Will we play finals in 2010?

• Yes

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No

Votes: 0 0.0%

I'm obviously not the biggest Eagles fan but I must admit I gained so much respect for you bloks in the last month and a half of the year. I've gotta give credit where credit's due and you certainly deserve credit. As for the finals in 2010, I'll say yes, it certainly wouldn't surprise me.

i thought at the start of this season, if we won the round 1 game against brissy at the gabba then we'd make it.

im going to say the same for this season. if we win that first away game, im certain we can do it. footy is about momentum and if you get that launching pad, you can win 3-4 on the trot. then finals looks a real possibility.

im leaning towards yes, but im not 100% confident. we need a good run with injuries.

im a pessimest hence no
In no order:
cats, saints, bullies, pies, lions, crows, hawks....which leaves us to battle probably carlton depending on how they cope, essendon, port and possibly freo for 8th. Usually there is a bolter every year too which was crap the previous year.

im a pessimest hence no
In no order:
cats, saints, bullies, pies, lions, crows, hawks....which leaves us to battle probably carlton depending on how they cope, essendon, port and possibly freo for 8th. Usually there is a bolter every year too which was crap the previous year.

That would be us I guess

To get into the finals we'll need at least 3 players kicking 40+ goals for the season. We'll have that in 2010 with Kennedy and LeCras. The third will be McKinley. I'm anticipating that he'll rediscover his form from a couple season's back and have a cracking 2010. This combines well with our solid defence and growing capability in the middle of the ground to see us scrape into the 8. Yes for mine.

We will be a much better side, but still have a similar win/loss, with a better %.

I'm with SS Fury. 7 teams clearly better than us and we are fighting for 8th against some pretty stiff competition.

I think alot rides on of fixture. I've said before we will need 10 wins at Subi. That will be hard if we get some top 4's travelling here.

haha 88mph..yep, i'm betting we're the bolters, the wildcards,the smokies..
but forgot about the impact of fixtures...
and re:needing to kick x-amount of goals between kennedy,mckinley,lecras
arent we procuring a 'lightning fast accurate small forward' to paraphrase our illustrious coach?

re mckinley regaining form..wasnt his form good before kennedy arrived? then it didnt so much slump,he was having to share his lunchbox with another player? if so, how does he regain that? maybe he's been shown for what he's worth,better than Hansen,not as good as kennedy?

To get into the finals we'll need at least 3 players kicking 40+ goals for the season. We'll have that in 2010 with Kennedy and LeCras. The third will be McKinley. I'm anticipating that he'll rediscover his form from a couple season's back and have a cracking 2010. This combines well with our solid defence and growing capability in the middle of the ground to see us scrape into the 8. Yes for mine.

In the history of the club, we have never had three players kick more than 40 goals in the same season.

The closest we have come is two players in the same season:Sumich and Heady in 1991 and 1994. In 1990, Langdon kicked 39 goals and Suma kicked 90.

I don't think we NEED 3 players to kick 40+ goals to finish in the top half of the comp.

haha 88mph..yep, i'm betting we're the bolters, the wildcards,the smokies..
but forgot about the impact of fixtures...
and re:needing to kick x-amount of goals between kennedy,mckinley,lecras
arent we procuring a 'lightning fast accurate small forward' to paraphrase our illustrious coach?

re mckinley regaining form..wasnt his form good before kennedy arrived? then it didnt so much slump,he was having to share his lunchbox with another player? if so, how does he regain that? maybe he's been shown for what he's worth,better than Hansen,not as good as kennedy?

McKinley got his fair share of the lunchbox but self confidence and shooting accuracy was down in 2009. Some of those 27 behinds kicked could well have been goals. May have forced a different result in games vs freo and sydney earlier in the year and against the demons in melb.

I think we'll end up around 11-12 wins next season. Depending on our percentage will determine whether we'll make finals.

Should win bare minimum 8 of the 12 games at Subi and bag a couple of away wins.

Though I think it would be an incredible boost in our development, I don't think it will happen. We have to take as much advantage of Subi as possible to do it.

Gotta be wrong. Essendon and Carlton will both be going backwards for the year and no doubt both out of the out. Brisbane might even depending on how all their trades impact their team.

The changes made to our team at the end of last year seems to finally have paid off in the second half of last year... Cant wait for season to start...

At first I thought no way would Carlton and Essendon go backwards, but with the OUTS for both teams during trade week it wouldn't surprise me.

I reckon Essendon would need Williams to have a blinder to maintain their spot in the 8, but it might depend on whether Hurley moves forward. He certainly looks like a player.

Carlton will have a pretty amazing midfield but I guess it depends on how well they adapt to not having the bogan up forward. I personally think they'll do better without him but it might take half a season to get used to it.

I can't see us making the 8 but can't wait for round 1. If we have a good year injury wise and Kerr/Cox can stay in the side, however, we might just do it. I'd rather be pleasantly proven wrong though.

It does what it says on the tin.

I think we've got our shit together now. We're not a top 4 side by any stretch, but we've got enough of the pieces in place to at least be functional. Our history shows that we're able to go from being shit to losing in the first week of the finals quite quickly. A big part of that is our home ground advantage. Once we're up and running, we're good enough to beat the really shit sides at home, maybe cause a few upsets, and pinch a couple on the road. Hopefully that's enough to get us into the top half.

We still have three genuine top liners in Cox, Kerr and Glass. If we get full seasons out of them, we're a real chance. LeCras isn't far behind when rated against the league's other mid-sized forwards.

We have a crop of young blokes who will improve naturally. At least a few of them seem cherry-ripe to go from being 'promising kids' to week-in, week-out contributors. I'm talking about Hurn, Kennedy, Brown, Masten, Ebert, Mackenzie, McKinley, Selwood and Rosa. Maybe Houlihan and McGinnity if we're lucky. If guys like Naitanui, Swift and Shuey (and any new draftees) can exceed par, it will be a bonus.

I'd rather back the boys in and be wrong than talk them down and be wrong.
I AGREE with you on this one Gunner :eek: (Shocking)

I would throw Embleys name into the mix as well, cause when he's on fire he is our game breaker and has won games off his own boot in the past. I dont expect his out put to be as high as say 2006 but if he can continue on from late this year his form suggests he will be a handfull again.

I think we are just behind the top 4 or 5 side (Stkilda, Geelong, WB, Hawks) and are on Par or just under with Collingwood, Essendon, Carlton and Brisbane and with Carlton losing Fev that drops them at least 2 places from where they were this year.

it depends on how well they adapt to not having the bogan up forward. I personally think they'll do better without him but it might take half a season to get used to it.

doubt it that they will do better without him. they are coming on as a side and developing their young brigade well but they were a likely top 6 side for 2010 with fev on board, and we are mentioning them as possible sliders and bottom eight possibilities with him out of there

I think we will.
For me, there's a tier of teams at the top: Geelong, StK, WB, Hawthorn, Adelaide, Collingwood, Brisbane, with next tier teams like West Coast, Carlton and Essendon vying for 8th.
With Lloyd, Lovett and Lucas gone, I doubt Essendon will be as good as last year.
With Fevola and possibly Stevens gone, I doubt Carlton will be as good as last year.
Conversely, with Kerr and Cox back in, I don't see any reason why we won't be better than last year.

I voted yes because when we actually took the handbrake off and put some distance between the tanking allegations we finished the year off well.
Beating the W/Bulldogs away when they were fighting for a top 4 position
showed what we are capable of and also for Tom Swift to get 3 Brownlow votes in a game as a 1st yr player watch out for him when he turns it on.

No. 2011 I think you'll be capable of making the top 8. Home ground advantage though makes it a remote chance that the Eagles will be flying again next season.