Wimmera League 2010

Don’t know how you can possibly say that. Have a look through this site!

Have u been at, or associated with the Ararat Football Club at all since Turner was appointed? If u havent, which i highly suspect then u simply cannot make statements like 'they appointed him, then went about undermining him'. What a crock!! Unless u were at the football club or in the inner sanctum u obviously would not know what has been happening!! U seem to have plenty of opinions about the Wimmera Footy League and all the going's on but I'm just telling u that this time - fact: u are dead wrong my friend! Just because u have plenty of opinions, doesnt make them right!! Just setting the record straight for yourself of any other readers who have become confused with the situation.

I haven't lived there for years but they have had a problem retaining youth for a long time. Obviously there is an underlying problem. I thought a name like Turner would have been a huge attraction to their young guys. I always heard reasons like moving away for uni etc but other team like tatty and Horsham seem to hang onto their kids. The Rats would still be receiving a fair pay check just like other clubs but still guys don't want to stick around.

Maybe you could enlighten us Bumbles?

I haven't lived there for years but they have had a problem retaining youth for a long time. Obviously there is an underlying problem. I thought a name like Turner would have been a huge attraction to their young guys. I always heard reasons like moving away for uni etc but other team like tatty and Horsham seem to hang onto their kids. The Rats would still be receiving a fair pay check just like other clubs but still guys don't want to stick around.

Maybe you could enlighten us Bumbles?

The problem cant be put down to any one thing, there are a number of reasons that work against Ararat in their retention of young players. They do lose players who move away to university, or for work etc.. Also in Ararat there is a large number of teams drawing players from the same area. This gives young players especially a number of options to choose from, and promising young players are often chased by clubs in the surrounding leagues. Many of these clubs are better off financially than Ararat and thus have attraction in that way, but a lot of the time the reason for leaving is also to play with mates or family etc who are at the other clubs. In stating these reasons I realise that Horsham and similar clubs are in the same predicament with the district league drawing from the area further north. Horsham has done a fantastic job in maintaining their list over a number of years and there is no secret that that has been a huge contributor in their success. And success breeds success, something Ararat, despite seeing plenty of it in the juniors over recent years has not been able to replicate in the seniors. The onus is now on Ararat to provide a fantastic club environment that attracts players, but more importantly makes people want to stick with the club. Enjoyment is the key. I think Ararat is certainly moving in a great direction in this regard, and with continued hard work behind the scenes will improve markedly in the next few years.

Ps. Sorry about the novel.

I agree that the Rats are on the march and they currently have a young and underrated list.
Bumbles, every year we see these juniors come into Ararat then leave within the year. They usually come to experience one year of premiership glory in the under 17’s. Would they be better off not attracting these players and there by developing their own and more loyal talent?

Contrary to popular belief that district league clubs come and stack our under 17s side with top aged kids, its really not the case. Some kids do come back in but easily more than half of the guys playing in the under 17 premierships are guys who have stuck with the club since under 14s. Its losing these players the following year, or after one or two years of seniors that is really hurting the club.

This weeks selections:
  • Horsham Saints over the Rats > 55 points

• Horsham over Stawell > 25 points
  • Eagles over the Burras > 40 points
  • Dimmy over the Diggers > 45 points

Saints over the Rats by 15 points.

Horsham over Stawell by a whopping 120 points.:eek:

Brimackabeal over the Kookoos by 10 points

Diggers to get on the board with a 20 point win against the Roos

A few injuries at the Empire I believe FP, Burke still suffering from a knock to the shin, Anson's hammy's been tight for a while, ruckman Garrett Liston out injured also. Fatty Johns unavaliable and O'Callaghan & Ross possibly getting a call up to the Rebels.
If ever there was chance for the Warriors to cause an upset, this is the week. The Warriors season is nearly on the line after dropping their first two games, with everything to play for it should be a ripping contest.

This weeks selections:
  • Horsham Saints over the Rats > 55 points 3 points
  • Horsham over Stawell > 25 points 87 points
  • Eagles over the Burras > 40 points Burras by 6 points
  • Dimmy over the Diggers > 45 points 95 points

2 blowouts and 1 ripper contest! Gee we knew the Diggers where hopeless but whats going on with the Redlegs?

Things in the WFL are starting to get a little interesting. If the Burras get up over Stawell next week you would wonder where to for Stawell not just for this year but the next couple. We keep hearing about how happy the Brimackabeal boys are under their new coach...........?
How close are Ararat to beating everyone bar Horsham?

Dunno Fancy, i reckon ararat aren't the second best team in the league. My thoughts?
Stawell = No chance
Burras = top 5
Ararat =top 5
Saints = top 3
Dimboola = top 3
Warrack = No chance
Nhill = No chance
United = Hopeless
Horsham = Can be beaten, but teams have to start worrying about thier own games instead of putting everything into nullifying horsham forward line. let them kick thier 20 goals, you cant stop that!

My eyes will be on the game next week between Ararat and Dimboola. I think it will tell us a lot about how the year will pan out. Two very good young sides, two very good coaches, maybe the performance of Fratin and Przibilla will be the difference? should be a cracker.

Dunno Fancy, i reckon ararat aren't the second best team in the league. My thoughts?
Stawell = No chance
Burras = top 5
Ararat =top 5
Saints = top 3
Dimboola = top 3
Warrack = No chance
Nhill = No chance
United = Hopeless
Horsham = Can be beaten, but teams have to start worrying about thier own games instead of putting everything into nullifying horsham forward line. let them kick thier 20 goals, you cant stop that!

My eyes will be on the game next week between Ararat and Dimboola. I think it will tell us a lot about how the year will pan out. Two very good young sides, two very good coaches, maybe the performance of Fratin and Przibilla will be the difference? should be a cracker.

I think its a bit early in the season to say who the top sides are going to be. Nhill plays the 4 other finalists from last year in the first 4 games of the season so even if they are 1 and 3 after playing horsham on the weekend, they could still be 5 and 3 very easliy after round 9. Stawell has lost to dimboola with a stacked side, were unlucky to be beaten by nhill and lost to horsham so i wouldn't discount a side with the likes of tuckey, eales, hanns, williamson, solyom etc just yet. Don't be surprised if ararat, dimboola and minyip murtoa slide down the ladder after a few more rounds because all of them have played united, which is the second bye. And a few teams that are down are still waiting on the return of good players so too early to be talking up the unproven sides. I think comp is a lot more even than ppl expect but i still believe top 5 will be demons, saints, tigers and and the last 2 spots will be a big tussle between ararat, min mur, stawell, warrack and dimmy. With warrack and dimmy my choice at this stage. Will get a lot better picture after the first 9 rounds though.

warrack have been fairly ordinary except for the game against nhill. i think they should improve with the inclusions of wellinton who has to sit out the last of his 4 week susp this week. and over the next month daniel mcdonald andrew bell and brad kraghe will all return they are all forwards which is what the eagles really missed against the buras on the weekend.

Dont be wimps - make a prediction now instead of waiting until Round 9!!

2010 Final ladder after home & away rounds

Horsham
Saints
Dimboola
Warracknabeal
Nhill
Stawell
Ararat
Minyip Murtoa
United

Tussle for fifth with Nhill to just make it on percentage from Stawell
Grand Final prediction - Saints v Dimboola (Saints to win).

Dont be wimps - make a prediction now instead of waiting until Round 9!!

2010 Final ladder after home & away rounds

Horsham
Saints
Dimboola
Warracknabeal
Nhill
Stawell
Ararat
Minyip Murtoa
United

Tussle for fifth with Nhill to just make it on percentage from Stawell
Grand Final prediction - Saints v Dimboola (Saints to win).

Mate, we are 2-2 and you think we will finish 2nd last? we bet warrack and u have placed them 4th. I think stawell and nhill will come good eventually

Trethowen in toohey form

Mate, we are 2-2 and you think we will finish 2nd last? we bet warrack and u have placed them 4th. I think stawell and nhill will come good eventually

Trethowen in toohey form

Dont get too excited Captain, its only 4 games into the season. Also Trethowen will do lucky to poll votes being a first year player...

Maybe Ararats problem is that they think they are a little bit better than everyone else. Hence the nickname MOONHEADS. From what people have told me over the past if your not in the right group there it seems you are like a ghost. I have many friends there but maybe they should look at spreading what money they have around instead of large amounts to a few.

Over the past few years it would be obvious who. With the departure of a previous toohey winner recently you would think it would have been able to put it to good use. Or as l said it may just be be that no one likes the MOONHEAD lm to good attitude.

I would have hardly thought that a team with about 3 blokes over the age of 21 would have an 'I'm too good' attitude... The moonhead tag has certainly been thrown around in the past but why hang it on a bunch of kids who clearly are just out there having a go? There are good and bad eggs in every footy club, sometimes outside perception can be very shallow..

On a more pressing issue lady and gentlemen, what are your thoughts on the Wimmera Leagues move to bring in suspensions for players not fronting up for the Big W?
As much as l'm not a fan of the bloke, l have to agree with the big Johnsa that its a bit rich players such as Ladhams, Hargraves, Batson, Tuckey etc who have stated their unavaliabilty get awat scot free.

http://www.mailtimes.com.au/news/lo...pension-threat-for-big-w-players/1821274.aspx

End of year ladder.

Horsham
Saints
Dimboola
Minyip/Murtoa
Nhill
Ararat
Warracknabeal
Stawell
United.

Not sure I can even agree with myself when I look back over that ladder. I’m not ready to give up on Nhill as a finals team and as brave as they are I don’t think Ararat will make it. Warracknabeal still have a very good side but seem to have lost what ever it was that got them close to last years premiership. Dimboola and the Burras have been the surprise packets so far but we will know more after the next couple of rounds. Warrack was the closest to Horsham in anyone game last year followed narrowly by Minyip/Murtoa. Hard to judge their form going down to the Roos by a few points then getting up over the Eagles. Dimboola pumped the Diggers on Saturday, i know they are not much but the Burras were no where near that when they played them in the first round.
There is a half funny joke going around Stawell that their reserves would beat their seniors. They have been the most disappointing club of the last five years or so.
Your turn PP.

Thanks FP, to be honest l haven't seen a heap of footy so far this year due to work/family commitments, but obviously the Horsham Demons and the Horsham Saints look the two standout sides.
The Empire still looks extremely potent with a pleathora of young, keen kids to fill the void left by Carr and the like. The inclusion of Parish is obviously a huge weapon for them and am worryingly forseeing an 8th flag on the horizon.
The Saints have also recruited well, with Watson, Ward, Bohem, Bird and Nathan Byrne strengthening their team, as well as the development of the likes of Denson, Brown, McRae, Couch etc. Gavin Kelm is also due back from a 5 game suspension after the Interleague match.
The form of the Nhill Tigers and Stawell Warriors is quite puzzling to me, both have plenty of guns and obvious depth with both their reserves sides in the top three. Unless there is some major in house issues i can see them still playing a huge part in shaping the 2010 finals.
I can't split the Burras, Eagles, Rats, Roos at the moment, with plenty of handy kids from all sides playing some exciting footy in the first few rounds of the year. 2010 looks to be a very even competition and as the season unfolds l will be watching in earnest to see who will be fighting for a finals berth.
As much as l am an unashamed hater of the Diggers, l must take my hat off too them for the work they have put in to get two sides on the park each week. I only hope that as this long season continues and the floggings, injuries and unavaliablities mount that they can keep two sides on the field.

Horsham Demons
Horsham Saints

Daylight

Maybe Ararats problem is that they think they are a little bit better than everyone else. Hence the nickname MOONHEADS. From what people have told me over the past if your not in the right group there it seems you are like a ghost. I have many friends there but maybe they should look at spreading what money they have around instead of large amounts to a few.

I think it's unfair to label any club one type. yes there is a small few you may come across that way but 99% of the people at that club are good people. it's the same with any club. Even Taty has a few bad eggs. We have the nick name Goons are we all goons? Ararat Eagles had a rep for being drugos are criminals. If you had a look at the time they had half the Ararat police station playing there. As a whole they are some of the best blokes you'll ever come across.

Ararat Rats problems obviosly run deep into the culture but I'm not sure what exactly that one problem is. There is nothing wrong with paying players if they are worth it. I think most clubs have the "right group" maybe your mates got used to being in it and got a shock when moving clubs?

Wimmera League 2010