Society & Culture working in the mines

Angus Young

does anyone have any info on working in the mines??

im looking for a job where i can earn a lot of cash in a year or so.. dont care where or what it is'or hours..night shift or location

some mentioned the mines...

is it possible without experience??

thanks

im looking for a job where i can earn a lot of cash in a year or so.. dont care where or what it is'or hours..night shift or location

thanks

Depends on where you want to work. I work in the OneSteel iron ore mines, 50 kays out of Whyalla ( South Aus )

I travel in a bus there and back every shift, but i am at home everyday after work. My basic wage is around 100k a year, then theres overtime.

Other remote mines, particularly in W.A. or Queens, you basically have to stay in a camp or mess. Then they fly you out to the nearest capital when you have your time off. These type of mines you can really earn the big bucks. Upwards of 150k for just being a dump truck driver. Control room operators earn more.

But you cant really walk into these jobs anymore without any kind of qualifications, unless your the bosses relative. Any kind of ticket you can get, ie- truck licence, forklift licence, etc.........all help mightily. Its money well spent to secure a gold mine in wages later on.

If you want to earn big bucks, you have to look at working with the big company's. And be prepared to be away from home. It's no good working for that little quarry down the road. You may aswell flip burgers for Maccas.

If you want any extra info, PM me. I might be able to help if your more specific in your needs.

I worked in the outback of Qld coal mining area.(Managing some construction contracts for coal miners and government)
Rents where high,($300 per week plus for caravan park space,3 year waiting list,$500 a week for a dog kennel) the young locals all dreamed of trying to get a job in the mines and couldn't.(they worked as labourers about $48K)
Old miners wanting to retire where enticed to stay on with reduced shifts (for some reason they didnt want to take on kids but constantly complained about ageing work forces.( I suspect you don't want to employ healthy, non smoking kids, give them coal dust induced,lung cancer and have to pay them out in 30 years time)
Truck driving jobs went to the wives of electricians and plumbers to keep them happy and keep them in town.They were on contracts so when it rained and the mines flooded they get sent home for a few weeks no pay( not great for the mortgage payments)
People spent thousands on mining induction courses and got no work.
The adds inside BHP head office, had secret websites, where you got your mate or family a job if you worked for them.(keep you happy and willing to stay longer).
Old ladys worked in Coles, KFC and Chinese takeaways.(who else would work for $3 an hour)
Drag queens ran the tip
It was fight night down the pub every night.
Everybody had the lastest bogan bling to try and make there miserable lives happier.
My mate was working as a concreter under ground for 5 years he got run over by a tired miner, who had done too many 10 hour shifts.
He came out of the mines with $60K credit card debt a 2 year old commodore,a boat and a limp (luckily he got a pay out paid of his debt and bought a house (he still has the limp)
A lot of miners died driving home after 10 hour shifts for a few weeks,(they bought in buses for some)

Its a strange little universe, but I would imagine different areas had different systems.
For me
It was an entertaining little culture shift(short term)
I hated the lifestyle and the location.Money was good.(more to life than money though)

thanks

Well qualifications and experience count for alot however....you can get a job with one of the catering companies like ESS or Spotless and hopefully land a spot on a construction site, where a mine is in the process of been built...that's a 4 week on 1 week off style roster and you can earn roughly 90K plus, even for a kitchenhand or a room cleaner..so I've heard.

Or you could do what I did and work for a drilling company, starting as a lowly offsider. Some companies are paying $250 a day (not bad dosh...I did earn $2K in a week though I was a trainee..still its pretty reasonable money), maybe more maybe less, I heard awhile back that some were paying $300 a day without meter bonus which is not to be sniffed at...depending on the company (Ausdrill, Boart Longyear, Swick etc etc).

Rosters vary according to the company and whether it's a bush job (drilling in the middle of nowhere away from any real amenities) or a minesite based job.

If you want to drive dump trucks, well it helps knowing someone who already does and they can give you a hand in getting into a greenie programme (training up to drive the trucks) Anywhere between $80K to $120K can be had.

Haha, look at the comments!

New study by clueless industry group says lots of mining jobs
http://www.news.com.au/business/bus...a-study-shows/comments-e6frfm9r-1225857495071

David g of baxter Posted at 3:39 PM Today
i keep hearing about thousands of jobs on offer in WA but cant find any links to actually apply
Also Keen as Mustard Posted at 3:40 PM Today
Yes, Where do you go to apply for these jobs?
Remi of Perth Posted at 3:41 PM Today
These jobs are all "10 years experience and your soul" jobs. They don't hire newcomers.
Geoff of Melbourne Posted at 3:41 PM Today
yep where ar all these jobs. I have looked many times for mining jobs over there. So far i have found 0 willing to train anyone.

You need to know someone or have qualifications in a specific area that is in high demand.
You live in the middle of no where with expensive rates, easy to get bored in your time off. Go down to the local pub blow your money on drinks and punting. The money is good, but like anything it is not all smooth sailing, with great pay increase comes a lot of other negatives.

thanks

Give St Kilda a try

Work in the mines bah....glad I don't do that anymore.

YOu won't get mining jobs without contacts. Ask any taxi driver in Perth. most of them haev been working taxis for years looking to get work up north.