not be better off developing a new midfielder that will be able to produce for us in finals in the future. We need more finds like Crowley. We have guns all over the park that will stand up in finals except in the midfield imo.

When the going gets really tough, we need players to win contested football which we still struggle at. I am not saying last night was Macca's fault but our most experienced midfielder should be leading the way. Next season, I want to find midfielders than can stand up in tough situations and develop them.

We have a really good nucleus of players who look like they will be good players in finals (Pavlich, Sandilands, Crowley, Johnson, Dodd, Hayden, Mundy, McPharlin, J Carr, Murphy, Farmer, Webster, etc) but only one of them is a true midfielder (J Carr). We need to increase that to 4-5.

You just have to look at how many finals hardened midfielders Sydney have.

All 3 will play on. At full strength they might struggle to get a game but deserve one more year. Parker was disappointing last night, we missed Scotty Thornton. McManus would prefer to be a fringe player than be told to retire.