Wiz's Profiles

• Thread starter Thread starter FIGJAM

MarkT said:
It’s early days but Egan look out of his depth, panicked and poorly skilled, Yakka just didn’t look good enough (yet?)….
I agree that The Booch didn't show much at AFL level, but he's been alright in the VFL, and if he can put in a good pre-season he should be set for another crack at senior level.

He's not super quick or tall, but he's got massive shoulders and a big commitment to fitness, so his advantage is obviously going to be getting as big and well built as a Paul Licuria and becoming a kind of strong inside player.

As for Egan, I agree with what you're saying, but completely disagree with your point. Egan did look all of those things at times (because you can't possibly claim that he looked "depth, panicked and poorly skilled" when he kicked that miraculous goal against North, or banged through that 65m goal against Essendon).

However, I looked at it from the point of view of "what was he trying to do?" and with Eegs, he was trying to dominate like he can at lower levels. Once he gets used to the AFL tempo, he will understand better what he can get away with, and will pick his spots on when to try and do the miraculous and when to do the industrious. Until then though, I'm happy with him developing trying to be a game-changer - I'd rather him make mistakes on his way to learn how to be a star than not taking any risks on the way to being a handy depth player.

MarkT said:
How so? Travis was a gimme f/s for a round 3. Rusling looks exciting. It’s early days but Egan look out of his depth, panicked and poorly skilled, Yakka just didn’t look good enough (yet?)….

Pathetic to suggest Egan looks poorly skilled.

hotpie said:
Plus Davies and O'Brien. Egan showed enough to say he'll be a very damaging player in the future.
Not to me he didn't.
hotpie said:
We did extremely well in the draft last year.
I hope so but hope is all I have at this point. Define extremely.
hotpie said:
Only Yakka failed to deliver, and he was a late pick anyway and has time on his side.
I am willing to give them all time. That wasn't the point. I was disputing the "fact" that we had done anything at all to inspire confidence.

moe sizlak said:
Pathetic to suggest Egan looks poorly skilled.
Why? First 3 kicks were out on the full and he miss kicked plenty after that. He looks to me to have some good athletic qualities but no poise. It’s early days. Do you think Leon Davis is highly skilled? I’ve seen him kick some good goals but he misses more than he hits. The fact is most of our side has sub standard skills.

MarkT said:
Rusling looks exciting.

Define exciting.

He achieved no more than Egan in season 2005, yet you rave about Rusling and bag Egan mercilessly for a couple of clangers borne out of youthful exuberance.

We have developed plenty of quality players in the past 2-3 seasons - Rowe, Maxwell, Swan, H Shaw, Fanning, Rusling, Egan, Davies, T Cloke, C Cloke, etc. This young list is the foundation of our next climb up the ladder, along with our new kids, and the return to form (hopefully) of Fraser R Shaw Tarrant Richards etc.

hotpie said:
Define exciting.
Fair enough. In regards to Rusling, he has the pace, leap and hands and kicking ability combined with the timing to indicate to me he could be a very damaging player and eventually slot into the top 10 or so on our list. His build for a young player looks good. His pace in particular adds a dimension we lack. I think in a few years when the balls goes toward him Collingwood people will stand up and anticipate something happening.
hotpie said:
He achieved no more than Egan in season 2005,
I can’t agree. He showed he could lead mark and kick and that he can use his pace. He showed poise and most of all I liked the way he held back leads and when he led and was not honoured he double and triple led. I haven’t seen that from a young Collingwood player for as long as I can remember.
hotpie said:
yet you rave about Rusling and bag Egan mercilessly for a couple of clangers borne out of youthful exuberance.
That's an exaggeration. In any case, it isn't youthful exuberance that concerns me it is AFL poise. Rusling showed it and Eagan didn't. I am not writing Eagan off however I do say he hasn’t shown anything yet. That's all. He could go either way. I am more confident about Rusling. That may mean SFA but it's my view.
hotpie said:
We have developed plenty of quality players in the past 2-3 seasons - Rowe, Maxwell, Swan, H Shaw, Fanning, Rusling, Egan, Davies, T Cloke, C Cloke, etc. This young list is the foundation of our next climb up the ladder, along with our new kids, and the return to form (hopefully) of Fraser R Shaw Tarrant Richards etc.
Good grief. Rowe is a bit like Egan. Sometimes lacks poise and wastes the ball. Maxwell I like. Swan I am warming to. Heath I'll reserve judgement on. He has a hell of a long way to go though. Not close to our best 22. Fanning I reckon is a long shot. Ordinary ruckman at best and clueless bordering on scared at times. Davies looks promising. Good rookie get. C3 I really like. C2 you know I like too (many don't) but a couple of shoulder reco's might make it very tough for him. That's not the club's fault though.

All in all that is an ordinary lot and that is why we are where we are. Too few and too light on.

MarkT said:
Too few and too light on.

Maybe but better late than never. I think its a good foundation. Certainly better than a list full of the likes of McGough King B Morrison McKee Kinnear Nixon etc. The number of duds is quickly dwindling.

Throw in O'Brien and this years batch, and we may have something to build on (for once).

The glass is half full, not half empty.

Sometimes he reminds me of Marvin the Paranoid Android

Buzz killer? Maybe. The sooner our club brings accountability to the fore and the sooner we set our standards higher the sooner will win premierships as opposed to lose grand finals and slide down the ladder. Collingwood football Club embraces mediocrity and fails to act decisively or effectively. We have a finically focussed board who CANNOT manage football matters sufficiently. The answer to second last was more heads. Make more money to hire more people. How about sack people who aren’t performing and get better ones. How about no more excuses. Results count and our’s scream.

hotpie said:
Sometimes he reminds me of Marvin the Paranoid Android
Mate let me assure you that I have steadfastly defended Collingwood here, on other boards, at work, at school, in pubs and anywhere else you care to name. I can assure you my more recent pessimism is exactly that. I have seen us in 7 grand finals live since 1977 for 1 win and 1 draw. Not once have I seen our club react to a loss by addressing the reasons we lost and what do you know it all went around again in 2002 and FMD then again in 2003.

It's time for Collingwood supporters to be counted. Go to the AGM and have your say. Positive or negative. Our board have to be shaken up and voices are the way to do it. Support them or otherwise but don't be apathetic. The more that gets debated the better. The more the board knows we care and demand success the better. The board has to be more accountable IMO. Disagree if you like.

Notice I said supporters? Buy a social club membership or use another forum. Write to the club. Email them. Send a carrier pigeon. Hire a signwriter. Streak on the MCG with a message on your bum.

As a famous coach once said:
DO SOMETHING!