Oct 5, 2004
Rochester FC, Waroona FC, Pacers
What should we do with him?

He had 30 odd possessions on the weekend and kicked 3 goals. Do we bring him back in or leave him in the VFL?

I'd rather play a young Yakka or Davies than him. He is getting on a bit and is slowing down, and we have to look towards the future.

Thoughts?

Leave him in the seconds for another week or two. Promote him on form alone but if a young player like Yakka has superior or equal form, then prefer the younger player. Having Woey Cole Lonie H Shaw Lokan and others putting pressure on the senior players is a very good thing. Look at the form of Swan Rowe and O'Bree. They know one false move and they're dropped, and for some of them being dropped could be the end of your career.

Play Woewodin. He is a gun. If he has 30 possies for williamstown and 3 goals. I say give him another chance and im sure that he will play good and hopfully have another 30 odd possie game.

Alkaline said:
Maxwell or Swan.

Swan had 23 possessions and played the best game of his career. Maxwell is required as our fourth tall defender and against the tall Gellong forwards Kingsley Ottens Thurley Gardiner King and Playfair, he will be a required player.

Try again

hotpie said:
Swan had 23 possessions and played the best game of his career. Maxwell is required as our fourth tall defender and against the tall Gellong forwards Kingsley Ottens Thurley Gardiner King and Playfair, he will be a required player.

Try again
30 possies> 23 possies

I was talking to a Collingwood official only 2 days ago and when I asked about Woey he said he certainly looks to be trade bait at years end. Anyone want to keep him? Ive spoken to alot of Pie fans and they all wanna ditch him..

jimmy35 said:
Wont hurt for Woey to have another week or two at Williamstown. Cant really see the need to replace anyone at the moment. Another good game or two wont do him any harm.

exactly

might be time for Julian to have a spell at Willy, get some genuine game time under his belt

id like to see Woey back and firing, not cruising and feeling comfortable in his position as he was at the beginning of the season

Rowe is the only player that to me might get a rest though even he played well on the weekend. Rusling was quiet in his debut maybe give him some more time at Willy but i would like to keep him in there. Lockyer has also been good after a few quiet weeks same goes for Obree. Who ever said Swan is an idiot.

I won't lose any sleep if Woewodin never wears a black and white jumper agian. He is slow and we lack pace. We can't improve our weaknesses if we bring in more slow players. Personally I'd like to get rid of a few more.

We have three main weaknesses. Pace, Skill and Agression. Woewdodin has skill but mostly when not under pressure. He can play out the yeat at Willi until we need to rest the younguns and then he can play unaccountable footy to remind trade partners he can play a bit. He can't be part of the long term plans.

Hotpie i wouldnt drop anyone, i was just sayin hes paid his dues and he deserves one more chance, i didnt say for him to come in this week but yes.. its a tough situation..

Rowe needs a full game in willi uniform i reckon even though he is my favourite player but just to get some game time under the belt i reckon..

But yes, tough deicision very tough..

Alkaline.. Drop Swan?.. Your a f**kn Tool

Why change? the only change I see is C2 for Fanning. Reward the current team for their 2 wins by leaving it unchanged. Woey can stay in the twos forever just like Mark said. Keep rotating the younguns through first if they have similar form.

BTW Woey had 23 possessions and 3 goals (2 from frees)

Ben Davies had 31 possessions

I guess I began this thread to gauge where his career is at.

He has a few years left, but I don't see him fitting in with our list of untried and tried (a few games) youngsters. Next year we are likely to get another batch of 4-5 young players (with a focus on quick midfielders) and I don't see him holding his spot.

I think he should play in the VFL until we are statistically out of finals contention and then play him to get his trade value up. I think there would be a few clubs that would have a look at him.

Bring him back...is in our best 22 easily.

Woewodin