13. Cap Nou stadium, Spain, 98,000
14. Melbourne Cricket Ground, Australia, 97,474

1. Here are some pictures of the world's biggest stadium in North Korea:
mayday.jpg

2. And here is a picture of the world's second biggest stadium in Iran:
azadi.jpg

3. And here are two pictures of the world's third biggest stadium in Brazil:
rj_maracana.jpg

I am pretty sure that the Maracana Stadium in Brazil could hold in excess of 200,000 people? :confused: I always thought that was the biggest stadium by far, but maybe some soccer fanatic or someone in the know could confirm or scuttle me? :cool:

The Hitman

Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
Yeah I thought they could get 200 grand into the Brazilian stadium, too. Though I only heard this once or twice, and back in about 1996ish.

Maybe they introduced H&S since then ... no fans in the aisles etc etc.

The record crowd was at the Maracana for the 1950 World Cup final, where 199,954 crammed into the stadium.

Since then however the stadium has become nearly an all-seater, hence the massive drop in capacity.

It's a good website that one, I think I referred to it when we were talking about the MCG redevelopment.

That worldstadiums site has only one lame partial picture of the MCG showing one stand, but two speccie shots of Stadium Australia from the air

The Maracana is now in danger of collapse, only fifty years after it was built. Apparantly, on the terraces, the Brasillians have a habit of relieving themselves where they stand. This is supposedly cos there are so few toilets. The acid in the urine, in such large ammounts, has caused the stadium to get concrete cancer (like the kind that the old southern stand had @ MCG).

Now the govt of Brasil has to decide whether it is cheaper to tear it down and build a modern one, or to fix the old one. The Maracana has a great history, but the sightlines are not the best (it is almost exactly circular to watch a game played on a rectangle), and neither are the amenities. Still, it is a great stadium, and I'd personally like to see it continue. However if Brasil hope to get a decent crack at hosting the World Cup again, I think they will need more modern stadiums.

Darrell K. Royal Memorial Stadium in Austin, Texas and Neyland Stadium in Knoxville, Tennessee are both college stadiums in the U.S. that recently expanded their capacities to over 100,000.

The University of Penn State's stadium is currently at about 94,000; it is slated to expand to over 100,000 in the next two years.

I don't know why, but the world's biggest stadium, to me, just doesn't look the biggest. Its probably because its such a massive stadium ground area wise that in the photo it looks small in comparison to stadiums who rise quite high.

Vis

Just out of interest as anyone been to any of these stadiums, or any other famous stadiums around the world?

A guy from the soccer club I play for has been to the Maracana (for the World Club Championships when South Melbourne were playing) and he said it's very impressive, but pretty out of date.

I've been to Wembley, but just on a tour. I hope the redevelopment happens, but it will be pretty hard to recreate the atmosphere of the 'old' Wembley. The best part about the tour is at the end they play all this crowd noise through the ground speakers as you get to hold up the FA Cup where the Queen presents it! :D :p

By the way - useless Wembley fact. Most injuries - 1,100 at a Guns'n'Roses concert. Most people fainting - 2,000 at a Bros concert :p :p :p :D

I've been to the World Cup Stadium in France. Pretty speccy but I didn't really get a feel of the atmosphere as there wasn't a game being played. Been to the MCG once, WACA heaps and Subiaco heaps. Those are the only stadiums I've visited.

Went to Maracana over 10 years ago for a H&A game between Flamengo and Fluminense, the carlton collingwood of rio soccer.

110,000 people. Most of the stadium at the time was neithe standing or seated but a narrow concrete bench about 6'' wide (no backrest) that you sit on. Thats probably how there used to be 160,000 capacity but now is much less, as seats have been installed.

That was the top deck, the lower deck was more 'comfortable' with seats - there were many empty ones below the 'drip' line and not occupied for obvious reasons (see 'still crowing' for the reason - its true - it was dripping but there were clear skies !)

Went to wembley in the 70's for FA cup final Liverpool v Newcastle - two very vocal groups of supporters. Excellent day out but I was young - apparently wembley also suffers from a lack of toilets somewhat. Apparently is hard to get to and not central. Millenium stadium looks excellent.

I still think AFL lends itself to Huge crowds as it's not as 'subtle' as soccer. We have spent big bucks recently and we could have had a stadium at least 120,000 capacity. Ah Well.

Yep I thought Eden Gardens could hold around 100,000, although that figure could easily be reduced if there are any fires in the grandstand!:eek:

Was Stadium Australia listed on the website, prior to it's redevelopments? Because that held over 100,000.

Top Post Dan!
if the MCG capacity is 97,500, how did they fir 98,800 people into the 97 grand final? I thought standing was prohibited now at the MCG!

But its a great post Dan, thanks for the site too! ;)

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Of course, at the top of that list, if it had ever been allowed to be completed, would have been our own VFL Park, with a capacity of 166,000! :eek:

But the AFL would closed it so it wouldn't be on the list anyway.

Originally posted by TheMase
I question again ... why the hell did they only build 55000 seats at Colonial!!!!

Did you want Colonial to be the biggest stadium in the world or something?

Anyway, I reckon that Colonial should have had a capacity of 72,000 and not had a roof.

Got no problem with the limited capacity of Colonial. We don't need TWO 100,000 seats stadiums. It would never be filled.

Perhaps, it would be better if it held 65,000, but then again it would cost more.

It's a good site, World Stadiums
I thought you guys might be interested in another great site, similar to World Stadiums, but based on football crowds of every football code round the world. It's World Football Rankings @ http://www.worldfootballrankings.com

Like World Stadiums, it's got a huge amount of information. Melbourne's rated as the World's top Football city, Sydney somehow is rated the World's 4th Football city (I don't know if us Sydneysiders are all that dedicated football supporters, regardless of the code!).