25.3​
Cohuna GC​
Huntingdale-Cranbourne GC​
18​
Golden Beach GC​

Last edited by a moderator:
dont like the tone of your post.

Unsure if serious.

Looking at the google map thing you posted the course looks very very open. Do you find wind to be an issue?

Unsure if serious.

Looking at the google map thing you posted the course looks very very open. Do you find wind to be an issue?

i wasnt sure if your post was srs too. i think we both accept they werent now!

yes the course is very open. there are only moonah trees on the moonah course. beautiful trees, stunning really.

wind an issue? ive gotten used to it, although on some of the other courses at teh club (ocean and old courses) it hurts. wait, on all 3 strong headwinds hurt big time. ocean course the greens are so slick and exposed to the wind coming off bass strait. putt downhill with the wind, so much as fart and the ball ends up 20m off the green.

to answer your question, everything in golf is an issue, im pretty used to the wind there and play the courses accordingly.

put me on a suburban course and my game fails

Played again today but this time at Marangaroo. Great course not too busy as well which was good, shot 112 which is a good improvement on last week. Had about 8 par putts which all ending up being bogeys though couldn't really cope with the pressure of this crowd that was watching me :p:thumbsu:

yering meadows

no comp, just a hit.

homestead course.

fairways in ok condition. some rough is just that. no shrubs, just barren land. reminds me of public parks where grass has died. shithouse.

lots of flies there.

duck shit on greens (cause there's water and ducks there).

some bunkers bugger all sand. inconsistent.

people there are rude.

yering meadows

no comp, just a hit.

homestead course.

fairways in ok condition. some rough is just that. no shrubs, just barren land. reminds me of public parks where grass has died. shithouse.

lots of flies there.

duck shit on greens (cause there's water and ducks there).

some bunkers bugger all sand. inconsistent.

people there are rude.

Played there around 6 months ago but was lucky enough that condition was far better than what you have encountered. The locals were all very dismissive of our group also, almost felt like we were intruding.

Don't even get me started on that shooting range right next door....

For any of you looking to venture a little further to play a round of golf give Broadford or Kilmore a try, usually very quiet and peaceful and pretty good tracks while being only 45 mins from the CBD

Played there around 6 months ago but was lucky enough that condition was far better than what you have encountered. The locals were all very dismissive of our group also, almost felt like we were intruding.

Don't even get me started on that shooting range right next door....

For any of you looking to venture a little further to play a round of golf give Broadford or Kilmore a try, usually very quiet and peaceful and pretty good tracks while being only 45 mins from the CBD

i have played at YM many times due to family member being a member, and also our associate company having an annual golf day there.

but on many occasions people have told me that members there as a whole are dickheads. rude. in fact my relative got into push and shove with some players. he was not in the wrong, but the players behind hit balls at him and his group. then they told my relative that "in this country we have manners" (my relo and i are asian).

confirmed yesterday, i mean players walking around with shirts out, footy caps and shirts, no golf shoes.... although the course is in a beautiful setting and location, they do attract people from the hills.

my experience there and stories heard make me mad. in my years at The National I have never had a problem with members or guests. sure the shirts tuck in rule maybe draconian, but it screams class and respect for members, guests and the club.

my friend Look2Me4Guidance is a member at Northern, and i dont think they have knobs like this.

shooting range and airport nearby, nothing can be done about it so its not an issue for me.

Played at RACV club Torquay last Sunday. Set up is great for lunch etc. Made the mistake of going with the Fiancee and her parents. Made the mistake of having big lunch first. Hit 54 for 9 holes. Course is ok but far too dry at the moment.

Playing Brighton tomorrow. Haven't played there for about 8 years i think so should be interesting.

Also have a lesson at MGA on Sunday which will hopefully help.

3 day weekend at murray downs coming up.

Comp is 4 man irish stableford on Saturday. .anyone got any idea wtf that is?

Either they take your combined stableford score as a 4 man group or they'll take the stableford score of you and your marker (as a pair). Then there's some difference in the scores they take depending on the hole (with regards to what score is included in the overall score).

Just score yourself as if playing a single stableford.

I don't know why they bother playing different variations of stableford.

Either they take your combined stableford score as a 4 man group or they'll take the stableford score of you and your marker (as a pair). Then there's some difference in the scores they take depending on the hole (with regards to what score is included in the overall score).

Just score yourself as if playing a single stableford.

I don't know why they bother playing different variations of stableford.

Thats different again.
Could be interesting. From what I can gauge you play as a 4. First 6 holes best 2 scores count, next 6 holes best 3 scores count and final 6 holes all scores count.
Prob wont remember it anyway but should be fun whatever format it ends up being

Thats different again.
Could be interesting. From what I can gauge you play as a 4. First 6 holes best 2 scores count, next 6 holes best 3 scores count and final 6 holes all scores count.

Superb place up there. Have stayed on course many a time. The courtesy bus into town has lead to many shenanigans!

Every 2nd year we go..locals are great fun. Course is always good

Thats different again.

Yep it should be roughly that format. As long as you keep your own score I guess thats all you need to do.

3 day weekend at murray downs coming up.

Comp is 4 man irish stableford on Saturday. .anyone got any idea wtf that is?

This is my home club! I've never played Irish stableford but a mate told me the first few holes every players score of recorded, followed by the next few it's the top 3 scores per hole and so on till it's the best score for the last few holes

Love the track, we'll be having an ale or two Saturday arvo

'Tis a good course. Fairly lucky to live so close to it. You playing morning or arvo? I haven't played for a few weeks so I'm actually pretty keen.

There's a 4BBB on Sunday as well I think I might have a crack at. Depending if I have a half decent round Saturday :rolleyes: