Young guns playing under 14s(future stars)

Can only speak about Div 1 and I have to say, some very good kids playing in the Keilor U14s.

Jesse Martini looks a huge talent, while Sean O'Sullivan has a very strong mark and good kick.

Couple of first years down at Douttas look right at home in amongst the upper age kids and have a very bright future in front of them. Both are athletic kids who run all day and have excellent all round skills.

There will be a lot of happy kids down in Div 3 after one of the hardest hitters I have ever seen decided to concentrate on Rugby league.

yes i agree with you those are very good players but remmember that the talent at the moment is very scarce so that when i see a kid like that at oak park my eyes glisten and i shudder to think what that young boy (hisham in the 14s in his first year at that level) will be like in the next two years or so.in reagrd to doutta stars i havent seen much in recent times but i must admit that there is two or three first year under 14 players who are holding their own, especially a young fella by the name of sean stewart who i beleive has a huge future in front of him.another player playing well is young josh cauchi for pascoe vale fc. t i beleive we keep an eye out as these are the future of the AFL.:thumbsu::)

Why dont you come out an admit that Hisham is your son?

Gday Guys,

New to the Forums, matter of fact I had no idea local footy was even discussed in such a Forum.

I've managed to get around to many Under 14 Div 1 games this Season and also could point out some players of interest.

The last 6 or 7 weeks I attended Greenvale U14 Div 1 games as I am driving an old mate around who has a broken pelvis and is in Plaster, his grand son plays at Greenvale.

I seen Greenvale v Keilor and didnt see Jesse Martini or Sean O'Sullivan playing at all, but one did stand out and that was Corey Ellis who looked quite accomplished.

One young lad for Pascoe Vale stood out for me was Joshua Gauchi, ran hard most of the game.

For Greenvale ( remebering i've seen them the most this year ) one of the players that stood out most weeks was Brandon Marlow, great balanced player, who played in the centre, who mans up well but can turn a game in a few minutes , who carved up the Abers player mentioned Victor Carboni ( that said Victor may have been having a bad day ) I checked edfl squad listings etc and cant see any mention of Marlow so he maybe from another League new to the EDFL.

Agreed Jack Formosa for Greenvale impressed me is all that top panther says he is, but I feel was played out of position every game I have seen. Great hands but still learning the game, kicking style is low and needs alot of work

Finally my 3rd pick from Greenvale is Gene Vocale , tall Ruck Rover who ran all day long every game. He should poll well in the EDFL B&F, once again I cant see him in the EDFL Squad at all.

I should have also mentioned Andrew Macdonald from Abers hes also my tip to potentially take out the B&F.

Anyway ive rattled on a bit, I love the Forum.

Should also say just cause we've pointed out a few players that us old farts appeal to us as Players, it takes all the players to make a team and without you all the players mentioned would be nothing.

Thanks for the great games ive gotten to see and i may attend more next year and maybe some finals this year.

Cheers.

Pete

im suprised you didnt give an opinion on the young boy hisham kerbatieh and without being over zealous the kid can play and is classy.. not being too big status the kid reminds me of mark lecras of the west coast eagles.. he kicked four goals in four minutes on sunday in a dazzling display of football from the ruck rover position. come down taylors lakes way this week and come and see a footballer of the future. look i dont know him personally but let me say this ask anyone at oak park fc and if they dont say he is the the number 1 first year under 14 player at the club and clsoe to the top 5 players in under 14s first year players this year in any division ill go heee.

Hi thank you for the post and response to my first ever. As i mentioned sadly I can only watch the Division 1. I'm sure he maybe good in your eyes, as you see in my post I am just looking at people I have seen play.

I guess your demand and comparison should be asked and directed to the people of Oak Park FC and not me.

Kicking ex goals in ex minutes in junior football to me doesn't carry much weight. RE Read my first post .

Thanks for the response

Pete

Pacco Pete said:
Gday Guys,

The last 6 or 7 weeks I attended Greenvale U14 Div 1 games as I am driving an old mate around who has a broken pelvis and is in Plaster, his grand son plays at Greenvale.

I seen Greenvale v Keilor and didnt see Jesse Martini or Sean O'Sullivan playing at all, but one did stand out and that was Corey Ellis who looked quite accomplished.

Martini plays for West Coburg and IMO is the best player in the League. O'Sullivan plays for Pacco.

Pacco Pete said:
One young lad for Pascoe Vale stood out for me was Joshua Gauchi, ran hard most of the game.

Good player.

Pacco Pete said:
For Greenvale ( remebering i've seen them the most this year ) one of the players that stood out most weeks was Brandon Marlow, great balanced player, who played in the centre, who mans up well but can turn a game in a few minutes , who carved up the Abers player mentioned Victor Carboni ( that said Victor may have been having a bad day ) I checked edfl squad listings etc and cant see any mention of Marlow so he maybe from another League new to the EDFL.

We played them on sunday and this kid ripped us apart. Very good performance. Greenvale were much better than in round 1.

Mark down Bruno Laguda as another player of the future and another 1st year too. He was great against West Coburg two weeks ago and then backed that up with another very good effort last week.

Pacco Pete said:
Finally my 3rd pick from Greenvale is Gene Vocale , tall Ruck Rover who ran all day long every game. He should poll well in the EDFL B&F, once again I cant see him in the EDFL Squad at all.

I should have also mentioned Andrew Macdonald from Abers hes also my tip to potentially take out the B&F.

Two worthy mentions.

Pacco Pete said:
Anyway ive rattled on a bit, I love the Forum.

Should also say just cause we've pointed out a few players that us old farts appeal to us as Players, it takes all the players to make a team and without you all the players mentioned would be nothing.

Absolutely, PP. You can't win Premierships without your mates around to help you out.

Pacco Pete said:
Thanks for the great games ive gotten to see and i may attend more next year and maybe some finals this year.

Cheers.

Pete

Good stuff, Pete. Always good to get other folks opinions. I'm gutted the season will finish for us this weekend. Been a tough year but worth it in the long run.

I'm backing Keilor to be far too good for the other sides in the finals.

Watched the Pacco V Abbers game on the weekend and would have to say that 3 kids from Pacco really stood out. The Raji boys run very hard and are physical at the contest. O'Sullivan totally dominated up forward taking some strong marks.
For Abers, no doubt that Horomidis & Carboni can both play, however both were carved up in the first quarter by their opponents that were prepared to run hard forward to get on the end of the footy. Both will need to work alot harder defensively if they are to make the elite level in my opinion.

A fair amount of work you've put in there Panther.

How much does your Team differ to the EDFL U14 Squads? Reason I say this is as the Coaches from the EDFL Squad should no whats going on and have their fingers on the pulse so to speak, when i started coming up with a Team as you have , most of the Players I pointed out aren't listed in the EDFL Squads.

Greenvales Brandon Marlow, Gene Vocale and Jack Formosa do not appear

Pascoe Vales Josh Gauchi , played

Abbers Andrew Macdonald , played in the Div 2 Team

Kelior Corey Ellis , did not appear.

So I will leave the picking of Teams to the EDFL Coaches I think.

Noted you have Victor Carboni at Full Back in your Team, only seen him play on the ball, maybe too short for FB :D

I will be watching this weekend Greenvale v Craigieburn, I dont expect a good hit out, but will take it as an opportunity to see what kids Craigieburn have going round.

Then its into the finals, I am going to try and make most finals games for the U14's as I can

Ahh I see , whilst I dont agree with your Team entirely ( We're all going to have different opinions ) I do appreciate the time you have spent putting it together and you may have opened my eyes to some players I haven't noticed, I hope I have done the same for you.

Well I witnessed a great game of Football on Sunday ( all be it form the warm confines of the Car ) Greenvale v West Coburg, fast paced finals game played in great spirits.

I was keen to watch number 5 from West Coburg, who is touted by many as the best Under 14 at the moment, Jesse Martini, and I can see why.

Greenvale came out with hard at the ball football style play with an emphasis on tackling pressure. West Coburg seemed either unready for Greenvales emphasis on pressure , or just were unable to cope. The game was looking a one sided afair, that's not to say West Coburg ever waved the white flag, they kept battling and seemed to change their structure and game plan slightly after half time.

Jesse was clearly the best West Coburg player with a highlight of the day taking the tap from the Ruckman at the centre bounce, running with the flow of the ball, strode out and set the forward up for a goal, which was sadly missed. He was let down by some other players not playing with the same urgency.
From an outsider looking in he needs to work harder on the loose ball, Gene Vocale his direct opponent and Brandon Marlow for Greenvale controlled the Center all day and help set Greenvale up for a win.
Gene Vocale on the day was clearly Best on the Ground, but needs to work on his delivery of the football more, at times it seems rushed resulting in some average kicking.

To West Coburgs credit and with a strong last quarter wind and 5 goals behind, they clawed their way back and ended up only losing by 7 points.

Will be looking at Aberfeldie v Greenvale next week, I hope the weather is better.
Looking to see who will manup on Victor Carboni for the game, my guess it would be Marlowe as he has more of a defensive game set to Vocale for Greenvale.

Keilor v Pacco should be another interesting game, eager to hear from some of the others who've been watching

Thanks for the detailed report Abers, great for some of us that cant attend being able to read about the description of the game and how you seen it pan out.

Sadly the Oak Park Coaching Staff failed to notice the players you've mentioned.

Votes going to

Brad Cox (1st Best )
Mitch Leathens ( 2nd )
Samuel Purini ( 3rd)
Anthony Defazio ( 4th )
Jesse Huf ( 5th )
Vijay Dennio ( 6th )

Looking at the season also "H" seems to regularly get excluded from Oak Parks best having only been voted 6 times in the whole Season.

Might be time for a Club change for the young fellow ;)

here we go now im accused of being rick , my name is dom ...thats easy answer sir, firstly obvioulsy u dont understand that they werent the best players but the club has as all junior clubs do to name the best players at random...enough said,, u werent at the game and u know what if you know his father why dont you ask him if he knows anything about this stuff... i can tell you now he loves his boy but he does not overdo it ..like any father..anyway do i detect jealousy...interesting isnt it..enoguh said.. the question remains is the boy a good footballer or not?..you tell me guys..and i find it sad that you hit low and bring his dad into it.

Dont get upset, you should be in school most of your comments are made on school days during school times. Also why aren't you supporting your own club Aberfeldie 14's are still in finals. But instead your giving game summaries on Hadfield V Oak Park games ????????????:):confused:

I wasn't aware he had been to 5 Clubs , assuming he started at aged 8, he has changed Clubs every year.

The two posters Panther and Abbers do construct sentences in the same incorrect way and do not use capital letters in the correct way, but its not for me to say they are one and the same. It can be easily viewed they are the same by any Admin to this Forum. When you do go on the Internet your not actually anonymous at all, these two posters will have the same IP address, this should be able to be seen by any Admin and or Moderator.

Abbers v Greenvale First Semi Final

We drove down to Westmeadows for this game on Sunday. found our way into the Club out of the strong gale blowing. I'm glad we did to, a big thank you to the Ladies of Westmeadows who had us feasting on Hot Roast Pork Rolls, I'm sure I gained 5kgs by days end.

The game started and Greenvale came out running and I think Abbers were a little taken back and took a while to adjust to the pace. Looking at the two Teams Abbers looked the more confident side and has many talented players.
Greenvales Centre of Trotta, Marlow and Vocale dominated from the first bounce, and the matchup of Cabone and Marlow only really eventuated for the the first quarter with Marlow just slightly on top of Carbone for that quarter.

My pick for the game and funny he dosent show up as one of Abers best players is number 12 Chris Horomidis, a bigger player who can run, mark and kick with the best of them. I probably spent way to much time watching Chris and missed alot of the other goings on in the game, but thats just how I like to view it. I believe Chris if has the desire could go a long way in Football.

Greenvale used the ball badly with the wind but Mcalleff Greenvales full forward slotted his second through with a beautiful left foot goal . I was interested to see how he would go against the wind, but for some reason the greenvale coaching panel moved him to Full Back. Greenvale now had no key target in the 3rd quarter and didnt kick enough golas in that term

4th Quarter and Abers with the wind it was only a matter of time before they got in front and ended up winning comfortably. Well done to the Abbers coach who had the upper hand on the day.

Will be interested to see how far Abbers can go, but well done to the Boys you play good clean football and it was a pleasure to watch you guys.

Big Congrats to Jesse Martinin on winning the EDFL B&F, Jesse is a deserved winner and I look forward to being able to watch him play more into the future.

PACCO Launches and Shoots Abbers Down

Preliminary Final Abbers v Pacco. I must say I'm surprised and I guess underestimated Pacco, I looked at the Abbers Team with the Players they have and in form at the right time, and thought they would win comfortably.

Sadly due to the old Panel Van not wanting to start we only managed to catch the last Quarter and a half and to be fair didnt get to see Abbers great start to the game.
From my limited perspective of the game Alan from Pacco was great and Horomidis once again impressed me.

Anybody else catch the whole game ? Maybe you could give us an idea of what went wrong with Abbers from 2nd Quarter onwards or what Pacco did right to shut them down.

Looking forward to next weeks Grand Final the Mighty Keilor take on a hungry Pacco.

See you all there :footy:

Didn't see the game but always thought Pacco were the 2nd best team in the comp by a fair way. I'm surprised by the margin given the conditions.

Should be a vey good final. I'll go with Keilor by a couple of goals.

I'll probably be heading to Sewell Reserve to watch my sons old team playing the very strong Jacana side in the Div 3 final.

Hey Auckmel how do you come to the conclusion that Jose is confirmed as coach of DS Under 14 Div 1. I can tell you that applications have not even been considered as yet - and all positions are up for grabs. He has shown interest but has definitely not yet been appointed.

footydude67 said:
Hey Auckmel how do you come to the conclusion that Jose is confirmed as coach of DS Under 14 Div 1.

Just the talk I'd heard.

footydude67 said:
I can tell you that applications have not even been considered as yet - and all positions are up for grabs. He has shown interest but has definitely not yet been appointed.

Yep, understand that, but as I said, just what I've heard.

I can see where Footydude67 is coming from, if you were a candidate for the Coaching Position you would be very disapointed your application wasn't even being considered .

That said you dont get the opportunity to appoint many ex AFL players to the role of U14 Coach, but he still must be weighed up against the other applicants. I'm sure the Club would base the appointment on who is the best candidate and bring the most to a Team who realistically struggled badly finishing second bottom, although they do have a good core bunch of players there to work with, however 2 of the better players I believe Bellino and Anderson, go into U16 next year .

yes i agree with you those are very good players but remmember that the talent at the moment is very scarce so that when i see a kid like that at oak park my eyes glisten and i shudder to think what that young boy (hisham in the 14s in his first year at that level) will be like in the next two years or so.in reagrd to doutta stars i havent seen much in recent times but i must admit that there is two or three first year under 14 players who are holding their own, especially a young fella by the name of sean stewart who i beleive has a huge future in front of him.another player playing well is young josh cauchi for pascoe vale fc. t i beleive we keep an eye out as these are the future of the AFL.:thumbsu::)
Top Panther, you are correct regarding the talent pool at Doutta Stars at the moment - it is a little thin but that will cange next year with the likes of Sean Stewart & Bruno Laguda only bottom age this year. They have a great ruckman with huge potential playing Div 4 at the moment and dominating in Cayden McColl. Throw in some good Under 12 boys that will be coming up to Under 14 next year in Michael Romero, Nick Zoccali and Brendan Canham and they are starting to look ok. If I am not mistaken these 3 boys all finished in the top 10 in the league B&F with Romero taking it out. Things are looking ok for next year I think.

Young guns playing under 14s(future stars)