Work Experience

magic_johnson!

Ahh, work experience. Did you do it? Where did you do it? Did you like it? Did you learn anything from it? Did you persue a career in a similar pathway?

I have it set up for the first week of term 4, after i get home from Japan at an architecture studio.

I'd be interested to hear how you went, magic johnson. What did they get you to do? Did you enjoy it? Did you find it boring? Will you continue to pursue it as a career?

I work in the architecture/construction industry and we quite often have yr 10 work experience kids for a week. We mostly get them to do filing of drawings and jobs in the office, if we have site visits we take them along, sometimes we get them to play around on the CAD program, and other times we get them to try their hand at manual drafting.

Most of them are quite, polite and do whatever is asked of them. However, this week's kid had his DAD call us this morning to say he won't be coming in til Friday as he would prefer to be at school than with us!

Lots of things wrong here - first, have the balls to make the phone call yourself. Second - what does he expect in the workplace? Fun and games?? Sorry buddy but real life in the workforce isn't going to be all excitement and craziness or whatever the hell else you expected.

Is it just a common thing for kids these days to just think if they don't like something, then they don't have to endure it? It's work experience for cryin out loud - it's ONE WEEK out of your whole life - it ain't gonna kill you. Stick it out - it will build character if nothing else.

Another trend among the work experience kids is that they seem to think it's perfectly acceptable to wear their ipods around the office.

I'd be interested to hear other people's experiences............

Have my work experience in 2 weeks, although i did spend some time in an architecutre office in Japan (2 weeks). Was quite fun, but got a bit boring. Spent most of my time working on the CAD software. Was a bit restricting language wise :p

I did mine at TRS and got offered the job right away. 4 years on and I am still there.

However atm, I am looking for work experience for 2010 in an IT company for my University cooperative learning. Hopefully, this will set up my career. Maybe someone will pop up with something.:p

I think university work experience is very different to Year 10 wprk experience, as by uni most people are locked into a career path and the work experience supplements the course. In year 10, i did work experience at a book publisher. At uni, I did architecture then did my compulsory year out at a small firm in 2002.............7 years later i'm still there!

TRS Pretty good pay considering what these casual jobs at fast food stores pay.

Cheers mate. Geez they've got heaps of stores in & around Melbourne in which I knew absolutely nothing about; might have to check out the store one day for some bargains! :cool:

I went to a radio station (Groove FM) had a great time, unfortunatly the school burned the relationship and couldnt get any more work experiance out of them, i rang them up personally and they took me again because i was turning up every night and staying till 11.30, most kids were just not turning up and not taking anything serious, so the radio station gave up on everybody bar 2-3 guys

Unfortunatly its shut down now

Cheers mate. Geez they've got heaps of stores in & around Melbourne in which I knew absolutely nothing about; might have to check out the store one day for some bargains! :cool:

No probs. Increasing every year, new stores and greater profits.

Did a few lots many moons ago. One with a barister in the city. Decided I hated law as it was boring as batshit, and changed my intended career path. So, not all bad.

I worked as a photographer at the Hearld Sun for work experience. Met a lot of football stars such as Jack Ziebell and the sports photographers. Also took photos down at Melbourne, Richmond, Kanagroos training. Also took photographs for the RSPCA and the ballet companies.

Helped me out with my portfolio.
Best experience ever and defiantly a future job in the future!

Can I ask where you're doing it?
James Deans and Associates in Geelong. Know them?

Alot of the traits you mentioned are quite expectant. Most people are coming from school with no idea how the work life works. They are used to arguing with their teachers and such. Some classes you are allowed ipods also.

I did mine (high school version) in an IT department in an office. It was shit boring, all it taught me was that I didn't want to do IT anymore.

I did mine with my uncle as a builder, was hard work but got $250 for the week, i earnt the most money in my year level as most people got paid like $5 a day! which was the minimum pay.

I did mostly labouring jobs, pouring concrete, moving material from point a to point b, but helped a chippy construct a small steel office got to use the forklift it was like a giant mechanio set. And on the last day got to use the bobcat which was fun as.

Post office. That's right, a small town post office in country Victoria. That was my year 10 work experience and it was suprisingly interesting to see how the system works, although I couldn't have survived longer than a week.

Year 11 (we do two lots in country Vic, one in town in year 10 and one in the city in year 11) I went to the AEU publishing department as a journalist. Started okay but lost interest by the end because I found it tough interviewing people as a year 11.

Next lot was third year uni, went to a regional paper and the contacts I made there got me a job straight out of uni, which can be tough as a journo student.

As for experiences with kids coming in, sometimes it can be tough to find things for them to do because journalism involves a lot of talking to contacts and research. They mainly get puff pieces, which is easier to do if they're a uni student than a high school student.

What most kids need to know is that they need to be able to communicate and not be too shy (nor too outgoing) to make an impact. It's the mature kids that do well.

many years ago i travelled around the north east coast of tasmania with a sparky and got to crawl around in rat infested ceilings and also cut out downlights and exhaust fans with a handsaw for a week. I did not subsequently become a sparky.

I did mine with my uncle as a builder, was hard work but got $250 for the week, i earnt the most money in my year level as most people got paid like $5 a day! which was the minimum pay.

I didn't even get this from a rich barister. :mad: Tight arse campaignerhole.