Willy report

2:00 PM Sun 19/Jun

Box Hill Hawks 12.17-89
vs
Williamstown 13.14-92

Box Hill Hawks
Goal Kickers: P. Jolley 3, S. Rudolph 2, B. McGlynn 2, R. Breese 2, N. Lonie, A. Lekkas, C. Alleway
Best Players: S. Greene, A. Lekkas, T. Murphy, B. McGlynn, A. Jansen, N. Lonie

Williamstown
Goal Kickers: J. Dukes 4, C. Egan 2, B. Hall 2, A. Williams, L. Jarrad, J. Barling, A. Iacobucci, L. Picken
Best Players: D. Fanning, J. Dukes, J. Cloke, L. Jarrad, M. Lokan, B. Shaw

Talking about near misses or not, who was the player that kicked the goal in the last qtr from point blank range and nearly missed it, although the Hawks players thought he did

Jeez Im glad I went over to HHQ to read crap like this:

"Buckley.. he brought a bunch of ********ers to the ground who were quite annoying and he had about 20 ineffective disposals. Typical performance from the Collingwood captain. "

Compared to the boxes of ******** I had to watch on Friday night Im guessing it was a 5 star perfomance from the champ.

good reviews guys

i wanna learn more about cole's beard....is it a full on beard, or just some designer stubble at this stage? havent seen him in action for a while so he has had a chance to get some growth

oh...and great to see Bucks get through the game :)

Lockyer24 said:
Jeez Im glad I went over to HHQ to read crap like this:

"Buckley.. he brought a bunch of ********ers to the ground who were quite annoying and he had about 20 ineffective disposals. Typical performance from the Collingwood captain. "

Compared to the boxes of ******** I had to watch on Friday night Im guessing it was a 5 star perfomance from the champ.

Its not all GOLD

Some was usefull Mocca or Matty useally theres a Collingwood guy there too read his stuff

RuZZa#28 said:
Was any1 around on the wing when heath shaw ran the ball over the line in the third quarter. Heath ran the ball over the boundry line under no pressure and his lil chubby opponent no.47 from box hill was yellling "soft soft". Heath turned around and said "I was first to the ball fat boy dont worry mate get a kick". He than was sayin "fat boy fat boy" the whole time the ball was thrown in and cleared. It was the funniest thing i have ever seen in my life. The onli bad thing was heath's opponent was move into middle got 2 clearnces and they got goals from both. One was heaths man the other was paid advantage after a free against tex. In the last quarter heath and his opponent no. 47 had a box on in the goalsquare. Luckily heath got a great mark in the dying moments when box hill made their last assualt.

I was standing there also. It was Kristan Height, and it was bloody funny to hear Heath giving it to him. "Try and keep up fatboy" :D

hotpie said:
What a great name.

Can we rookie him next year? Is he good enough to father-son?

I guess we could, he ain't a tall one though, 182/80 who is turning 19.

Just your run of the mill midfield type.

I went down to Box Hill, not just to see Buckley play, but mostly to see our youngsters play. This has been my 3rd Willy game this season, and I would of went whether Bucks was playing or not (well, depending on the rain ;)).

It was a pretty good game actually, not highly skilled by any stretch, but was close all the way.

Anyway here's some notes on the Collingwood listed players games. Although due to the huge hill in the middle of the ground it was hard to see the other end of the ground.

1. Leon Davis - WING/MID/FP Played mostly midfield, on and off the ground, did some nice things but was pretty average. A 4/10 game for me. Not impressive enough to earn a spot.

5. Nathan Buckley (Wearing #3) MID/HFF - Played well, layed some great tackles, but his disposal was a little rusty, but still miles ahead of everyone elses sklils. No signs of his hamstring really limiting him. Played about 15-20mins of the first 3 quarters. 6/10 (10/10 fitness wise). Should play vs. Sydney. If we played this side of the split round I think he would of been right to play.

12. Tristen Walker (Wearing #11) - FB/CHB/FF Was crap. I usually give players at VFL level a little latitude because they are playing in a pretty poor team that doesn't gel as well as an AFL standard team does, so especially in the backline, theres not much help when you expect it, numbers around the ball etc. However Tristen was very, very disapointing. Cut up by Holland early could hardly spot him for 2 quarters, showed up in the last quarter up forward and got 2-3 possesions for 1 behind. 2/10

13. Richard Cole (Wearing #27) HBF/??? - Was probably even crapper. Got a handfull of possies and didn't seem to even be on the ground half the time. Unless injury was an excuse, his game was a farce. Disapointing for my favorite player. 1/10

15. Christopher Egan HFF/WING - Was quiet all day, uses the ball very well when he does get it. In the last quarter just about won it for Willy. Controlling the forward line. Has great vision, but does some silly things (well I could only spot 1 silly thing today, playing on after taking a mark, unless it was called play-on). Did what he had to do. Doesn't get many hard balls at all but thats not his role, but does need to develop smarts for getting the ball a bit often because the is often waiting for the ball in the wrong spot. Should be back vs. Sydney. 6/10

16. Thomas Davidson - Out with general soreness apparently. This was a bit disapointing as I thought if he played a good game he might be a chance to play vs. Sydney with Rusling having a rest.

19. Andrew Williams (Wearing #6) WING/HFF - Just a typical Willo-at-VFL game from Moon River. Did some handy things. Not many mistakes actually, not impressive though. 5/10

29 - Matthew Lokan HBF/WING - Was quite good, but I don't know why he gets the job doing kick outs. Did his usual dashing runs and long kicking. Is in good form but this game wasn't exactly his best. Another good game and he should be rewarded. 6/10

31 - William Morrison - FF Played reserves. Apparently kicked 5 for reserves, would of been all in the first half as I only saw the 2nd half. He was crap, too slow on the lead. The crowd gave him heaps and I think he gets sucked in too much. I'd give him 0/10 however apparently he kicked 5 so 2/10.

34 - Jason Cloke - CHB Was good. As usual gets bagged by all and sundry for mistakes he didn't make, and goals that his opponent didn't kick. Near best on ground, showed some leadership in the backline and controlled it. Did make some mistakes but was very good in one on one marking. No room in the side for him though. 7/10

37 - Brayden Shaw - MIDFIELD/HFF First game back in the Willy 1s from his ankle injury and was pretty good. Didn't see alot of him because he played a more inside game. Showed a few good things they were:
- Average pace but not a plodder. AFL average pace.
- Good skills, although does make the odd mistake. His disposal reminds me of Woewodin (well Woey circa 2003-2004, his disposal is good and tidy and sometimes brilliant but now and again does nothing kicks), however he doesn't hold it up like Woey.
- Some vision.
- Composure
And most of all footy smarts.
7/10

38 - Adam Iacobucci - MID/WING/RESTING FP Was good as well although quiet at times. Seemed pretty good in the 3rd quarter. What impresses me about him is his kicking, he often guides the flight of the ball brilliantly. Does the low, bullet like pass to a leading player to perfection but when he has to he can kick a floater to a a running player in space. Probably needs to work on clearences a bit beacuse he can get the ball in close but often can't get it out. 6/10

39 - Heath Shaw - HBF/BP Heater was solid at half back flank/back pocket on a few opponents. Not that impressive though, except his hard at the ball attitude. Would be suprised if he's selected but certainly not out of the question. 5/10

40 - Brent Hall - FORWARD/RELIEF RUCK While it is impressive what he does do, the fact is most of the time he does nothing. Probably had 5 possesions for 2/3 shots at goal. Is good on the lead and seems to be a very good kick at goal. Just doesn't do enough, but shows he has pleny to work with. 2/10.

41 - Benjamin Davies - WING/MIDFEILD Was best on ground in the first quarter, got a lot of it and uses his pace, but then faded out. His disposal needs plenty of work. Has a good mixture of pace and inside skills. Can grab the ball from a congestion and run away from the pack. I'm not claiming him to be Chris Judd like in that fashion though, but he can do that. 4/10

43 - Heritier O'Brien - HBF/BP/FB Harry was fantastic. Beat his oponents in the backline and provided important run. I like this kid alot. What was impressive is his ability to know when to rebound and when to stick to his oponent, and his ability to do a lunging punch without giving away a free kick. Beat Holland when moved on him, very impressive for his relatively light, 187cm frame.

44 - Zane Leonard - WING - Had first game back (I think) from injury in the 2s. Was quiet but showed he was fit and showed some pace and a little tenacity. Was rested a lot though. It will be amazing if he's able to fight back from his injury plagued career though. 3/10

45 - David Fanning - RUCK - Was Willy's best, if not B.O.G. Not fantastic disposal but still semi-effective. Showed strong clean hands and knows how to take a contested mark by using his height which is where a lot of tall 200cm+ ruckmen fail. Hardly was beaten in a ruck contest, got some very good taps, however the Mustangs midfield did rove some of his taps when they were coming back. 8/10. I would maybe bring him back but Cam Cloke has been OK and deserves another chance while giving Fraser game time for Willy won't do him any good. Could come in for Rusling though.

For the Willy players Dukes was quite good with 4 goals, Brad Lloyd was great back from injury and Luke Theodore was very good.
Liam Picken did some nice things including a great mark and the winning goal. Jarrad seems to have regained form after being dropped to the reserves a while ago. Which must of been embarrising for Willy as he is on my Willy membership card (the one you get with the Magpie membership anyway).

Picken is not good enough to give away a 3rd round draft pick for, but could be a worth a rookie spot.

Great summary Jabso. Pretty much exactly how I saw it. Biggest positive for me, apart from No 5 getting through the game, was Fanning. Dominated the ruck all day and hardly lost a tap out. He was excellent.

Murray said:
Yes, according to Balme on SEN

Still I guess you could always take it up with Balme and tell him to his face you think that he tells lies.

I think he tells lies. :)

hotpie said:
I think he tells lies. :)

No point in telling me, I don't care that you think Balme is a liar.
You can come on here and have a crack at me because I report what I heard - but telling the source he is liar, well now, that is a little different isn't it?

Send him an e-mail with your contact details

Murray said:
You can come on here and have a crack at me because I report what I heard -

I'm querying the validity of what you posted because you are too gullible to question it yourself.

Why would a player have general soreness when he didnt play the week before?

I guess you believe Guy Richards and Ben Johnson have only minor injuries too?

Willy report