Worst Injury

happy_in_hell

Melb Demons
This is a thread to discuss your worst injury - can be sporting, whatever.

To start off:

My worst injury would have to be 'rupturing two out of three tendons in my ankle' (The specialist's words)

This injury was received whilst enjoying a bout of trampolining with a mate. I now know why only one person is supposed to be on the trampoline at one time as when he went up, the indent in the trampoline caused my foot to roll left, then right.

The initial pain was bad, but once being told it was not broken, I took my show off and left it for an hour. BAD MISTAKE! Looking at it later, my ankle had swollen to the size of a tennis ball and to the doctors i was rushed. Upon being told to go to hospital to get x-rays, a break was not found. However, the doctors and nurse had no idea how to properly treat my injury so:

- 2 weeks with a back slab (a piece of plaster at the back of the foot and ankle, keeping it at a 90 degree angle)

- 2 weeks with nothing on it

- as still not healed, 2 weeks with a full fibreglass cast on it.

- 2 weeks still on crutches undertaking physio.

Therefore 8 weeks after the injury (including a bone scan before the fibreglass cast), at my last appointment with the hospital, a specialist (whom i had never seen before) told me i had 'ruptured two out of three tendons' in my ankle.

This is the only time I have been on crutches (and the first in my immediate family to do so.

The only other injury I have had would be my bout of appendecitis where i was subject to the rigours of the public hospital system (although I was and had a letter stating i should be in the private hospital next door) - but that is for another time!

Anyone else have any injuries (and the recovery) they would like to share? - make it gory, make it interesting!

:eek:! Ouchie! My injuries dont really compare to that.. but anyway..

In year eight I had a table tennis table dropped on my right thigh. It left a bruise about the size of one of those mini-footballs you used to be able to get from Maccas. Anyway this bruise was black, blue, purple, red.. if only I had taken a photo of it.

Ever been kicked in the guts by a horse? I have. Its what happens when you're hungover and trying to wrangle your horse in from the paddock so you can saddle up and go for a ride to clear your head. Dont try this at home, kiddies.

I had a border collie bite my left hand and I ended up with my 'rude finger' being split open all the way down and four puncture marks in various places. I also had a beagle jump a fence, run across the road and go me when I was bending down to tie my shoelace up. I still bear the scar on my right thigh. Funnily enough, those two breeds are supposed to be two of the friendliest you'll ever come across. Dobermans and staffies love me to death. :confused:

I also have hereditary arthritis in my left knee. I'm only 17. No fair. :( Imagine someone driving a white hot nail through your knee cap. Thats what happens when it gets cold, or if I sit down cross-legged for too long.

Funnily enough, I've never broken a bone in my life.

This isnt that good but...

I was in grade two and my friend had a bike. I wanted to see if I could run faster then he could ride. We both took our starting positions and I called out "ready, set.... GO!"

Ten metres up and I wanted to see how i was going so I turned my head to the side to see how I was going (not bad after 10 I must say:)). One step later.... BANG! I hit my head on a steel Netball post. I was knocked unconceous (sp?) and I was raced into hospital. I bleed a bit but not enough to have my head strapped up.

Never broken a bone so that was the sickest thing I could think of.

This summer at the cricket my friend, dad, sister and I went to the cricket. It was hot and we had been there all day. I happened to be the last day of the Boxing day test so a presentation followed. We had been standing for about 15 minuted and my friend was facing the crowd. Then he fainted. No people were sitting in front of us and he fell back. Hit his head on the top of the seat in front and then fell. His legs were still on our seats and his head wasd on the concrete on the other side of the chair.

Then his head went in between the bottom of the chair and the concrete. His eyes were rolling and everything. Pretty bad - you had to be there. If anyone on this board helped us get the ambo's thanks again.

Yea so thats it :D

Funny you say you worst injury happened on a trampoline, HIH.

I remember the date of my worst injury clearly. It was September the 18th, 1998. I was jumping on the trampoline with my football, doing “Chris Grant” marks and aerobic displays. It happened on Friday evening at around 5:30, hours before the North Melbourne and Melbourne Preliminary Final was on.

I was excited that the Bulldogs had made their second straight Preliminary Final, and I had a feeling the Bulldogs won’t let me down this time – so I continued to play out Chris Grant awesome marks.

I got bored of throwing the ball up, springing off from the trampoline, take a mark and landing on my back, so I decided to do something different.

What made this is worse is the fact that I had socks on (slippery). I through the ball up, I went to jump off the trampoline casually, but the socks caused me to slip, and I feel off the side of the trampoline into a garden bed surrounded by pointy rocks. I landed on my left arm, which landed on the pointy rock. My initial reaction was damn those socks. But as I looked at my arm, I was all blurry, and it took three second to notice that my arm wasn’t in the same shape as it was three seconds ago.

Thinking I had just dislocated my arm (it looked like a half pipe), I ran inside yelling “mum, mum”. My mother isn’t a fan of looking at other people’s injuries, so she hesitated and immediately rang the neighbour from across the road.

The neighbour was a nurse in her early career, and walked inside and said “You’ve dislocated your arm.” I was thinking, tell me something I don’t know. But I thought to myself that the pain was too excruciating for it to just be dislocated, so I told the neighbour and she had a closer look at my arm and noticed bleeding from underneath my arm.

Anyhow, my mother rushed me to the Werribee hospital, about three minutes away, and they took me in straight away, as they could see how bad the injury was.

After 2 hours in the Werribee hospital, I was ambulanced to the Children’s hospital, as the doctors had told my mother and I that I had broken my arm in two places, the bleeding being caused by the bone protruding through my arm.

I was told I needed an operation, so whilst in theatre, the Melbourne and Kangas Preliminary Final was on, and here I was having an operation.

I ended up spending the Bulldogs’ game in hospital, listening on the radio as the Bulldogs got their asses kicked.

Oh, what a day that was. :(

I was in plaster for six weeks, and for the first two weeks I had to keep my arm pointing upwards when I was sleeping (so my elbow was holding up my arm, resting it on the bed with my fingers pointing to the roof).

Originally posted by X_box_X
Funny you say you worst injury happened on a trampoline, HIH.

I remember the date of my worst injury clearly. It was September the 18th, 1998. I was jumping on the trampoline with my football, doing “Chris Grant” marks and aerobic displays. It happened on Friday evening at around 5:30, hours before the North Melbourne and Melbourne Preliminary Final was on.

I was excited that the Bulldogs had made their second straight Preliminary Final, and I had a feeling the Bulldogs won’t let me down this time – so I continued to play out Chris Grant awesome marks.

I got bored of throwing the ball up, springing off from the trampoline, take a mark and landing on my back, so I decided to do something different.

What made this is worse is the fact that I had socks on (slippery). I through the ball up, I went to jump off the trampoline casually, but the socks caused me to slip, and I feel off the side of the trampoline into a garden bed surrounded by pointy rocks. I landed on my left arm, which landed on the pointy rock. My initial reaction was damn those socks. But as I looked at my arm, I was all blurry, and it took three second to notice that my arm wasn’t in the same shape as it was three seconds ago.

Thinking I had just dislocated my arm (it looked like a half pipe), I ran inside yelling “mum, mum”. My mother isn’t a fan of looking at other people’s injuries, so she hesitated and immediately rang the neighbour from across the road.

The neighbour was a nurse in her early career, and walked inside and said “You’ve dislocated your arm.” I was thinking, tell me something I don’t know. But I thought to myself that the pain was too excruciating for it to just be dislocated, so I told the neighbour and she had a closer look at my arm and noticed bleeding from underneath my arm.

Anyhow, my mother rushed me to the Werribee hospital, about three minutes away, and they took me in straight away, as they could see how bad the injury was.

After 2 hours in the Werribee hospital, I was ambulanced to the Children’s hospital, as the doctors had told my mother and I that I had broken my arm in two places, the bleeding being caused by the bone protruding through my arm.

I was told I needed an operation, so whilst in theatre, the Melbourne and Kangas Preliminary Final was on, and here I was having an operation.

I ended up spending the Bulldogs’ game in hospital, listening on the radio as the Bulldogs got their asses kicked.

Oh, what a day that was. :(

I was in plaster for six weeks, and for the first two weeks I had to keep my arm pointing upwards when I was sleeping (so my elbow was holding up my arm, resting it on the bed with my fingers pointing to the roof).

did you mark it? :D

My worst was back in about year 7 or 8.
It's actually a little similar to rfctigerarmy's incident ;)

Except me an me mate were racing each other, and I was on the bike. As it was a hot day, I had no shoes on, about 30 meters along both my feet slipped of the pedals, an first of all me nuts got crunched on that middle bar :eek: then my feet had scraped along the ground for about 10 meters.....

Once I had gotten of me fine I felt fine (except for me nuts) until I tried walking an fell straight over, I then looked at my feet an realised the bitchemen had scraped of all my toenails and half of my toes, an my feet were covered in blood. My two friends then carried me inside where I collapsed in the bath. And then it was of to the hospital an that took about 7/8 weeks till it heeled.
Good laugh when I look back on it (never ridden a bike without shoes since :p )

Congratulations on being the 100th person to ask me that. :p

Nah, I didn't mark it ;)

Thanks. It was good to get the 100th post of the same 4 words. I couldnt do it without X_Box_X who made this possible.

Id like to thank my Mum, my Dad, the Ball, The Rock and X_Box_X for guiding me through the tough and not so tough times.

Originally posted by Inferno_03
My worst was back in about year 7 or 8.
It's actually a little similar to rfctigerarmy's incident ;)

Except me an me mate were racing each other, and I was on the bike. As it was a hot day, I had no shoes on, about 30 meters along both my feet slipped of the pedals, an first of all me nuts got crunched on that middle bar :eek: then my feet had scraped along the ground for about 10 meters.....

Once I had gotten of me fine I felt fine (except for me nuts) until I tried walking an fell straight over, I then looked at my feet an realised the bitchemen had scraped of all my toenails and half of my toes, an my feet were covered in blood. My two friends then carried me inside where I collapsed in the bath. And then it was of to the hospital an that took about 7/8 weeks till it heeled.
Good laugh when I look back on it (never ridden a bike without shoes since :p )

Ohh, boo... That's weak... Nah, not really. ;)

How about getting salt and vinegar in your eye... You like that, huh, don't ya?

Ohh, boo... That's weak... Nah, not really. ;)

How about getting salt and vinegar in your eye... You like that, huh, don't ya?

An the stick, an the glass through me hand, it all happened that day ;) :p

Has anyone seen the kick boxing incident where the two boxers go to kick eachother, their shins meet, breaking one of the guy's leg, which looks like a rag doll... Ohh, that looks awesome. :cool:

Only ever had one serious injury about 18 months ago now. Playing footy and suffered a fractured ankle. Not exactly sure how it happened I went up to take a mark and i reckon my legs either got tangled up in my opponents or i did it when i hit the ground. Suprisingly when i first did it it didn't feel that bad and I thought it was just a rolled ankle and I thought I'll run it off, so I ran to the next contest which was a ball-up about 10-15 meters away. It was then that I realised this is worse than just a rolled ankle and I went off the field and went to hospital after the game to find out it was fractured and it would be in plaster for 5 weeks.

I keep active, and do a lot of truly stupid things recreationally on a regular basis, but have never been seriously injurred. I have seen just about every type of injury you can imagine. Story? One of the strangest was a vehicle accident I worked a couple of years ago.

A woman was drunk out of her mind and rolled her truck at high speeds. She was ejected as the truck was rolling. It came down on her head, flipped some more, and flung her and her parts over a 50 meter area.

Obviously she was dead, but we still had to make a report and find all of her parts. These kinds of calls are alright, because you can stretch these into a couple of hours, and burn your shift while everyone else is busy as hell.

The first thing leading away from the initial impact area was her scalp and hair. Just lying there like someone took off a wig and dropped it on the ground. Next was her brain. Perfectly intact and sitting there on the grass as if on a medical lab table for study. A few more paces and I found her teeth. Once again, intact (uppers and lowers) and as God as my witness, they were sitting their like those novelty joke teeth. Like this:

PJ102.jpg

Further on down were her eyes. Detached, but lying there as if the ground was looking up at the sky.

The whole thing was if some child had taken all the pieces off of a Mr. Potato Head and set them across the floor in a neat little line. Strange. Stranger still, was that I knew this woman. She was from my home town. Of course, I had never seen her in this exact condition so didn't recognize her straight away.

Peace,

Its wasn't a particularly awful injury but it certainly looked messy : About 1998 I was thrown out of the Star Bar for the 3rd consecutive Saturday night. This time I fought back instead of just walking, so three blokes chucked me out on the street. I performed a one-handed handstand, but was still moving ... sliding ... across the asphalt ... on my palm.

After re-entering the queue out the front but not getting back in, I went home, crashed, and the next day woke up to inspect the carnage of my had. I took a photo, I'll try to upload it and give yers a look, wasn't the best photo but you can sort of see where I'm coming from ... the photo was after I'd torn off old the dead skin and picked the stones and twigs and other stuff out of the inside of my hand.

Ok, not so flash an injury, but it rates big in my otherwise uneventful life. To put to rest your sudden opinion of me as a dangerously manic alcoholic, here;s another, quieter one :

Circa 1995 or 96, I had finished consuming a number or 'gelignites' at a bar next to the Grainstore (lapdancing place now, I think) and staggered back towards Flinders St, as I got near Banana Alley I found a group of people protesting about something. I didn't know what they were protesting about but it annoyed me, so I hurled a bunch of vocal vitriol at them ... at which point they all ran at me.

I bravely ran away and found the single Banana Alley vault that didn't have a shop in it. It was normally open as a pathway but at night had high gates locking it off at the closer end. I climbed the gates and snuck over the top, which had those wrought-iron spikes. I tore the cuffs of my work dax on the spikes, but made it over. The protesting people thingies cowardly turned away.

I took theat lane beside the yarra back to Flinder St and got on a train, whereby some drunk kept accusing me of being an undercover cop. I eventually arrived home and realised I'd lost my keys.

I'd lost my keys a few weeks beforehand at which time I eventually in desperation smashed the window above the door with the heel of my Fitzroy flag. It's about 10 inces tall, perhaps not even that. You have to slide through on your guts, then hang by your ankles while grabbing stuff inside, then get whole body through and just fall on the floor (or something like that, its been awhile).

When originally smashing the window, I wasn't able to remove all glass, but most was gone, and by simply paying attention, one could avoid disaster. Well on this second occasion I wasn't paying a heck of a lot of attention, and just slip through without a second thought.

Woke up next morning, body hurts. Blood on the doona. Blood on the ironing board, blood on the telephone. Blood on the floor. But best of all was the blood on the door. I'd been stuck there a bit and pressed all around the door looking for a way to hold my weight as I slid my body through. There were huge swirls of my very own blood all over the door! I'd taken chunks out of my left hand and right thigh on one particularly solid shard of glass that was still in the window space. There was plenty of blood!

I have a photo or two of that, too. Wanna see?

Oh, I found the keys to my flat in my dax the next morning :o

Ahhh.. I love these type of things!!

All of my bad injuries have been directly from sport.. I guess I'm just not meant to be fit!

The worst injury happened on November 1st, 1998 - I remember this because it was the day after my friends halloween party.
Anyway.. I hung around the next day to help her clean up and after we finished we were out the front of her place, sitting on her brick letterbox talking crap.. as there is nothing to do here in the sticks.
Her dad then came out and told us that he was going out to the golf course for a hit and asked if we would caddy for him (for the small amount of $5!!). We had nothing better to do so we went.

After the first hole, we had dropped his golf bag about 10 times and lost 4 balls so he decided to caddy himself for the rest of the game, gave us a 3 iron and a ball and told us that he'd meet us at the car park in an hour.

So I went around, whacking the ball.. generally sucking, and my friend wanted a go. She made a few attempts of hitting the ball but all she got was air. So of course, being the great friend I am, I was hanging **** on her about it. This spurred her on and she launched into a huge swing.... she missed the ball but got something else. Me.

I came-to about 30seconds later with blood all over me, a massive headache, but other than that feeling fine. We went to the car, rang her dad who was only 500m away anyway and we drove back to her place as we didn't think it warrented going to the hospital and her mum has nurcing experience.

After she saw it, she rang my mum and she took me to the hospital. I was there for about 3 hours and had x-rays and everything else done. I ended up having no real damage other than going reverse Michael Jackson (white face turned black), migrane for a while and needing 10 stitches. I was told that if it had hit me anywhere else (I was hit just under my cheekbone) I could have had either a broken nose, broken jaw, broken cheekbone, perhaps lost an eye.. and if it had hit me in the temple it could have done a hell of a lot worse. Thank god she's a **** shot! :) I have a cool scar too..

Other sporting injuries -
Hockey - heatstroke
Basketball - broken finger
Footy - black eye
Vollyball - sprained ankle
Gymnastics - broken toe

:D

I don't have a specific injury, but I have osgood schlatters (FFS, if you don't know what it is, look it up! :D) in my left knee. A lot of kids get it when they are 12-13, particularly boys, and it's like growing pains. You're supposed to grow out of it within a year if you get treatment, ie physio, but I got it when I was 12, and I'm 17 now and still have it. Don't think I haven't had treatment; I've had physio on and off for the past five-six years, typically through the netball season. I've had five different physios, and only one ever did anything for it. Unfortunately, she went OS! :mad: I have to tape it every time I want to do just about anything physical. I had to get orthotics (sp?) as well, as they thought my feet may have been causing the problem.

It's flipping painful doing a lot of things - walking more than 10 minutes hurts (or can), squatting, bending, stretching it, running, jumping, hopping etc are all painful. Usually when I'm sitting for more than about half an hour, it starts aching, so I usually try standing for a minute or something. Unfortunately, as there is hardly any muscle there, half the time when I try this I just have to sit down again because I'm not strong enough to hold it up. I've had plenty of 'random' falls just walking along, because my knee just gives way under me. When I'm sitting, I usually can't lift my left leg (like now, I can barely do it), or can only get it so far (which isn't very far anyway).

The worst pain it gives me is usually when I'm finished playing netball, when it usually aches for the rest of the day - and don't think the word ache indicates just a little pain, it can be pretty damn horrible - or when someone kicks/hits/bumps a certain spot, right on the lump that's developed. **** that ****en kills. You have no idea how excruciating one little hit can be to one little area. :mad:

If it doesn't start to improve by the time I'm 18, mum's telling me I should stop seeing the physio, but should see a doctor, and consider surgery (which is usually the solution for extreme & long cases like mine, and she knows what she's talking about, having had a knee reco herself). :(

And it all started from falling off a bike on school camp in Year 7. :mad:

Chipped some bone off my pelvis when I fell into a hurdle after stumbling over the previous. For the next 2 weeks any kind of movement was painful.

I got a concussion at footy on the weekend. It wasn't that bad except that when I came off I looked at the scoreboard 15 metres away and couldn't see the score.

I think Dermott Brereton has the most horrific, painful injury of all time. It happened in the bedroom though, and not on the field. That kind of story brings a tear to every mans eye.

Has anyone seen the kick boxing incident where the two boxers go to kick eachother, their shins meet, breaking one of the guy's leg, which looks like a rag doll... Ohh, that looks awesome. :cool:

I seen that in a video off the FHM site.

Mine was rather unusual. I was eleven and climbing trees with some friends at Blackburn Lake. We'd split up into pairs and the two of us climbed a tree to hide from the others. We climbed down, but thought we heard them coming, so climbed back up again.

This time though, I climbed up to the opposite side where the branches, unbeknownst to me, weren't as strong. I reached about 10-15' off the ground when the branch I was standing on gave way.

I fell about 5' or so and landed on a branch sticking out of the tree. It pierced the middle of my chest and ran up my chest about 6-9" (it finished just short of my throat). I was suspended from the branch, hanging about 5-10' in the air, with the branch right up inside my chest.

I could feel all of the branch still inside my chest, stretching the skin around it. I wasn't sure what to do, whether to try and just rip myself off the tree (thank god I didn't do that). In the end I needed to climb back up the tree a couple of feet and haul myself off the branch, and then I fell to the ground.

I had a huge gaping hole, bigger than a 50c piece, in the middle of my chest, and it was just open with nothing coming out and looking very red and nasty!!

I was very lucky - the branch had managed to miss every major organ amazingly enough, most by just inches.

The doctors were able to stitch up the hole (I have 4" scar there now) and the wound was cleared out over a number of days by a tube, which extracted bits of tree. My chest is still slightly numb to touch up the centre, but thankfully no lasting damage.

Of course this was the year after I lost the top of my thumb playing cricket without gloves. Fortunately they were able to stitch it back on - very ugly though!!

My worse was the one where i broke my collarbone falling off my grandma's Mango tree back in Malaysia after getting the wonderful idea to climb it.

When I was in grade 2 or somethin..I cracked a bone near my elbow- after getting a bike for my birthday- and wanting to ride it, so we went to the park- and I was just testing out the backwards pedalling- as it was the first bike I had that only had hand brakes..

Anyway, I crashed into my sisters bike, because I forgot I only had handbrakes and I was trying to use the pedals to brake (after testing out the back pedalling feature- don't ask me where my memory was that day) I fell off the bike, and as I was close to the edge of the path when I crashed into my sisters bike, I landed off the path- and my arm hurt like hell- my sister went to find my parents, and when they came, htey helped me up- and I was complaining about my arm, and they said we would go to a medical centre, but I had to get ON my bike and ride it a few metres before we went just to make sure I rode the bike again.
Talk about murder!

Anyway, got to the medical centre, my arm was still dying- and I had to wait ages - so I fell asleep.. then htey took x-rays of my arm, now people, this was 3 days before my birthday, and told me to come back on Wednesday (my birthday) They gave me a sling and sent me home.

Went back wednesday- had cracked a bone, sling for 6 weeks.

I didn't ride that bike much after that incident, its still sitting in the shed..

Go Roos

*My birthday is right before the holidays, my sister and I were going to QLD to stay with our Aunty/Uncle during htose holidays, parents were going elsewhere- my parents phoned my aunty/uncle and told htem about my arm- checking it would be alright if I still went, it was- while in QLD, I took off the sling and went down a water slide:D

Don't know if it's an injury or not, but have a really really painful hip at the moment....been like that for several months now. Had some physio, which helped a bit, but it's still pretty sore. Not sore all the time....comes & goes. At the moment gurting like hell! :( But I don't actually know how it happened.....unless it was when I was doing some exercises on the gym, although it didn't hurt at the time.

Apparently I nearly managed to get myself concussion a couple of years ago when was completely ****ed & some friends had to carry me out of the pub. 2 of the guys had hold my arms then one of the others thought it would be a good idea to grab my legs from behind which ended up in me toppling head first towards the pavement, missing it by a matter of millimetres! Not that I actually remember any of this.......;)

Originally posted by Mooster7

The whole thing was if some child had taken all the pieces off of a Mr. Potato Head and set them across the floor in a neat little line. Strange. Stranger still, was that I knew this woman. She was from my home town. Of course, I had never seen her in this exact condition so didn't recognize her straight away.

That's bloody freaky!!!! :eek: