80​
-​
-​
78​
-​
Sorrento​
Cups WR​

When playing comp, what is the furthest point at which you'll measure your ball on a par 3 and put yourself down for nearest to the hole? I keep seeing people measuring 12-14m. A guy actually won some balls today on almost 10m :huh:

1. its gotta land on the green.
2. did you see anyone else come within 10?

Depends on the length and difficulty of the par 3

I am not sure what length of the hole has anything to do with eligibility of NTP

When playing comp, what is the furthest point at which you'll measure your ball on a par 3 and put yourself down for nearest to the hole? I keep seeing people measuring 12-14m. A guy actually won some balls today on almost 10m :huh:
On an easy par 3, I will not go over 3m in a decent field. On a difficult par 3, up to 10m, especially in a small field.

FWIW the hole where 10m won the balls today is a 98-118m par 3 and has the smallest green on the course. Field was ~150.

peternorth I understand eligibility, I'm more talking about at what point do you bother measuring. I know I wouldn't be getting the pin out and measuring 10-14m.

FWIW the hole where 10m won the balls today is a 98-118m par 3 and has the smallest green on the course. Field was ~150.

peternorth I understand eligibility, I'm more talking about at what point do you bother measuring. I know I wouldn't be getting the pin out and measuring 10-14m.

Also depends on tee time.
If 10 metres early group i don't bother
If 10 metres late in the day then yes

After some opinions on the best public courses in Melbourne?

Yarra Bend is a gem, Growling Frog, Eynesbury, and Devilbend also nice courses.

Looking to play something different Saturday, any recommendations?

St Andrews Beach (Mornington Peninsula region)

Yep, played the dunes recently as well which was a ripper.

Any suggestions on metro courses Toxic? Have you played Brighton or Malvern Valley?

Yes, don't rate either tbh.
Keysborough a great challenge, Patterson River both nice tracks.
Waterford Valley also but get a cert, its a long walk otherwise

st andrews beach

St Andrews Beach (Mornington Peninsula region)

what toxic said

keysborough is a private course isnt it? mate is member there

kingston links is ok, heard its closing down though.

always wondered about albert park

Cheers. Patterson River looks nice.

Playing Royal Melbourne next Monday for the first time. Can't wait! Hope it lives up to its reputation!

st andrews beach

what toxic said

keysborough is a private course isnt it? mate is member there

kingston links is ok, heard its closing down though.

always wondered about albert park

Keys i think you can get on each day except Saturdays

Tee time at midday today in this melbourne heat. If I don't make it back I hope my family don't mention my (high) handicap in the eulogy haha

We will donate your clubs to the fellas who are looking to get into golf in the other thread and name this thread in your honour. You will be gone but not forgotten.

Wiped my first two holes today, terrible start, then completely ran out of legs with 4 holes to go. Played in a group of 4. Me and a mate walking and two blokes in a cart. Trying to keep up in the heat was hard yakka.

Need to try play/practice more. When I took up the game I was addicted to it and would go hit balls at any opportunity. Now it's hard to find the motivation outside of playing outside of competition times.

Wiped my first two holes today, terrible start, then completely ran out of legs with 4 holes to go. Played in a group of 4. Me and a mate walking and two blokes in a cart. Trying to keep up in the heat was hard yakka.

Need to try play/practice more. When I took up the game I was addicted to it and would go hit balls at any opportunity. Now it's hard to find the motivation outside of playing outside of competition times.

Practice putting at home. Never underestimate the importance of being able to putt straight from 10ft.
Practice short game chip at home.

Benefits will be massive