Mr Ripper

Pink-cheeked and robust
Brisbane Lions
Fitzroy FC
Round 13: Essendon @ Colonial - Would be the upset of the decade.

Round 14: Port @ Subi - Unlikely..but stranger things have happened.

Round 15: Dogs @ Colonial - Nope.

Round 16: Carlton @ Optus - Only if the 'baggers don't front.

Round 17: Collingwood @ Subi - If the Maggies have an off-day a'la the Swans match...maybe.

Round 18: Hawthorn @ Colonial - Wouldn't think so.

Round 19: Weagles @ Subi - Chance for a nil-all draw!

Round 20: Lions @ Subi - Oh, please God, not this one!

Round 21: Melbourne @ Colonial - Only if they swap Sherrins for cream pies.

Round 22: Adelaide @ Subi - Rejoice Docker folk, here's the drought breaker!

Probably not.

I thought we would fluke one, but the further into the season we go the less likely it looks.

Oh well, bring on next year - a new coach, new CEO, no 1 & no 2 draft picks and Hopefully members getting a say. THe future looks a lot better than it does now.

If there is one team likely to put in an unexpected shocker every year, its the Doggies. They have right royally screwed my footy tipping for about 4 years straight and it woulds not surprise me one iota to see the Shiitfish roll the Dogs in Round 15.

Now that I've said it though, the Dogs will probably get up.

BTW, Sabre... I reckon you should have a read of the old "Wooden Spoon" thread...

Surely, they will get up for a win or two as the season goes on. It's not as if their form has been that bad. Another narrow loss tonight, for example was hardly the catalyst for pessimism about a win-less season.

I'd expect them to get up for a win somewhere down the line, but you never know.

Originally posted by BT
I reckon they'll beat West Coast.

The comforting thing is that even if they do (which they won't, but let's talk about the impossible for a sec here :p), they'll still be behind us on the ladder...

Besides, with the team coming back to its best 22 (Prior, Read, Sierakowski, Banfield notwithstanding), I suspect the world may get to hear the West Coast club song at least once more

(best case scenario says we can beat Freo, St Kilda, and maybe the Cats as well. Oh, and Collingwood obviously :cool: )

Originally posted by Mr Eagle

The comforting thing is that even if they do (which they won't, but let's talk about the impossible for a sec here :p), they'll still be behind us on the ladder...

Oh wont that be a great accomplishment :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Balip
Probably not.

I thought we would fluke one, but the further into the season we go the less likely it looks.

Oh well, bring on next year - a new coach, new CEO, no 1 & no 2 draft picks and Hopefully members getting a say. THe future looks a lot better than it does now.

lol.. dont you say that every year at freo??? :p :D :p

The key is that the Eagles must play to win three more matches only, making five and getting the extra draft pick. I we are stupid enough to beat the pies we may have to lose against Freo, otherwise I am hoping for three home wins including Freo.
The bonus of an extra draft pick is worth going for if finals footy is not a possibility. Blood your youngsters and give them experience and pick up two top recruits in the draft. Freo are a certainty for that bonus but Eagles and Saints have to decide whether winning six or seven is better than winning 5.

Mind you IMO teams should always play to win and not have an incentive to lose for draft picks. The whole draft situation Sucks.

Fremantle have a big chance of finish up with a big donut in the wins column.

The AFL put in the draft and salary cap in the hope it would stop teams from getting to far in front of the compeitition, and to stop sides from falling to far behind the competition.

In 2000-2001, we have had Essendon who are widely regarded as having the best team of all time.
And in 2001, we have Fremantle, who are looking like being the first team since 1964 to go through a season winless.

Isn't it funny how an orginazatioin will create a system to achieve a purpose. But invariably, in all systems, the end result can often be the exact oppositie of what the purpose can be.

The rookie system and Damien Peverill is another example of someone who has defeated the purpose of a system.

"The rookie system and Damien Peverill is another example of someone who has defeated the purpose of a system."
Why, what happened with Peverill?

As for Freo, well it would not surprise me if we finished the season on a duck.

In the words of a famous blues singer

"if it weren't for bad luck I wouldn't have any luck at all"
from Born under a bad sign. A song that will have my backing if we ever change our theme song
:D

I reckon they'll pull one out at some stage during the year. It will really **** the supporters of the other club whoever they may be. There's nothing worse than losing this sort of game.

Ask Geelong fans about losing to the Saints at the end of last year.

Originally posted by RacerX
"The rookie system and Damien Peverill is another example of someone who has defeated the purpose of a system."
Why, what happened with Peverill?

Peverill has had to go back to the rookie list, and won't be able to play for the rest of the season. And there is also a possiblity that he won't even be at Essendon next season.

The only reason I could see Freo not trying to win from here on in is for the priority picks (and the fact their friggin crap, heartless, cream puffs!):cool:

Then again if Freo finish wooden spooners for the next 5 seasons, they could potentially win the following 5 flags........Think of all the priority picks!!!!:eek:

(Not to worry Freo will trade most of them, where they will become superstars elsewhere!) :D

Originally posted by WCE2000

Peverill has had to go back to the rookie list, and won't be able to play for the rest of the season. And there is also a possiblity that he won't even be at Essendon next season.

WCE2000
Sorry, I still don't understand what you mean by peverill defeated the purpose of the rookie system.:confused:
The rookie system is there for the exact purpose that the Bombers used, someone to step in if someone got a long term injury.
Do you honestly believe that the Bombers aren't going to promote Peverill to the senior list next year after his outstanding perfomances so far, without the help of Misiti making him look good I might add.:rolleyes:

No, i fully expect them to do all they can to promote him next year, however they may be restricted by the salary cap.

He hasn't exactly defeated the purpose of the rookie system, but if the rookie system was never in place then Essendon would never have the problem they do at the moment with Peverill.