mightypies9

collingwood
they went down by 27 points i think i only just caught the last bit on SEN, shown on fox footy at 5 pm too..

Lost the game despite a serious effort. With Williams and Rose as your two key forwards, it's difficult to convert.

Stanley is a very clumsy and slow footballer. Dunno what Hine saw in him. Pick 21??

Cook: Did some smart things early, but where was he when we needed a leading forward. Not terrible, but needs to do more.

Toovey did OK. Isn't especially agile, nor is he a reliable kick.

Yakka did very well. One of our best.

Richards is ****. Let me reitterate; ****. He is terrible. Locker should be cleared tomorrow, he was beyond description in terms of terribleness!

Cox is an extremely peculiar talent. Is that awkward "Andrew Williams" size whereby if his talent doesn't shine through, he can look

Pendlebury played a weak first half, but redeemed himself in the second.

Jack Anthony had goals kicked against him, but still showed why he will have what it takes at AFL level.

Davies: Can't kick and has the awareness of a deaf meercat. If he doesn't have clear space, he is useless. If he's not delisted, he'll be gone at the end of 07.

Rowe: I've cut him plenty of slack to date, but now realise that he won't ever be a player at AFL level.

Nicholls: THE standout Collingwood listed player. Yes, he was drafted top age, yes he is only 176cms tall, BUT he kicks accurately, wins the ball, runs hard and is fast. Blokes like Byron Schammer get away with near identical attributes at AFL level, so this kid will too. Great game and good enough for a shot at AFL in the Black and White.

FIGJAM said:
Lost the game despite a serious effort. With Williams and Rose as your two key forwards, it's difficult to convert.

Stanley is a very clumsy and slow footballer. Dunno what Hine saw in him. Pick 21??

Cook: Did some smart things early, but where was he when we needed a leading forward. Not terrible, but needs to do more.

Richards is ****. Let me reitterate; ****. He is terrible. Locker should be cleared tomorrow, he was beyond description in terms of terribleness!

Cox is an extremely peculiar talent. Is that awkward "Andrew Williams" size whereby if his talent doesn't shine through, he can look

Jack Anthony had goals kicked against him, but still showed why he will have what it takes at AFL level.

Davies: Can't kick and has the awareness of a deaf meercat. If he doesn't have clear space, he is useless. If he's not delisted, he'll be gone at the end of 07.

Rowe: I've cut him plenty of slack to date, but now realise that he won't ever be a player at AFL level.

Nicholls: THE standout Collingwood listed player. Yes, he was drafted top age, yes he is only 176cms tall, BUT he kicks accurately, wins the ball, runs hard and is fast. Blokes like Byron Schammer get away with near identical attributes at AFL level, so this kid will too. Great game and good enough for a shot at AFL in the Black and White.

I thought Stanley did OK in the last Qtr

Cook was ok early

Pendlebury looked tired

Cox was good

Toovey was OK

Rowe was poor

Ben Davies was very good

Nicholls was very good

Richards was crap

Yakka was good

Would you say Nicholls should be elevated with O'Brien at the end of the year or should he stay a rookie for another year?

Good summary Figgy, I watched it on the telly.

Richards' taps into the hands of the Geelong forwards were priceless.

You're a tad harsh on Davies and Cox but I see where you're coming from.

Yakka Cox Nicholls and Anthony were easily our best on the day of the AFL listed players. Good game from Picken too. Where was J Cloke - illegible or injured?

I wasn't harsh on Cox, I just forgot to finish the sentence! :D

What I was going to say is that his frame means that he can look like a bit of a doofus if things go wrong, but he usually does things right. He's quite talented in a weird sort of way!

Yakka should be ready to take the next step by taking his spot in the 1st's instead of holland!
Richards-hmmm absolutely shocking, we were smashed at the clearances because he is ****! he is effectively a first year ruckmen i dunno i would probably get rid of him in preferences for an established ruck of the same age!
Nicholls-was outstanding, beautiful kick, pretty quick and hard at it with great vision to boot!
Cox- was great, gave us a lot of run and creativity out of the back line did a reasonable job defending should be ready for a senior debut next year sometime.
Anthony was good, will be a great full back for mine he is deceptively strong in 1 on 1's and yeah pretty good skills wise i thought, setup a few thrusts forward as well. great pick up!
Stanley- didnt really play much, was pretty rubbish when he did, dunno what to say he wont be delisted but if he doesnt improve next year (with a full preseason) id say he is out.
Pendlebury- did some good things, has good skills, poise, agility, vision but is still far away from reaching his potential. he needs to learn the game abit better and probably be alittle more accountable. will be a good player but i just feel that he needs a few seasons to get on par with the other players in terms of knowledge of the game.
Toovey-thought he was allright, certainly not out of his depth.
Davies was OK for an ex-rookie listed player. dunno if he will ever make the cut at AFL level tho, works hard so anything is possible!

The game was lost in the middle of the ground, the team battled hard but could just not make up for Richards' ineffecieny. Plenty of good signs tho!

Any thoughts on Iaccobucci? I noticed he got a lot of the ball but only when it wasn't really a contest, seems to not go hard at contests just grabs the 'free' ball.

I also went to the game. No Forward Line.

Stanley, the next Sir Scott Burns?? No freakin' way! ... He's too slow for starters.

Cook did OK considering. Not ready to take the next step.

Pendlebury has loads of time to look up and deliver - A good trait to possess.

Cox was very good in defence. His strong body could come in handy at the pack-spillage.

Toovey did his bit under enormous pressure.

Rowe, the lazy one! ... He showed more promise at the start of his career.

Ben Davies ran and carried the ball, but can he improve??

Nicholls is turning into my favourite player, I love his desire for such a small bloke. Promote him. He has leg speed.

It's quite humorous watching Richards strut his stuff. He's very clumsy.

The Booch can hold his held high, I thought he was good through the midfield.

JA got comprehensively beaten by Kingsley. Not ready to take the next step.

Yakka is pretty hard at it. Took alot of saving marks in defence. The criticism is that he's not good enough inclose so he has to get more loose ball. He did that today and if he can build and play like he did today he could grab a spot in our side.
I'd like to see him in the backline or even used as a tagger.
Nicholls, I wouldn't promote him this early, we have him for a 2nd year.

Cox has talent, and looks better in defence than up forward. I always try to find a recent AFL comparison to players, but I can't find one. Perhaps a bulky slower Lovett Murray? Jason Roe but more unpredictable? A bigger Egan who can play 3rd tall? Perhaps even a Watt type?

FIGJAM said:

You on your rags Murray?

Angelus512 said:
Any thoughts on Iaccobucci? I noticed he got a lot of the ball but only when it wasn't really a contest, seems to not go hard at contests just grabs the 'free' ball.

he did rove the pack to perfection in the forward line when he kciked that goal after side stepping a few players! was our best todat along with nicholls
delist rowe, dont think we wil get anything for him

FIGJAM said:
I am now after you called me Murray!
LOL oops sorry Murray, I meant FIGGY!!!

Usually its Murray with the out there statements!

As for the post, I dunno, if half your statements are true, then we are in trouble next year, because all those players you named that played **** are our 2nd and 3rd tier players in the senior list for the next few years.

PieLebo87 said:
As for the post, I dunno, if half your statements are true, then we are in trouble next year, because all those players you named that played **** are our 2nd and 3rd tier players in the senior list for the next few years.
Yeah I know. It's not good!

Coin_Toss said:
I also went to the game. No Forward Line.

JA got comprehensively beaten by Kingsley. Not ready to take the next step.

listening to sen on the way home(last quarter) and they said kingsley took 4 marks had 12 possies and kicked 4 with 2 of those coming in 2 minutes, one being a quick snap when richards hit it down his throught and the other being impossible to defend. This does not sound like a comprehensive beating. They talked as though Anthony did very well.
I know its just your opinion CT and I respect it but you don't seem to rate the kid all that highly when others do, any reason for this??

Coin_Toss said:
Nicholls is turning into my favourite player, I love his desire for such a small bloke. Promote him. He has leg speed.

Word. He showed real pace at times and can kick.

..... and just to reiterate I don't think Rowe will ever make it

my view

Anthony - very good. had a few kicked on him but competes well and runs straight at the footy. good courage as well. He needs to be brought into the side. Can generate run as well so was pretty happy with him.

Yakka - If this bloke isnt given game time next year I'll go hee. He was a terrific inside mid today and picked up 23 possessions in dangerous spots and thru the middle. Retain

Davies - Disappointing but at least tried. Willy needed his run thru middle and long kicking to break the lines but he couldnt deliver. Good to see him running back with footy. Retain.

Toovey - Contrary to others I thought he was ok. Deceptively quick and kicks long. Also not scared which I like. Could see him playing a wing when he comes in. Convinced me Lonie can go. Retain on rookie or possibly promote

Nicholls - Has something - just needs to impose himself more in the game. Beaut skills and vision. Gosh if he could be more consistent he would be handy BP. Retain on rookie

Rowe - An absolute dud. Delist

Cook - Dud. Far be it from me to question the great Hines but gee he is ordinary.

Stanley - We know the family so it pains me to say but this kid aint up to it possibly. Certainly has the body for it but seems to lack vision, pace and the ability to use it quickly.

Cox - Sensational. Cannot wait til he gets a senior game. He clearly carries a little more around the guts than he should but his hands, feet and vision are brilliant. Also very composed. Was the delight of the day. Retain on rookie

Pendlebury - I am not yet sold on this kid. I dont reckon he kicked it long once. Everything was short and sideways. Clearly has good vision and good in close but needs to put himself in more dangerous spots and run the lines.

Richards - the most disappointing. He cost them the game. With so many talls out he had to give them first use. The other bloke smashed him early and Meyer had to come in and fix it which he did. Then when they stuck him back in the middle Richards stuffed it again. Delist.

V disappointing Cloke and Walker did not play. Hope Clokes old man was not in his ear. Just a bit odd......

Angelus512 said:

Judd?

Timmy from Thomastown said:
Good summary Figgy, I watched it on the telly.

Richards' taps into the hands of the Geelong forwards were priceless.

You're a tad harsh on Davies and Cox but I see where you're coming from.

Yakka Cox Nicholls and Anthony were easily our best on the day of the AFL listed players. Good game from Picken too. Where was J Cloke - illegible or injured?
Jason had a hammy injury

I watched the game yesterday on the ABC, I always thought it would be tough ask for them to overcome a Geelong team boasting 19 senior or rookie listed players but I was quite impressed with some of the Pies listed players and a couple of the rookies.

Anthony- I thought JA was pretty good all day, apart from a 5 minute lapse where Kingsley kicked 2 goals i thought he had him beaten. He looks a hell of a lot like Clement and seems to provide a bit of dash of the last line, he certainly doesnt lack courage which is great to see.

Cox- He is a weird one, looks awkward at times but seems to have got better as the year has gone on, i remember watching him in a pre-season game earlier in the year when he kicked 5 or 6 and thought he looked the goods but looks like maybe playing as a defender might be his strength.

Toovey- Havent seen him play to many times this year but he looked ok yesterday, i know it was only VFL level but he seems to run the lines well and has a bit of size about him even looked to be fairly quick a couple of times yesterday running out of defence, will def be kept on next year even possible elevated.

Nicholls - Was very impressed with him yesterday, has a good turn of pace and a great kick and uses the ball well. Seems to have bulked up a little since the start of the year which will help him next year if he gets a go at AFL level.

I think a lot of you have let your dismal views on the way we finished the season cloud your opinion of these youngsters.

Pendlebury was solid, and it's a bit much to suggest that he needs to be taking the opponent on at every opportunity at this stage. If anyone has ever criticised Egan for being arrogant and/or trying to do too much, then they MUST forgive Pendlebury for his opposite, diminuitive approach to the game.

Iacobucci looked excellent, but then again, he always does, yet fails to make a significant impact at AFL level. I'm starting to think it's because he doesn't get enough gametime though - He should be given as close to 100% time in the midfield through all of our NAB Cup/Practice matches next year, just to see how he would match it given the opportunity to succeed.

Danny Nicholls looked like a star, as I've always suggested he would, given his broad range of talents.

Anthony looked good for a kid developing in one of the hardest positions on the field.

Ryan Cook was solid, if not particularly impressive, but it is not as though he was being used as a 1st or 2nd target up forward.

Stanley looked ordinary, but he wasn't used well, as he was thrown up forward and spent a lot of the game on the pine.

Shannon Cox looked very, very good in my opinion - Particularly for a guy played pretty well out of position. It says a lot about him that despite the fact that he is not a defender, Brad Gotch trusts him enough to move him onto a red-hot Nathan Ablett. I had always thought he was a little short for a tall player, but now I view him as having good height for a running player.

Alan Toovey backs himself and has excellent pace for his size. I wouldn't waste any time trying to turn him into a midfield tagger - I really think that could be the best spot for him.

Rowe and Richards looked pretty crap, but realistically, we've seen what they can do.

But realistically, I'd say that only Rowe, Richards and Stanley looked BAD on the day. Cook looked good, but just wasn't getting used by his teammates, and the rest, I feel, all showed signs.