mantis

Hall of Famer
30k Posts 10k Posts
Bombers
Just wondering what peoples ambitions are in life.
For the older posters, have you achieved them & if not has it adversely affected your life?
Younger posters, what are you striving to achieve?

I wanted to be a Vet but didn't happen, still instead I have 2 beautiful children, I have a good job which I am happy with, lots of good friends & am not too poor, still I would like to return to Melbourne & hope that I may eventually get a job working with animals, so all in all, even though I didn't achieve my ambition, I am still happy with my lot in life. :D

Re: Re: Your ambitions

Originally posted by JUBJUB

Is that 2 human children or is Kenny considered one of your children ?

OI be nice now, OK I have 3 beautiful children, a son, a daughter & Kenny.:D

I've been able to travel, I've experienced many wonderful (and not so wonderful) things in my life and I'm about to realise one of my biggest ambitions............to become an educator of the people responsible for our future. I promise to not deliberately turn too many of them into free thinking individuals. ;)
My main ambition with teaching is to have someone say, one day, that I helped them to question things and that I helped them want to change stuff that they're not happy with. To have a positive influence on a students life would be my main ambition.

I still have an ambition to travel some more and when I retire, I hope to travel around Australia in a camper van, probably until I die.

Originally posted by Santos L Helper
I'm about to realise one of my biggest ambitions............to become an educator of the people responsible for our future

Good luck!

I taught for a couple of years - it CAN be VERY VERY rewarding when you see the lights go on in the students minds.... but it can be also VERY VERY frustrating when some students smash those same lights!

A job full of highs and lows (extremely so), and if you like to live like that you'll be successful at it.

Towards the end I just wanted a job that was a little more 'levelled out':p (and I.T pays a HELLUVA lot better too
:p )

Good luck with it.

I look forward to hearing your musings on your 'prac teaching' (if you haven't already done it).
It's not easy, but you're best bet is to go in, act like a total nazi, and then progressively back off and chill out once you have them sussed.

If you go in too loose, and then try to tighten them up, they'll eat you alive!;)

Good advice Mr Bomber, but what ages did you teach?

High School - all years. Mostly mid years (yr 9-10), but I did take a Year 12 class - very rewarding (even though it was only General Studies! :D )

my ambitions in life is to work in the tourism industry to some degree. aiming for tourism operations, ie front of house etc and at the moment starting at the bar level with waitressing etc.

i wanted to play professional basketball, but injury prevented me from doing so, but i would luv to be involved with coaching littlies or something like that. Right now my main ambition is to move to melbourne and be happy. :) which will hopefully happen this year

Originally posted by SydneyBomber

High School - all years. Mostly mid years (yr 9-10), but I did take a Year 12 class - very rewarding (even though it was only General Studies! :D )

I'm going to teach R-7, so it may be a little different with the kids attitudes. I figure I'll get them before they're too corrupted by 'the system'.

well, for me ive been in the I.T industry for nearly 2 years now, so luckily i got into the field i wanted to

im looking to maybe move to Sydney in about 2 years and move into a much larger company (more pay too!! :p ) and see how things go from there

so, all in all, everythings looking ok for now (im only 20 tho, i still have room for dissapointment) ;)

I'm going to teach R-7, so it may be a little different with the kids attitudes. I figure I'll get them before they're too corrupted by 'the system'.

Too true...:(

By the time some of the kids got to my class, they were so mangled, it was almost a lost cause.
:mad: :(

Unfortunately, there is only so much you can do for them - you just have to learn (the hard way) that you can't always reach ALL of them.

Sad but true I'm afraid.:(

well i ahve a number of ambitons in my life
in no particular order
1. grow taller than my sister (almost there :D)
2. go to the brownlows (as a date not a waitress or something)
3. become a vet
4. have fun because and don't stress becaus eu only live once...that u can remember anyway

Well, in two days I start Year 12.
I want to do well and get the OP I need (OP is like Victoria's VCE) and get into the Journalism degree at Griffith University- Gold Coast Campus. (Even though I really dislike the Gold Coast)

I also have strong ambitions to travel. I would love to backpack UK or USA with a few friends in the near future.

I am just going to take life as it comes.

Originally posted by NICK THE PIE MAN
I want to do well and get the OP I need

I never have known someone to actually want to get Osteitis Pubis! :p ;)

Anyway, my ambitions...

Get the ENTER and test scores needed for Journalism at RMIT. Once there to do well, and land a cadetship. Work my way through the sports journalism ranks, and eventually become a successful sports journo.

I want to be happy. So simple, yet so hard. I want to settle down with a girl in my big house in Brighton. I want a kid or two. I want an indoor pool and spa in that house, as well as a tennis court. :)

I want to travel. Oh how I want to travel! I haven't been anywhere special so far, and there is so much of the world to see outside of this place. I love Australia, but I wanna see what everywhere is else is like, and come back with perhaps a new perception of our place in the world. I wanna travel everywhere, not just America and England, but South America, Asia, Russia, Europe, Africa...just everywhere.

One of my ambitions is to watch a Manchester United game at Old Trafford. I might have to write a blank cheque to the PLC or someone, but I have to do that.

I have so many ambitions, and I basically want to lead a life, and not be bogged down in a suburban lifestyle forever.

The Hitman

P.S. Nick, depending on how smart and how serious you are at Journalism, I'd try for RMIT. By far the best Journalism course in the land, and it'd bring you closer to your 'Pies... ;)

If anyone is doing year 12 this year, I'd almost suggest some way of talking or helping each other. I reckon that'd be good, and useful too. Just an idea.

Good luck!

I taught for a couple of years - it CAN be VERY VERY rewarding when you see the lights go on in the students minds.... but it can be also VERY VERY frustrating when some students smash those same lights!

A job full of highs and lows (extremely so), and if you like to live like that you'll be successful at it.

Towards the end I just wanted a job that was a little more 'levelled out':p (and I.T pays a HELLUVA lot better too
:p )

Same as me. I wanted to teach for as long as I can remember. I achieved that ambition teaching years 8 and 9. It was very rewarding and most of the kids were great, but I became frustrated with the education system. I stuck it out for two years before I returned to uni full time and did a BA in media and communications. Now I work with pollies!

As for other ambitions. To own a home at Red Bill Beach, Bicheno in Tassie. About to achieve that too. Well almost. I am about to move to Hobart anyhow, that's half way to my ambition at least.

A couple of other ambitions that didn't quite make it:
To grow taller, ummm errr, I am still a piss ant at 5'2". Don't think it's going to happen.:D

And to find a cure for a hangover at least that one is still possible.
God knows, I've been working at it!

My dream is to do a stand up comedy act alongside Jerry Seinfeld. I know, I know, it's probably never going to happen but I can always dream!!

I want to see a game of soccer but I want to see the best team, Liverpool play at Anfield. :) That would be so cool and I might tie in a couple of ashes tests, depending on the timing.

I just want to do whatever makes me happy. That's the main thing. I dont really mind where I live or what I do, as long as I am smiling then it's worth it.

SeinDude

Originally posted by The Hitman

I might have to write a black cheque....

I'm guessing that a youngster like yourself hasn't actually owned a Cheque account yet...

Otherwise, you may need to write a 'blank' cheque.
;)

Kids get corrupted by the system on the day they start school.

I'm guessing that a youngster like yourself hasn't actually owned a Cheque account yet...

Otherwise, you may need to write a 'blank' cheque.
;)

D'oh! Fixed. ;)

The Hitman

Originally posted by mantis
For the older posters, have you achieved them & if not has it adversely affected your life?

I wanted to be a Vet but didn't happen, still instead I have 2 beautiful children, I have a good job which I am happy with, lots of good friends & am not too poor, still I would like to return to Melbourne & hope that I may eventually get a job working with animals, so all in all, even though I didn't achieve my ambition, I am still happy with my lot in life. :D

Yes , I achieved my ambitions, a pass in Education that would get me a good job, a wonderfull Wife, 3 Beautifull Children, & a secure job that paid good Money.
Then my World collapsed, Our youngest died from S. I. D. S at the age of 10 Months ( Cot Death ).
My Beautifull Wife was killed in an accident.
My Son & Daughter have grown up & left home & got lives of their own.
But I've got my Pussy Cat ( Noosan Poosan ) which roughly translated means, Nuisance Pussy ) & The North Melb. Footy Club.
So forgive me if I hang on too tightly to the only things I've got left in this sheeeet life that I've lived.
Cheers,
The Munster.
P.S I Love your Posts. :)

Originally posted by mantis

Couldn't be happier really.

In Andreas, Greta and Natasha I have three of the most beautiful children you can imagine. Along with my spouse we live comfortably and have all that we need. I can probably afford the choice of schooling I believe will best suit the children's talents.
Having a happy family life of my own was always the most important ambition and I have achieved that.

My ambition to play for my beloved Bulldogs will not be fulfilled but I have loved every moment of my 28 years os supporting them despite some of the trauma and despair they have caused me. Otherwise my career in my other passion music also didn't take off but it wasn't through lack of trying. Now I have a well paid job which has enabled me to see the world and has afforded me a home and an investment property and possibly a retail business in the near future.

So really there is little for me to complain about. Life is often how you manage it. That has generally been my view. My parents unfortunately cannot say the same in their circumstances. It was their handling of life's crises that I learnt so much from.

Well I haven't worked out all of my ambitions yet, I'm still 'pondering'. But anyway this is what I've got so far.
I want to get through year 12 and go to uni. I haven't worked out what uni course I want to do yet but I'm working on it. Perhaps sports medicine or media.
I would like to travel around the world to places that are unknown and not overly tourist-attracting! I want to fully discover Australia aswell.
I want to enjoy my 20's as much as possible. I want to experience life! I really want to enjoy it and not get bogged down with the harsh reality of life and what it can throw at you.
I'd like to settle down after a while in a nice house (perhaps move house every now and again) with a nice guy - someone who wants to do stuff not just sit around all day.