Your Expectation.

• Thread starter Thread starter Freo95

not under the current coach and administration

so the resigning of connolly midseason was a smart move? our chairman giving our club at the end of last season a tick is a good move?....hmmm i think not. admittedly the financial side of things have vastly improved kudos to them ....but apart from stopping us existing as a club the whole i dea is success

Freo1995 said:
Does anyone expect freo to make a grand final appearance within the next 5 years?
Yes. And I am hoping more than one.
I know that negativity toward Freo is becoming popular amongst our supporters, but I honestly think Connolly will take us to a flag in the next 3-5 years.

Almost all of our most influential players are 25 or younger (ie Pav, Hase, Josh, JLo, Medders, McPharlin, Headland), and some of our under 23's are starting to make a mark already (ie Sandi, Schammer, Thornton, Polak, Mundy, Johnson, Dodd, Crowley, Peake). There are also a few more who have the potential to be anything.

Add to that a coach who is realistic and not just coaching for the short term. I am very confident we will have success within that timeframe. Anyone who thinks our window is closing anytime soon is being very pessimistic.

Roundhouse said:
Yes. And I am hoping more than one.
I know that negativity toward Freo is becoming popular amongst our supporters, but I honestly think Connolly will take us to a flag in the next 3-5 years.

Almost all of our most influential players are 25 or younger (ie Pav, Hase, Josh, JLo, Medders, McPharlin, Headland), and some of our under 23's are starting to make a mark already (ie Sandi, Schammer, Thornton, Polak, Mundy, Johnson, Dodd, Crowley, Peake). There are also a few more who have the potential to be anything.

Add to that a coach who is realistic and not just coaching for the short term. I am very confident we will have success within that timeframe. Anyone who thinks our window is closing anytime soon is being very pessimistic.

Agreed however we cannot really afford to be optimistic in our mindset (players and supporters) otherwise we'll believe to be an eventuallity and won't end up happening

If we get a lift in the mid field thru either improvement or recruiting then anything is possible. Watch that forward line transform with good delivery.

Seriously. Next year.
Were I work we have to apply for leave way way in advance. Ive been planning to have the last week in September off in 2007 since we had our run of wins in the second part of last season. We will be cherry ripe next year.

Now most would laugh at that but you have to have a plan. That's mine:)

Geez , havn't we got some half empty glasses.

I predict we will be in a position to challenge this year even hitting the top 4 around round 17.

We need 6 out of 12 to make the finals , 15 will get us top 4 or even top 2.

We won 6 out of 8 at the end of last year.

We are well placed despite spluttering along on 5 cylinders with 5 away games and 7 home games left.

We have already seen huge improvement this year in the lesser lights this year in Dodd , Peake , Crowley , Johnson not to mention Josh Carr , Macca & Headland.

We have blokes burning up in the WAFL for the first time ever putting pressure on spots.

Don't forget in 2004 We touched up Brisbane just as badly in Perth and they went on to win the Flag.

Have some confidence people. We need to get the 19th man thing happening at home games like in 2003 all game to drive them home.

RIPPER_46 said:

I predict we will be in a position to challenge this year even hitting the top 4 around round 17.

We are well placed despite spluttering along on 5 cylinders with 5 away games and 7 home games left.

We have already seen huge improvement this year in the lesser lights this year in Dodd , Peake , Crowley , Johnson not to mention Josh Carr , Macca & Headland.

We have blokes burning up in the WAFL for the first time ever putting pressure on spots.

Don't forget in 2004 We touched up Brisbane just as badly in Perth and they went on to win the Flag.

Have some confidence people. We need to get the 19th man thing happening at home games like in 2003 all game to drive them home.

There is no concrete evidence that we can win a flag. We are back to the day when we are getting belted away by teams who are not top 4.

We may have seen the improvement of some but the decline of, Haselby, Longmuir, McPharlin, Hadrill, Parker, Matt Carr, Walker and Hayden has more than off set this.

Where are we at? will we improve from middle of the road in reality?

RIPPER_46 said:

You are seriously delusional. Who out of West Coast, Adelaide, Collingwood or Sydney is going to drop out of the four to allow you in, (presuming you even win another nine games, I would say seven was your best case scenario). Then there is Melbourne, above you and playing much better football.
By the way, very pleased that you managed to "touch up" Brisbane in 2004, however I believe Port Adelaide were the Premiers that year!

West Coast 06 said:
You are seriously delusional. Who out of West Coast, Adelaide, Collingwood or Sydney is going to drop out of the four to allow you in, (presuming you even win another nine games, I would say seven was your best case scenario). Then there is Melbourne, above you and playing much better football.
By the way, very pleased that you managed to "touch up" Brisbane in 2004, however I believe Port Adelaide were the Premiers that year!
As a newbie, you may not be aware that it's not the done thing to say nasty things on our board...
We came home with 6 out of 8 last year, so anything is possible...
We're doing ok at home where last year we couldn't buy a win so anything's possible...

docker_johnno said:
There is no concrete evidence that we can win a flag. We are back to the day when we are getting belted away by teams who are not top 4.

We may have seen the improvement of some but the decline of, Haselby, Longmuir, McPharlin, Hadrill, Parker, Matt Carr, Walker and Hayden has more than off set this.

Where are we at? will we improve from middle of the road in reality?
What do you mean?
Of course there is no concrete evidence to predict future outcomes. There never is in footy. This thread is about what we expect, not about what we can quantifiably prove.

Most of those players you mentioned have had injuries this year, and or are getting over serious existing ones. I don't necessarily think that means they have gone backwards as players as you are suggesting.

Will we improve from middle of the road in reality? Yes!

I think every fan of every club should expect GF appearances. BUgger this reasonable expectation crap - it just all needs to click and most lists can get there in any given year, let alone next 5 years.

I mean we are 6-4 and have played well below my expectations in most games this year. Simple things like kicks vaguely going to players and we would probably be a couple of games further up the ladder.

I don't think rebuilding is a good enough excuse, and efforts like the Dons are dishing out would leave me gutted, like they did in 2001. Sure you can miss finals, but a wooden spoon or bottom 4 means more than a bad list - but that there are fundamental problems and time for a change.

I just can;t wait for the lads to realise what a great team we have, and to just put the boot to leather and trust the teammate to win the contest.

Lach72 said:
As a newbie, you may not be aware that it's not the done thing to say nasty things on our board...
We came home with 6 out of 8 last year, so anything is possible...
We're doing ok at home where last year we couldn't buy a win so anything's possible...
The point is that the teams already in the four are 1,2 and 3 games ahead of you already. Even if Freo pulled out a miracle and won nine games these other teams would have to drop games they are expected to win to make room for you. None of the top four teams are struggling for form at the moment.
Just because you win 15 games it doesn't give you automatic entry into the four, if the teams above you have more than 15 wins. Do you see how this works?

West Coast 06 said:
The point is that the teams already in the four are 1,2 and 3 games ahead of you already. Even if Freo pulled out a miracle and won nine games these other teams would have to drop games they are expected to win to make room for you. None of the top four teams are struggling for form at the moment.
Just because you win 15 games it doesn't give you automatic entry into the four, if the teams above you have more than 15 wins. Do you see how this works?

The top 4 still have to play one another completely.

http://allthestats.com/fun/ladpredict.php

Run thought that and I reckon you will find Brisbane will make the eight also.

West Coast 06 said:
Yeah mate, I'm a little slow on the uptake but I'm finally catching on :rolleyes:

You mean like Richmond > Adelaide and Freo > WCE?

West Coast 06 said:

I stand corrected. They still made there 4th grand fianl in a row and if that game showed anything it is how important having fit ruckmen are as They were pinch hitting in the ruck (much the same as we did in rounds 7, 8 , 9 & part of round 10) after 1/4 time when Keating went down.

Who was 4 games clear on top last year and finished 2nd?

Expect is a strong word- too much comes down to chance or elements outside our own control. Just ask St kilda fans about expectations- weren't they supposed to have a premiership by now?

The 6 from 8 that we achieved last year was as much to do with the draw as anything else. After the Adelaide game last year I thought we'd get 5 in a row then stumble in the last 3. Got St kilda wrong- but the rest was not particularly surprising.

This year top 4 would have to be an outside shot. The only one that I would think might stumble would be Collingwood- and that doesn't look likely at the moment. At this stage anything over 12 -13 wins will be a bonus- and take a change in form.
This is better than I thought at the start of the season- we've come through the tough part of our draw better than I expected. To have beaten two of the contenders (which the saints were at the time) bodes well.

I'm hoping we're on the right track but i don't expect anything in terms of GFs. When we can play with more consistency I might change that opinion slightly.

Well, being the eternal optimist, I have a bit of hard earned on the Dockers for this year.

If we end up in a top four position, who's to say that we couldn't beat Adelaide or West Coast?

Do you pessimists out there believe we would have no chance against other teams come finals time? That would be crazy considering we have already beaten the Eagles this year and come within 2 goals of Adelaide when we played a shocker!