Sorrento​
Cups WR​
25.3​
Cohuna GC​
Huntingdale-Cranbourne GC​
18​
Golden Beach GC​

Last edited by a moderator:
it is cognizant of the group or a member in the group to keep the group moving (i just said group a lot). in your case, the people behind you complaining should be reported for behaviour unbecoming. if they cant see that it's not your fault they should shut up.

if they want to hit and move asap then book in a 6.30am slot!

do you have marshals at your course?

Yeah we do, they do a good job but I suppose can't be everywhere at everytime.

My initial point wasn't that there are a lot of 'douches' on the golf course. It was just that compared with other sports I've played there seem to be more per capita.

may i ask the circumstance? were they guests? competition?

There was no competition going on, it was a Friday morning and I know comps are only on Tuesday/Wednesdays there. I would have to assume the main dude was a guest as he had one of the clubs buggies. They were just very very impatient. It's not as though we could have gone past 2 groups of six. I understood it was going to be a slow day but that's golf I suppose.

I could see that young kids could be shits as well, whenever I have played at good courses (as uncommon it is) the etiquette seems to be far better than that at a public course. Just makes me want to become a member somewhere even more.

I played today as well at another local course, my slice is coming back from the tee but still managed an average score for me at the moment (47).

Unless I'm just playing a 'quick 9' before having to go somewhere. I actually enjoy slow pace of play (having to wait around, not going slowly myself).

are you playing alone at the time? if so do you find it liberating?

ive played 18 a few times alone. it's surreal that you're out on your own for 3-4 hours and not talking to anyone

are you playing alone at the time? if so do you find it liberating?

ive played 18 a few times alone. it's surreal that you're out on your own for 3-4 hours and not talking to anyone

I get the same feeling whether I play alone or with other people.

Usually during the week if I can get out I play 9 in the afternoon. On a weekend I usually play comps.

I play better when I play with other people (usually) but I find playing by myself a lot of the time is more relaxing and I guess liberating. I move at my own pace and usually look for balls on holes where I know people often lose them.

I really want to play a round by myself to see how I go, it would be really relaxing I think. I think I would play a heap better as well, pressure absolutely destroys me!

I always play by myself ( I don't have any mates I suppose) and find it hard to play in groups as I'm always walking off at my own pace. Used to live in Tassie and was a member at Tasmania golf Club. In summer I would tee off about 5pm and could easily get 18 in, often I'd be the ONLY person on the course.
My last round was 6 over on the back nine at Derrimut, doubled both the par 3's, but drove over the back on the 11th.

I always play by myself ( I don't have any mates I suppose) and find it hard to play in groups as I'm always walking off at my own pace. Used to live in Tassie and was a member at Tasmania golf Club. In summer I would tee off about 5pm and could easily get 18 in, often I'd be the ONLY person on the course.
My last round was 6 over on the back nine at Derrimut, doubled both the par 3's, but drove over the back on the 11th.
:thumbsu:

A small benefit about being from Tassie. Not a bad track Tassie either.

Love being able to walk on the course some days and come seeing absolutely no one.
Looking for and finding balls is second only to playing.
Can't agree with you there. Hate looking for golf balls.

If i'm just having a social round by myself i use some old balls, just so if i carve it into the trees i don't have to worry about it too much.

Can't agree with you there. Hate looking for golf balls.

If i'm just having a social round by myself i use some old balls, just so if i carve it into the trees i don't have to worry about it too much.

No no no sorry I mean, searching for other people's lost balls! Free balls.

So had a round today and want you guys to answer this.

So the 2nd tee and fairway go straight ahead. The 18th is quite literally next to a tee box and also goes straight ahead. So if you picture it, it would kind of look like a big L from above.

There was a group hitting off on the 18th and I was on the 2nd.

I tee'd off and began walking up the path towards my ball. I was right behind where the 18th tee off area is and one of the guys walked straight up to his ball and tee'd off. I didn't stop walking. He hit a poor shot and his friend an old man turned around to me and berated me asking where my manners were etc etc.

I'm always very courteous to other players and observe the proper etiquette out on the course (I think). Was I in the wrong? I was already walking by, on a different hole and he chose to walk up to hit ball and hit it. He could have waited 10 seconds for me to pass (I wasn't making noise anyway). Its not like I walked up on them as he was set ready to hit.

I would think that as long as your not in his line of sight or really close like sharing a tee box, you're fine. If they have to turn around to have a go, they're idiots.

So had a round today and want you guys to answer this.

So the 2nd tee and fairway go straight ahead. The 18th is quite literally next to a tee box and also goes straight ahead. So if you picture it, it would kind of look like a big L from above.

There was a group hitting off on the 18th and I was on the 2nd.

I tee'd off and began walking up the path towards my ball. I was right behind where the 18th tee off area is and one of the guys walked straight up to his ball and tee'd off. I didn't stop walking. He hit a poor shot and his friend an old man turned around to me and berated me asking where my manners were etc etc.

I'm always very courteous to other players and observe the proper etiquette out on the course (I think). Was I in the wrong? I was already walking by, on a different hole and he chose to walk up to hit ball and hit it. He could have waited 10 seconds for me to pass (I wasn't making noise anyway). Its not like I walked up on them as he was set ready to hit.

it maybe the fact ive been in the hot sun a lot, but i cant seem to imagine what the two fairways look like in together, and therefore can't follow your story. can you post a diagram?

Untitled.png

Tee 2 = on the left
Tee 18 = the right

Purple dot = where I was when he walked up to his ball to address it.
Yellow dot = when he hit

(I should also note that I had waited for the first member of the four man group to tee off)

I'm a modern day Picasso btw.

View attachment 41905

Tee 2 = on the left
Tee 18 = the right

Yellow dot = when he hit

(I should also note that I had waited for the first member of the four man group to tee off)

Love the diagram. :thumbsu: I would think you're alright if your not making heaps of noise or anything. Just a bad excuse for a bad shot.

I mean I had already waited for player one. I'm not waiting for 4 people. I was already walking past. It was his decision to hit.

View attachment 41905

Tee 2 = on the left
Tee 18 = the right

Yellow dot = when he hit

firstly and most importantly that is a fantastic diagram.

secondly i cant see that you did anything wrong without being there of course. perhaps you couldve waiting for him to hit then scoot off. but in reality golf is about the individual hitting the ball. if he or she hits it then he or she has no one to blame but themselves. hope it didnt ruin your round!

if i may, id like to share a similar story but thankfully with a different outcome.

i had just played a long par 5 12th (and didnt score). so i was in a bad mood. came to the 13th par 3 and realised i forgotten a club on the previous green. ran back to retrieve and told my mates to tee off already. they did. upon return my heart was racing due to running up and back, and also from rage. bladed the ball into the shrub grass some 60m in line with the green. i yelled "you FKIN IDIOT!!!". Turned to my left to see a group of 4 and the course marshal on the par 4 10th (windmill hole). one of the players looked at me and said "well you cant argue with the truth". i felt horrible for the rest of the round.

at completion i had a chat to the marshal (who i consider a mate there). he said they didnt mind, and in fact laughed about my outburst.

i am no picasso so i used google maps to hopefully help explain

20ia15s.jpg

blue =me
purple = 10th

edit: um, please ignore diagram. i dont think its right. actually ive majorly fked up

I mean I had already waited for player one. I'm not waiting for 4 people. I was already walking past. It was his decision to hit.
One of the key things is that you were already walking past, if you had started walking during his address then that would be a problem. If someone was walking past and then stopped during my address, that would be equally as distracting. Continuous noise is not a distraction ( if that makes sense).

firstly and most importantly that is a fantastic diagram.

secondly i cant see that you did anything wrong without being there of course. perhaps you couldve waiting for him to hit then scoot off. but in reality golf is about the individual hitting the ball. if he or she hits it then he or she has no one to blame but themselves. hope it didnt ruin your round!

if i may, id like to share a similar story but thankfully with a different outcome.

i had just played a long par 5 12th (and didnt score). so i was in a bad mood. came to the 13th par 3 and realised i forgotten a club on the previous green. ran back to retrieve and told my mates to tee off already. they did. upon return my heart was racing due to running up and back, and also from rage. bladed the ball into the shrub grass some 60m in line with the green. i yelled "you FKIN IDIOT!!!". Turned to my left to see a group of 4 and the course marshal on the par 4 10th (windmill hole). one of the players looked at me and said "well you cant argue with the truth". i felt horrible for the rest of the round.

at completion i had a chat to the marshal (who i consider a mate there). he said they didnt mind, and in fact laughed about my outburst.

i am no picasso so i used google maps to hopefully help explain

20ia15s.jpg

blue =me
purple = 10th

edit: um, please ignore diagram. i dont think its right. actually ive majorly fked up

maybe this is better

Yeah, still can't really picture it Pete, how about we catch up on the 1st tee this Sunday about 10am for a walk through so you can explain it.;)