WRFL Division 2

dekkaroo===========give us yor intake on this weeks block buster between nth and the cobras==========i see the winner has bragging rights for third spot============should be a good game, one to watch anyway.

Well you can just about call this clash between the devils and the cobras round one of finlas, with the winner taking home more than just the four points....third spot on the ladder and the double chance as well.

It should be a cracker of a game, as the round six clash earlier on in the year finished with the Cobras victors by 13 points.

The devils have a few players in their side at the moment that never played in the first encounter, players such as Phillips and Derich to name a few who have been great inclussions. The devils side is much improved and will take it right up to Albanvale, who have been a bogey side for the devils for many years now.

I am tipping the devils at home.

From my knowledge, which is not from the grapevine and i know as fact, is that vale's ran him for the coaching job / interview and he declined!! So mayb you should get your facts right bobby:thumbsdown:

Have to disagree with the above, whilst riding high on the coat tails of Rock ( doing my best Harry Potter impersonation ) my source tell me it was the other way around?? With KJ being the conduit between the two above parties it was mearly a two minute discussion, no more no less. Willy aka "the champ" was always the chooen one.

The above was partly due to the way in which he was treated at his last coaching gig??

Hey Dekkaroo, by any chance would you know the previous result of Nth Foots and Albanvale in the reserves? And whats your prediction of that game this time around.

You say he goes alright others that have played with him are not of the same opinion. Would you think it is ironic for someone to call someone turtle neck when he is known for being a pea heart. I didn't make it up and judging by your reply deep down you know the truth of the matter. By the way Nth Sunshine are 6th and lose to all the top sides by over 100 points. Also Luke went back to south district because he is also known to lack committment and the lower standards and expectation suit him.

Anyway I don't believe I have seen an apology from you about your behaviour as yet.
Bobby i like your comments who do you play for?

Hey Dekkaroo, by any chance would you know the previous result of Nth Foots and Albanvale in the reserves? And whats your prediction of that game this time around.

Hey Mr Eade,

The first time round Albanvale got up by 33 points. Having said that, the North side was very much depleated. There would be at least 6 players who played that game who are struggling at the minute to retain a spot in the side. Take nothing away from the cobras though.. as the won the match and played so good footy.

I like our chance on the weekend, as we have a good side in and at home will be hard to beat. I guess its going to be a good challenge taking on the top side.

Dont worry about Obe he goes well buddy if your nice he might be able to find some time and come help your great club out with a training session

Interesting end to the ladder situation after West Footscray and Deer Park was called off last week. If West had beaten Deer Park by about 100 points then Deer Parks % would have been similar to Nth Sunshines thus the last round would have decided who made finals.

The topic seems to have been brushed under the carpet. Wouldn't be too happy if I were a Nth Sunshine person. The sus part is:

1. I can't recall in my 15 yrs of being involved in the wrfl a side ever refusing to play due to the ground condition.

2. The ground was good enough for the health of the under 18's and reserves.

3. The rest suits West who have many old players and nothing to gain ladder wise by playing except injuries.

4. The match ratio as discussed above helps Deer Park no end get a finals spot no matter the results of this weeks round.

Imagine if North Sunshine had to face a bottom six team this week instead of West Footscray. Surely there'd be more of an uproar over this. However, I don't think they'd come within 10 goals of Wests, so the issue pretty much is dead and buried. Lucky for the integrity of the league.

Not really dead and buried because if they lose to West by 10 goals and Deer Park lose to Heights by a similar margin then it would have been a line ball who got in, thus making the tanking of the game a real issue. Not sure how Nth Sunshine people see it. Interested to know if there are any Nth Sunshine players on big footy their thoughts.

You know what, you are right. I misinterpreted the ladder and overlooked the fact that Deer Park plays Sunshine Heights who flogged them earlier in the season. Would also be interested in a perspective from someone involved from North Sunshine.

I follow districts coz i have a few mates that played down there and all this talk got me intrigued about the ladder so i ran a few numbers(bored at work) and to me this is how it would roughly turn out

DP 70 SH 130 (thats being a bit generous prob be more) this would but DP at 109.9%

NS 70 WF 130 (also generous to NS) that would put NS at 103.7%

CD 100 BP 50 (rough estimate BP might surprise CD have been playn good footy) that would put CD at 105.3%

So it would look like this DP 5TH(109.9) CD6TH(105.3) NS7TH(103.7)
now if DP and WF played and the result was about:
DP 70 WF 130 (would have been at least 10goals) that would drop Deer Parks % to 104.6 in turn giving districts 5th spot.

What do people think??? would this be far off the mark???
In saying all this theres alot of whatif's in footy but whats done is done just believe districts will end up the ones ripped off by the game not played

I follow districts coz i have a few mates that played down there and all this talk got me intrigued about the ladder so i ran a few numbers(bored at work) and to me this is how it would roughly turn out

DP 70 SH 130 (thats being a bit generous prob be more) this would but DP at 109.9%

NS 70 WF 130 (also generous to NS) that would put NS at 103.7%

CD 100 BP 50 (rough estimate BP might surprise CD have been playn good footy) that would put CD at 105.3%

So it would look like this DP 5TH(109.9) CD6TH(105.3) NS7TH(103.7)
now if DP and WF played and the result was about:
DP 70 WF 130 (would have been at least 10goals) that would drop Deer Parks % to 104.6 in turn giving districts 5th spot.

What do people think??? would this be far off the mark???
In saying all this theres alot of whatif's in footy but whats done is done just believe districts will end up the ones ripped off by the game not played

A very interesting statistic there Hells. I know I wouldnt be at all happy if i was involved with Coburg or Nth Sunshine. I wonder if anyone from those clubs are looking further into it. It's a very odd situation that West and Deer Park had, where both teams would benefit from not playing the game. I smell a rat.

Obviously the match ratio system is a shambles. I cannot comprehend a system that would allow a team that wins less games to play finals over a team that has won more games (Which is a possibility with this current system).

A better system needs to be put into place for the years to come, this may mean teams need to be held accountable if a match is abandoned with the points being split (As though it was a draw) or points to be forfitted If a team is unwilling to play because of ground conditions (only a suggestion).

Untill something is done to fix the current system we are playing in a competition that is running on an uneven playing field.

Have to disagree with the above, whilst riding high on the coat tails of Rock ( doing my best Harry Potter impersonation ) my source tell me it was the other way around?? With KJ being the conduit between the two above parties it was mearly a two minute discussion, no more no less. Willy aka "the champ" was always the chooen one.

The above was partly due to the way in which he was treated at his last coaching gig??

Obe1, we did have a 2 minute discussion, but it was Albanvale that contacted me. I had applied for the position in 2005, but it was always going to be difficult as they were coming off a Preliminary Final.

For the record Bobby, the umpire was the one who called the game off. West were stripped and ready to go.

Just another interesting stat for ya fellas if DP lose to SH by as much as they did last time DP would end up with a %of 105.1 which i reckon is a pretty good chance i imagine SH would be looking at getting a good win under there belt last game b4 finals. That would mean CD would have a higher % of 105.3 and the same amount of wins and end up out of finals!!!

Wonder how much it cost Deer Park to get We$t to call the game off?? I have heard a whisper that they offered 3 Kegs and their dunny door from the visitors room.

If there is no dunny door at Deer Park on Sat I will be able to confirm that rumour:thumbsu:

The decision not to play the Deer Park v West Footscray game has effectively decided the final 5 before the last home & away game - just another bump in the uneven playing conditions of Div 2.

A lot of behind the scene discussions has occurred with the WRFL in regards to this situation but to no avail .

Showed up the lack of professionalism of the WRFL in having no contingency in place.

Seems a lot of confusion as to who decided the game shouldn't be played after the Reseves and U18's had earlier played on the ground - talk to the umpires and they point the finger towards Bones - talk to others at the ground and they point towards the umpires - just who made the decision ?It's proberly giving Deer Park too much credit for the game not going ahead- or is it ? - their match ratio decides the final 5 make up.

One thing is for sure - dependent on the results Saturday -one team currently out of the 5 will surely be dissapointed ( read robbed) of not playing finals this year.

Debate over 5th spot and match ratio having decided this position clearly shows the uneveness of the draw having decided the finals make up.

Lets keep the argument to facts:

1) Nth Sunshine had the softer draw when compared to DP & CD only played one top 5 side twice. (West's)

2) Neither Deer Park nor Nth Sunshine have beaten a side above them, (CD beat Albanvale & Nth Foots) though this may change on Saturday

3) Both Deer Park & Coburg have beaten Nth Sunshine.

4) All 3 sides CD, DP & NS have been smashed by Wests & Heights

5) Deer Park have beaten Coburg by 22 points ( played once)

Ideally this would have been a great finish to the season with percentage only seperating Deer Park, Nth Sunshine & Coburg Districts for 5th spot and a finals berth - but no - a sinister decision not to play a game has ruined that scenerio.

BTW how is Deer Park's ground for this week shaping against Heights - will rain improve or worsen the grounds condition or will the dry weather further dry out the centre area meaning the gound is unplayable ? Has the WRFL inspected the ground and do they have a contingency plan of another ground if Deer Park's ground is not iup to scratch ?