Wobbie's World

Originally posted by -PC28-
Been to the Fairy Park & Dino park, and also that huge castle thingy...

Hedge Maze, Stuffed horses, a public hanging... No idea what its called though...

Kryal Castle?

Got lost in the maze when I was five...

I'm still there.

Originally posted by vanders
There was also another one that my dad use to take me and my brothers too every 2nd weekend.

It was on the way to Phillip Island, I aint 100% sure what it was called, it might be the Swagman??? i dunno.

It had heaps of ****, it was phat.

'The Swagmans Hat' or something, was what it was called. Went there once, about 6 or 7 years ago. It had go-karts, ball pits and other dodgy stuff. It had alot of empty land though. Sadly I don't think it's still with us.

When we resurrect AFL park in 20 years time we are going to get all the Historically significant items that are spurned at the moment.

'Wobbies' or 'Piss weak world' will be there. The softball stadium from altona too (complete with a few of those thistel things which grow out there.

The Yellow peril, Gas & Fuel, Bits of victoria park will be there for all to survey. (we might even have bits of federation square if its demolished by then)

The dog track. Footy memorabilia will include Jason Dunstalls leather cap from 1990, A 'Mullets galery' of reconstructed heads from the eighties. Jackos teeth, Wokkas shorts (see if you can fit into them, little boy) and Dermies yellow boots.

The dog track, and 'z' class trams will circle the site.

I can hardly wait. 70's gear optional.

PS Nobody mentioned "Carribean Gardens" or the "swagman" - Pure class. Or 'bunratty castle', The 'giant earthworm'

Oh, and any "Big" things (Ram, Pineapple, Prawn) etc will be lapped up and displayed. Along with the centrepiece, the "big" Hawthorn shirt (long sleeved of course)

How many 'big' things are there in Australia? Seems like every region has a big something. I've been to the Big Orange, seen the Big Sultana and the Big Wine Cask, the Big Ram, the big Cod, blimey the list goes on and on!

And then there's all the 'Great' things. Great Barrier Reef, Great Ocean Road, Great Australian Bite, Great Sandy Desert.

It's all big, it's all great.

Originally posted by Danny Chook Fan Club
Oy! No half measures!

Check out the cars for the part that's right
You're sure to find it; there's hundreds on site
Then you strip the car for the parts you need
(pick-a-part pick-a-part pick-a-part pick-a-part)
But do it carefully, cos there's no warranty

Fussell Road, Kilsyth - seven days a week
Entry's free and everything's cheap

I've always wondered about that "entry's free" line. Is there a car graveyard down the road charging admission or something?

Beautiful work DCFC
Here's one I've always been a little bit proud of:

We're the mechanics from Lube Mobile
We come to fix your car
Turren Turren Turrah
Trust the boys from Lube Mobile
From a tune up to an engine... overhaul
We fixed the car
<They fixed the car>
They fixed the car
<They fixed the car>
For the clutch or the brakes
or a full inspection
at Lube Mobile we come.....
to you
Lube Mobile
<Lube Mobile>

And yes, spent an afternoon at Wobbies World as a tacker. We begged the old man to take us on that 2 hour drive for a month - "Can you take us to Mount Splashmore" always reminds me of this). My main memory is of getting in trouble for crashing this big yellow bobcat thing into a wall.

Oooh oooh can I play the ad game?
Not quite as old or as impressive, but I've always remembered the peanut butter ad with the oily elvis

Since my baby spread me
I didn't spread so good
I didn't have that peanut taste
That peanut butter should (uh uh oh baby)
I've been so oily baby
I've been so oily (oh oh oh)
(thankyou thankyou very much)

Heh, and of course decore

de de de decore de de decore de de decore
when I shampoo my hair
I really love
my decore
Oh I, I love the feeling
So does the family oh yeah....
de de de decore de de decore de de decore
Mind you, I think that one's been on again recently.

*ahem*
*controls self*
pick apart? I thought forever that they were saying "everything's free and everything's cheap" and I just didn't understand it until I actually said it out loud and got the "entry is free" understood.

I never went to Wobbie's world. I always desperately wanted to, but it was too far away, so my parents never took me. I did go past it one day a few years ago, and realised how dodgy it must have been. Please tell me it didn't cost to get in.

Wobbies World, it was grouse when you're a pre-schooler, but it got gradually more sad as you got older and became the thing of adolesent ridicule.

Wobbies World, it was so bad, it was good, a true camp classic.

About advertisments, does anyone remember that skit on "the Late Show" about that sad ad for Sandhurst Machinery in Bendigo ?, (I remember John Farnham, re-working their jingle) and the funny thing was that same ad, that the D generation was taking the piss out of, was on Bendigo's channel 8

Sandhurst Machinery, has everything you're looking for
We've got power tools and and things that sand :confused: ?
And friendly blokes that'll lend a hand
Sandhurst machinery, has everything you're looking for.

Also for those in the Albury area, do you remember those Bargain Booze Barn ads, with Barney (some fat bloke in a yellow chicken suit) and that ad's wen't (Melbourne Bitter slabs now $25.95 CHEEP CHEEP, you have to be a local to get that), those ads, like Wobbies World were so sad, they were bloody funny, but sadly, ads and theme parks of that quality are no longer with us :( .

Originally posted by Wayde Petersen

Sandhurst Machinery, has everything you're looking for
We've got power tools and and things that sand :confused: ?
And friendly blokes that'll lend a hand
Sandhurst machinery, has everything you're looking for.

I think All Tools had a variation on that theme:

Things that chop, things that cut,
Things that get you out of a rut,
All Tools, All Tools

One of my all time fave jingles was the Stan Cash theme:

If you want to save cash,
come to the great Stan Cash.

It was very avant-garde to rhyme cash with cash in my opinion (or plain stupid)

A relative of mine who used to go to Wobbie's as a kid had this to say, when I sent him the url:

"That email certainly did bring back some memories, gettin a bit vague though. Some people wrote quite harshly of it! Boy, if i could get my hands on them! :D I can remember the last time i went there and the last ride i went on. It was the bobcat ride where u got to actually drive a small bobcat in an enclosed area. The year before i went, i was too short, and remember seeing the bigger kids play on it. Don't think i was tall enough that time either actually, i think i snuck in! lol. But anyway, where else could u get on an ocean going airplane and watch a movie? What other theme park has a simulated helicopter ride? The theme parks on the Gold Coast can have all their artificial rides! "

My God - Childhood flashbacks!!!! Some good, like Fairy Land. I loved that place as a kid. I was actually thinking of taking my 3 year old there, but I'm scared it will be crap now and shatter all those happy memories!!!
Wobbies World - Enough said!!:confused:

Originally posted by Wayde Petersen

Bendigo's channel 8

Good old TV8, its now onto its umptenth name chanage,went to Southern Cross then to Ten Victoria and now onto Southern Cross Ten. Can't they just make up their mind:confused:

Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
The Dinosaur Park is in Creswick-by memory it's just a picnic ground with some concrete dinosaurs. Gumbuyah Park-I actually fell off the toboggan ride and ripped my footy jumper when I was 10. Kryal Castle is great as well-any place where the 'whipping of the wench' is a major attraction is OK with me.
hee hee I like this thread but listen- what was AFL Park? To my amusement I'm picturing an AFL theme park.
I don't know any old ads but a current one gave me a laugh 'cause I didn't know what a Jayco (pardon the spelling:D ) was at first and I loved the "Tell them where to go, Tony"

Originally posted by Curly5
But anyway, where else could u get on an ocean going airplane and watch a movie? "

I got on that plane and buckled up my seatbelt as I was always taught to do. I dunno why, the plane wasn't going anywhere.

But when the movie got boring and I tried to go, I was stuck and couldn't unbuckle that rusty old seat belt. There weren't any Wobbies World staff in that plane to help me and I started to cry.

I can't actually remember how I got out of that predicament but it soured my opinion of Nunawading.

Originally posted by madboy
Has anybody been to any of the "Big" things around the country. Personally, I've been to the Big Koala (the whole family was sick there), and Rove's favourite, the Big Pineapple!

Haha - yes. Should read Bill Bryson's book "Down Under", he is very funny in his analysis of Australia's obsession with "BIG" attractions.