Veteran 10k Posts
May 9, 2005
London, UK
Drummoyne Dirty Reds
It does what it says on the tin.

I think we've got our shit together now. We're not a top 4 side by any stretch, but we've got enough of the pieces in place to at least be functional. Our history shows that we're able to go from being shit to losing in the first week of the finals quite quickly. A big part of that is our home ground advantage. Once we're up and running, we're good enough to beat the really shit sides at home, maybe cause a few upsets, and pinch a couple on the road. Hopefully that's enough to get us into the top half.

We still have three genuine top liners in Cox, Kerr and Glass. If we get full seasons out of them, we're a real chance. LeCras isn't far behind when rated against the league's other mid-sized forwards.

We have a crop of young blokes who will improve naturally. At least a few of them seem cherry-ripe to go from being 'promising kids' to week-in, week-out contributors. I'm talking about Hurn, Kennedy, Brown, Masten, Ebert, Mackenzie, McKinley, Selwood and Rosa. Maybe Houlihan and McGinnity if we're lucky. If guys like Naitanui, Swift and Shuey (and any new draftees) can exceed par, it will be a bonus.

I'd rather back the boys in and be wrong than talk them down and be wrong.

I think we'll end up roughly we were this year, so reluctantly I come down in the no column. Our big leap forward will be in 2011 IMO, that's when the midfield will really hit its straps. Forward and back we're looking good, but that core group of young mids need another 22 games in them.

Love to be wrong though.

I wouldn't be surprised if we snuck into the 8. With guys like Hurn, Cox, Glass, Kerr and LeCras leading the way, we're a fair chance. I'm more hoping the improvement in our youngsters continues, i.e Swift, Kennedy, Masten, Mackenzie, Brown, Naita etc.

The future is certainly bright.

Having said that, I'm no too confident about next year.. 2011, imo, is when we'll be there..

But hey, I could be wrong, and I hope I am.

I pefer to be optimistic rather then pessimistic this time of the year so I will say yes.

The belief is based on the improvement from our young players (aspecially the improved pace and creativity across the ground) in the last 10 weeks as well as having Cox and Kerr back in the side. I hope that some of the older players can also stand up and recover the form previously exhbited - namely Beu Watters and Brett Jones.

I would also suggest that both LeCras and Hurn will end up AA's next year or at least be in the squad of 40.

We need to be optimisitic. Confidence is a big factor in football. If we can get some runs on the board early and Cox, Kerr, Waters and Embley can get back to their best we are a certain chance. If Lynch can leverage off half forward, Lecras being a swing between midfield and pocket we can push hard. I think we can push Carlton and Essendon out of the eight. That leaves two spots. One for Hawthorn (a given) and one for West Coast. We are a good chance to win 12 games I think.

Think positive. The best way the young guns will learn is with winning I think. Confidence is as important as game time.

Go West Coast!

IMO the Eagles are in a very good position to make the 8 in 2010, I think teams vying for positions 6-8, the biggest factors will be

1. Injuries to key players
2. Form away from home

Keep minimal injuries to kep players and improve your record in Victoria and you'll have every chance of making the 8.

It also depend's on the teams around you - what is their scope for improvement?

Hawks
Port
Blues
North

Yeah I know Hawthorn are ahead of us. Essendon - No lucas and Lloyd might need re-structuring. Good luck North but definitely not in the equation for next year

fair comments gunnar..like the optimism.
i think were a good chance of being in the top 8 (meaning 7-8), and possibly sneak in a finals taste..
and i too think that everythings now in place, pretty much, that this is the consolidation/foundation year for the next assault-2011 onwards..injuries+footy gods allowing..
this is 'serving notice of intent' year
2011 is 'making a statement' year. ;)

(ps-marlin, i'd rather be in the top 50% than the bottom,and its all about finals experience-very important)

North are headed for a period on the bottom with Richmond. Bombers and Hawks definitely on the way up, so the interesting one for mine will be how the Blues do without Fev.

Agree with the call on the importance of injuries, esp. for clubs with a lot of young players the loss of a couple of critical senior guys can make a big difference. Havign said that we actually looked a fair bit better later in the year without Cox and Kerr so go figure.

The reality is that the top 6 teams from last year look pretty safe to make the 8 again which leaves Carlton and Essendon. You would expect Hawks to make the eight which leaves one spot.

Therefore both would have to miss the 8 for us to make it which is certainly no stretch.

Carlton with no Fev or Judd for first 3 rounds will be a strong indicator of where they are likely to finish this year.

Currently I rate us a 40/60 chance of making the 8 next year.

Our team is still very young and quite fragile in that if we were to lose some key players to injury we don't have the depth as yet to cover them.

If all goes well with injury and Cox and Kerr can have good seasons then I reckon we are a decent chance to win most home games and sneak into the eight.

(ps-marlin, i'd rather be in the top 50% than the bottom,and its all about finals experience-very important)

What I meant to say is that it isn't that hard to make the 8. Really, it's just a pass. Obviously, making the 8 extremely important.

Really, there are many factors that will affect our chances, but if we have a decent run with injuries and perhaps more importantly, a decent set of fixtures, we should consider next year a failure if we don't make the 8.

There's no excuse for missing the 8 three years in a row, even losing players of the calibre of Judd and Cousins.

I believe we are are good chance, win our home games and a few away we will be in.

I have a carton riding on it (and another on West Coast to finish above Freo):thumbsu:

Only if we pick up Ball..... hey hey hey, kidding.

Its a slight guessing game, as sides like Hawks from last year could fall over, or maybe a couple of sides could fall over, we could have injuries. So going on teams going through the season with healthly lists, its really border line, but the win over the Dogs holds a lot of water on the group mentally.

Reason i suggest its a little bit of a guessing is, i could say we'll make it, 2 sides have massive injuries they cant cover and then i sit back all cocky and say "ah told ya so". For me, fcuk i hate saying this, i think we are about 9th or 10th thats with everyone keeping a healthy list. If any have major injuries or just arnt clicking, we will be there in the shadows to pounce.
Eagle87 will clean anything up that you didnt understand in that post. With luck i believe we can have a brief stay in September.

I believe we are are good chance, win our home games and a few away we will be in.

I have a carton riding on it (and another on West Coast to finish above Freo):thumbsu:

88mph the Freo wager should be ready for collection by rd 12/14 at the latest. Was that bet with St.Vinnies because they are a charity.

For one thing, we certainly won't get there winning one away game for the season, and if we win every home game next year I will eat my hat and post it on youtube.

We'll improve (hopefully) but I don't see us improving in 2010 past Geelong, St Kilda, Collingwood, Adelaide, Bulldogs, Hawthorn, Carlton or Brisbane, so on that basis no finals for 2010.

For one thing, we certainly won't get there winning one away game for the season, and if we win every home game next year I will eat my hat and post it on youtube.

We'll improve (hopefully) but I don't see us improving in 2010 past Geelong, St Kilda, Collingwood, Adelaide, Bulldogs, Hawthorn, Carlton or Brisbane, so on that basis no finals for 2010.

I wouldnt pencil carlton in just yet, they only just made it in 2009. With no Fev, where are they going to find 80+ goals in 2010?

Brisbane had a good 2009, there is still a chance Fev wont play in 2010 if allegations are investigated. This combined with the loss of a few players in trade week could derail the team.

Bulldogs, Collingwood and Hawthorn could slip with a bad run of injuries.

We will make it.

We beat Bulldogs away and Essendon at home which is a great step forward last year.

Based on my calculation we will win 75% of home games and 25% of away games which will get us into 8th position.

no probs marlin..how does our depth rate now, given any injuries..sure weve lost some senior experience..but some were absent most of last year anyway..i wouldve thought we have the depth to cover a key injury, maybe not always the experience,but someone capable of stepping up/accounting for themselves..
in reality,as another post said..theres really only 8th position available,or 7+8th at a stretch..but just feel 2010 is when it all comes together..and just maybe, we see the 'new eagles' as a consistent and cohesive team..(last seasons only been finished a month and already i'm entering Dreamworld?)

I wouldnt pencil carlton in just yet, they only just made it in 2009. With no Fev, where are they going to find 80+ goals in 2010?

Brisbane had a good 2009, there is still a chance Fev wont play in 2010 if allegations are investigated. This combined with the loss of a few players in trade week could derail the team.

Bulldogs, Collingwood and Hawthorn could slip with a bad run of injuries.

They did get a good young key position prospect, a talented (although injury plagued) midfielder, and a first rounder as acquisitions in this post-season for the loss of Fev. They will probably slip, but I don't see them slipping enough. Gibbs, Murphy and Kreuzer will only get better next season. Judd is still in his prime. That 80 goal gap will not be completely filled, but I am confident they will find a way to score goals with that kind of midfield.

Re: injuries - any side that has their best half a dozen players out for extended periods will always struggle. Thing is, we can hope that Brissie, Collingwood and Hawthorn slip with injuries but that doesn't mean we cannot slip ourselves with injuries :(

I think we can win 75% of our home games but I can't see us winning more than three games away from home - our side is still very young but will get better with experience. It would be great though of course if we can make finals and we are not without a chance, certainly. :thumbsu:

yep, expecting big things this year from Kerr,Cox,Priddis,Glass,Lynch -players of that calibre............injuries allowing.

I think we should go close. I see the predicted top 7 looking pretty darn strong in 2010 though. St Kilda, Geelong, Bullies, Adelaide, Hawks, Brisbane, Pies - seems like all of those should be right up there. If they are all thereabouts we would probably have to finish above both Essendon and Carlton. Fingers crossed, should be great to watch how we go this year, can't wait :thumbsu:

Will we play finals in 2010?