Jun 10, 2005
collingwood
Pies reject Clokes, are uncertain on TarrantMichael Gleeson
September 21, 2006

COLLINGWOOD yesterday told Cameron and Jason Cloke their football futures were likely to reside elsewhere.
The out-of-contract pair and their manager father David met the club yesterday to be told they would not be offered new contracts before the trade period, if at all.
Trade options will be explored but the club has left the door open to recontracting them should a suitor not be found.
But it is unlikely either will be at the Magpies next year. Younger brother Travis is contracted for next season.

As The Age reported last week, Jason was keen to seek a trade having enjoyed only limited opportunities this year.

@media print {.nopr {display:none}} [SIZE=-1]advertisement[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]advertisement[/SIZE]

Cameron has battled a shoulder injury but his height and ability to play ruck could be of interest to other clubs.
It is also understood that Adam Iacobucci, Brent Hall and Julian Rowe's futures at the club are in doubt.
Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse last night did not rule out trading Chris Tarrant at the end of the season.
Speaking on Fox Footy, Malthouse described this week's list decision-making as the most "dreadful" period for a coach and said that while Tarrant remained a key player he could not rule him out of trade considerations.
Malthouse would also not be drawn on whether Nathan Buckley would captain Collingwood next season, but guaranteed that the champion veteran would definitely not play through the entire season.
A bright note for the Magpies, according to their coach, was the expectation that Alan Didak could still be fit to return for round one next season.
Malthouse said he had met Didak's surgeon late yesterday and the result of knee surgery on the All-Australian half-forward this week had been better than expected.
With CAROLINE WILSON

I would be very disapointed if that is the case. Especially since brodie holland is out for the first 6 weeks!

magpies42 said:
Pies reject Clokes, are uncertain on TarrantMichael Gleeson
September 21, 2006

COLLINGWOOD yesterday told Cameron and Jason Cloke their football futures were likely to reside elsewhere.
The out-of-contract pair and their manager father David met the club yesterday to be told they would not be offered new contracts before the trade period, if at all.
Trade options will be explored but the club has left the door open to recontracting them should a suitor not be found.
But it is unlikely either will be at the Magpies next year. Younger brother Travis is contracted for next season.

As The Age reported last week, Jason was keen to seek a trade having enjoyed only limited opportunities this year.

@media print {.nopr {display:none}} [SIZE=-1]advertisement[/SIZE] [SIZE=-1]advertisement[/SIZE]

Cameron has battled a shoulder injury but his height and ability to play ruck could be of interest to other clubs.
It is also understood that Adam Iacobucci, Brent Hall and Julian Rowe's futures at the club are in doubt.
Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse last night did not rule out trading Chris Tarrant at the end of the season.
Speaking on Fox Footy, Malthouse described this week's list decision-making as the most "dreadful" period for a coach and said that while Tarrant remained a key player he could not rule him out of trade considerations.
Malthouse would also not be drawn on whether Nathan Buckley would captain Collingwood next season, but guaranteed that the champion veteran would definitely not play through the entire season.
A bright note for the Magpies, according to their coach, was the expectation that Alan Didak could still be fit to return for round one next season.
Malthouse said he had met Didak's surgeon late yesterday and the result of knee surgery on the All-Australian half-forward this week had been better than expected.
With CAROLINE WILSON

I would be very disapointed if that is the case. Especially since brodie holland is out for the first 6 weeks!

I'm curious how Jason can 'enjoy' his limited opportunities.

Hall can leave, he hasn't proved anything in his time at the club. Rowe is reportedly gone and that might be fair enough. The Booch really needs his opportunties after consistently performing in the VFL. I'd keep him another year.

Why has there been no mention of Walker. Surely he's not still contracted?

bradrowe#32 said:
I'm curious how Jason can 'enjoy' his limited opportunities.

Hall can leave, he hasn't proved anything in his time at the club. Rowe is reportedly gone and that might be fair enough. The Booch really needs his opportunties after consistently performing in the VFL. I'd keep him another year.

I suspect that we have to much rubbish (as well as retirements) to be able to get rid of all the crap players. tex may well stay!

FIGJAM said:
They're pulling names out of their arse to fill out the article.

u think so? i reckon they are on the money, all the players they have mentioned have done nothing at the club!!! who would you keep?

[I suspect that we have to much rubbish (as well as retirements) to be able to get rid of all the crap players. tex may well stay!

Magpies 42: where do u get your mail from-- the skip somewhere near victoria park old furnishings? Yakka to be delisted surely they wouldnt trade him given didak and holland out start of 2007...

There have to be doubts as to whether yakka will make it but he can’t be in the top half dozen delist candidates surely? 2 have already retired. Wakes may be a third. 2 Clokes and Rowe gone. Fanning, Walker and Hall must be on the chopping block. That’s up to 7 before you look at Yakka and before you look at any trades for anyone remotely valuable. I’d be happy enough to cut Yakka if we were to offload all the duds and suspect players and start again bringing in a dozen or more new players but short of that Yakka should be down the pecking order for delisting/trading. we'll find out soon enough I guess.

Agree Mark, Yakka would not be in my top ten to remove, especially after his excellent game in the VFL PF last week.

I suspect Fanning might get another year, now that Cam and Jason have been flicked. With Hall and Walker also in need of being booted, he and Richards may stay by default, as we are in dire need of talls.

You cant sack them all.

I think we are I dire need of rucks rather than talls and these don’t cut it as ruckmen. I think you are pretty accurate in terms of what we’ll do but I’d like to see us cut rucks that can’t ruck even if we have to recycle someone else’s discard for insurance on the off chance they may improve in a new club. Of course I’d prefer to get a decent ruck option but whether we can who knows. For mine C. Cloke was the one to keep because he was the one that provided a different type of option and the others have shown SFA (as has he admittedly) anyway. If we stick with what we have I chose Richards over Fanning, a pound of cotton wool and a lot of prayer.

bradrowe#32 said:

Until the end of 2007.

If C Cloke got the boot, I think, Richards and Fanning (respectively) are safe. Yakka was great in the VFL PF and probably his saving grace would be Malthouse.

Yakka to be delisted?