Would You Take Brendan Fevola Back

• Yes The Finals and have a crack for the flag

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No make the team on the grog playing like a flog.

Votes: 0 0.0%

No matter what happens, I don't want the cancer back at our club.
I can't believe half of you hammerheads & the nonsense yuo espouse , Fev was responsible for most of the successful games in which we played in over the last decade.Yes he had bad days , can you name me a player since the beginning of the VFL/AFL that doesn't have bad games ?
He won the Coleman Medal for christs sake 4 times ( or was it 3 ? ) came ever so close to bagging a ton - not done since Jezza btw !
And when Fev fired up & kicked those miraculous goals the team fired up all over the groung & played a s a team with spirit , and thats what Fev brought to Carlton.
Ever thought that this dispirted aimless excuse for a team we ahve at the moment might themselves be playing this way because they knew what Fev meant to the club & its chances of the next few & now have dropped their bundle & possibly showing they are not happy with the decision to remove him from the club ?
I'd have him back in a flash mate & I'd double his previous wage aswellas make him coach at least that will get rid of the marshmellow in there atm.

BBJ

Hey his off days were no worse or more disheartening than the crap dished up by some others wearing the navy blue in the last two months.
That said I'd only have him back on a reduced salary via a late draft pick and no bullshit deals with Brisbane - although they can have Hadley back. :confused:

I would have gone for the post without the smiley face personally.

I can see it must have been a tough choice though - good call to play it safe by posting both.

Sure H, heard it a million times, but back it up with FACTS.

Why should we all take as given that 'the covert bad was worse' has any substance to it whatsoever?

By the way at the start of this season I contacted TODN about changing my handle to move on with the times, and he said it wasn't technically possible for him to help me. So here I am. :)
Contact Chief. Though it might cost you a membership for a name change.

I can't believe half of you hammerheads & the nonsense yuo espouse , Fev was responsible for most of the successful games in which we played in over the last decade.Yes he had bad days , can you name me a player since the beginning of the VFL/AFL that doesn't have bad games ?
He won the Coleman Medal for christs sake 4 times ( or was it 3 ? ) came ever so close to bagging a ton - not done since Jezza btw !
And when Fev fired up & kicked those miraculous goals the team fired up all over the groung & played a s a team with spirit , and thats what Fev brought to Carlton.
Ever thought that this dispirted aimless excuse for a team we ahve at the moment might themselves be playing this way because they knew what Fev meant to the club & its chances of the next few & now have dropped their bundle & possibly showing they are not happy with the decision to remove him from the club ?
I'd have him back in a flash mate & I'd double his previous wage aswellas make him coach at least that will get rid of the marshmellow in there atm.

BBJ

Interesting that for the first half of the season the team was up and about and even right upto the Bulldogs game had a chance at top four, all without Fev at the club.

However, you're basically saying from the above that, starting roughly six weeks ago the boys have gone 'shit thats right, Fevs not here, we've obviously been playing above ourselves without him, lets get back to playing crap, unaccountable, selfish, soft football'.

Fev's gone and in all likely hood will never play for Carlton again.

Get over it everyone. As another poster said, team plays some poor footy and someone drags out the 'lets get fev back' thread.

It doesn't matter whether we would, could or should win a GF with or without him, he's not the messiah and he's not at Carlton.

Pointless.

Awesome player at his best, absolute shocker at his worst. Love what he did for us goal wise, but never ever want him back in a Blues jumper.
This.:thumbsu:

I don't think it's possible. The board don't want him, and the players would be weary also. But IMO, footy just isn't the same without the Fevalenko!! ;)

You see what you're saying?
Fev doesn't want to be at Brisbane. Well f..k him.

Fev wants this, does not want that, and Carlton should have just ebbed and flowed for the sake of the one man team, Fevarlton?

Don't some of you get it?
Fev is a time bomb and in case no-one here has watched any Brisbane matches, except for the one good game against Collingwood (which we conviently remember but we won't talk about the other seventeen games, will we) he has done plenty nothing.

Don't believe me?
Go have a look what the boys on the Brissy board are saying, and remember they are closer to him than we are.

Alright...

Calm down everybody...

Let's all re-contact the planet Earth for a moment.

Fev's not coming back to Carlton and here's why:

1. If Carlton took him back, they would look like the biggest knobs on Earth for having been so stupid as to give him away in the first place, so there is no way in hell they would open themselves up to that.

2. For better or for worse, the horse has bolted. Fev is a year older, closer to retirement. What could have been or would have been makes less sense now than it did at the beginning of the season. He might have had a stellar season with Carlton rather than the lacklustre one he's having at Brisbane. Is it team dynamics? The re-location? The new coach? Being away from his wife and kids? The fact that he didn't want to leave? Who knows? We'll never know. If we had've kept him, he might have had a crap year with the Blues. Again, we'll never know.

This thread was simply as the title suggests 'Would you take Brendan Fevola Back'. Personally I took it as a hypothetical - a fantasy thread, because for the reasons above and especially reason number 1, he is NOT coming back.

Interestingly, the media analysis of the Fevola deal after the first 6 rounds is that it was a WIN WIN for Carlton and Brisbane. Now I think it would be perceived as a LOSE LOSE for both clubs. It just hasn't fitted for either of us.

Bear in mind of course that even in his 'crap' season with injury woes Fev is still the top goal kicker at Brisbane and is still 10 goals ahead of our nearest goal kicker Eddie Betts who has played every game this year.

The truth is, this thread happens because it's of interest to Carlton supporters to discuss what happened. Some posters think that the decision to trade and pay a portion of his salary was one of the worst decisions of our recent history, Richard Pratt's widow has said so in no uncertain terms in a recent interview.

It's not some maverick view - it's a legitimate criticism.

In the same way that Milne has been supported by St Kilda, or Didak by Collingwood, nothing was stopping Carlton from supporting Fevola and if you think Fev's offenses outweighed either of those two players, go and look at the facts. Didak caused the president of Collingwood to lie openly the public and get a huge amount of egg on his face - and that was after fraternizing with a figure who became one of the most notorious gunmen in Victoria. Milne is a constant distraction and now may have his criminal case re-opened to continue to distract from the Saints season. YET, both of these clubs chose to stick by these champions.

To those who say that Carlton had no choice September last year, I ask you - did Collingwood have no choice? Did the Saints have no choice?

Of course they did.

The reason this 'fantasy' thread exists is because posters and CFC supporters are still pissed off and don't buy the propaganda from either the club or the Herald Sun that there was 'no choice'.

They believe that the politics of the club is leading to decisions that will make us mediocre on field and that give the players no confidence in the establishment.

There, I've said it.

Nothing to say he wouldv'e been injured with us. Gabba was like a rock earlier on in the year. He'd have been handy because even when we struggled he'd kick multiple goals with 3 defenders hanging off him. We'd go forward on bad days and we'd have something there. Way better than high bombing to Eddie Betts in a 2 on 1. Fev had the freakish ability to turn sh1t into gold on their own.

We ask ourselves......attitude-wise, has anything changed since he left? One could mount a case to say no.

Would I have traded him.....not a chance. 4 premierships points is worth more than anything. Despite his "Fev" days one could also mount an argument that he put in one helluva more on-field and way more committed during our darks days while many of the others weren't having a go. Goal tally alone tells us that. On-field is all that counts as I said. If it didn't we wouldn't all be screaming as much as we had after recent efforts. Hindsight though may be different if Henderson turns to be a 10 year gun though given Fev only has 2-3 years left and is 30 next year.

Ok, to the question, would I take Fev back? No point at his age, especially now he's been injured, unless we got him dirt cheap. Means the risk of an early pick at the risk of not knowing where his body's at now. just did that with McLean. You'd theoretically have a bigger go at Pavlich if you were to do that given he's a year younger.

would you take brendan fevola back if it was possible. I get the feeling he wants to go home. I believe we would be in the top 4 this year if fevola was at carlton. We were just getting our team together and finally made our first final.the young small players like gartlett,yarran and betts only had the year with him up their.i get the feeling he will be asked to get traded to st kilda or to a melbourne club.

"no"

Henderson will never win a match off his own boot for Carlton nor will he ever win the Coleman.how can you go on with this " cancer " crap ?
If kicking all those goals, winning games as well as the Coleman is Cancer then its a pretty good thing to have I'd say.
Nevertheless, I think Henderson does have promise but will need to show it by mid way next season.
And yes I'm quite aware that Fev will not return to Carlton - i do not think he would want to be at the same club as Sticks - but I do think he will return to Melbourne, it ain't working up there in Brisbane...and he ain't the Lone Ranger there either.
The topic was " would you take Fev back " & was merely hypothetical as are the some of the posts - mixed in with unadulterated crap from the " Anti-Cancer Council "

BBJ

Sure H, heard it a million times, but back it up with FACTS.

Why should we all take as given that 'the covert bad was worse' has any substance to it whatsoever?

By the way at the start of this season I contacted TODN about changing my handle to move on with the times, and he said it wasn't technically possible for him to help me. So here I am. :)

You could always do what Celtic-Pride did. Honor.

Everyone knew that getting rid of Fev was going to result in short term pain. Suck it in and harden the &@$& up. We will get there but when performance does not meet expectations I can mean either the performances are bad or the expectations were wrong.

Henderson will never win a match off his own boot for Carlton nor will he ever win the Coleman.how can you go on with this " cancer " crap ?
If kicking all those goals, winning games as well as the Coleman is Cancer then its a pretty good thing to have I'd say.
Nevertheless, I think Henderson does have promise but will need to show it by mid way next season.
And yes I'm quite aware that Fev will not return to Carlton - i do not think he would want to be at the same club as Sticks - but I do think he will return to Melbourne, it ain't working up there in Brisbane...and he ain't the Lone Ranger there either.
The topic was " would you take Fev back " & was merely hypothetical as are the some of the posts - mixed in with unadulterated crap from the " Anti-Cancer Council "

BBJ

Welcome Mr Deluded...

I suppose that you are one of those supporters who firmly believes that Sticks never won a game off his own boot? Well, a couple of bags of 10, a couple of 9 and a bag of 8 goal bags suggest otherwise.

How a bit of history for you. Sticks came to us as a ready made CHF who had just played in a GF for Glenelg. He had kicked something like 170 goals for Glenelg over a period of about 4-5 years.

Henderson is 20-21 years old and has only been playing the game for about 3 years. Given time, I do see him winning games off his own boot and he might even go so far as to win the coleman.

The cancer people refer to in terms of Fev is his off-field antics. He never learnt from his mistakes and he had a habit of influencing others through those actions. If Pagan had the balls to actually discipline his forward stars, they wouldnt have gotten into so much shit later on in their careers and in their lives. And they wouldnt still be making the same mistakes over and over.