Cups WR​
25.3​
Cohuna GC​
Huntingdale-Cranbourne GC​
18​
Golden Beach GC​

Last edited by a moderator:

That’s outrageous.

No wonder private golf clubs are struggling for members, outside of a few.

2 courses
ergo say 5.5k per course in joining fee
3k per annum in subs
i think that's not too bad.

Drofder how much is it to join YY?
Livonski same question for kingston heath?

there are heaps of courses that cost a lot less in yearly subs etc.

Id say golf needs an injection of juniors, more younger players joining. but then again, golf is a game that takes a lot of time, i mean 4 hours for a round. And largely individual. Something not overly appealing to youngsters

2 courses
ergo say 5.5k per course in joining fee
3k per annum in subs
i think that's not too bad.

there are heaps of courses that cost a lot less in yearly subs etc.

Id say golf needs an injection of juniors, more younger players joining. but then again, golf is a game that takes a lot of time, i mean 4 hours for a round. And largely individual. Something not overly appealing to youngsters

Even then, if those courses slashed joining fees, there'd be a marked increase in memberships.

The course I play at had no joining fee, which is a great selling point. The other courses in the area are extortionate in comparison.

Even then, if those courses slashed joining fees, there'd be a marked increase in memberships.

The course I play at had no joining fee, which is a great selling point. The other courses in the area are extortionate in comparison.

Fair point. How much should private courses charge to join and annual subs? Say Kingston Heath/Metro/Vic/RM?

IMO, having played at Royal Melbourne which is seen as the zenith, I'd say 5k a year would be fair and reasonable. If you had 1000 members paying 5k a year, that $5m in fees only.

Joining fees are another thing entirely. Being forced to pay five figures to have the privilege of paying 5k a year for golf seems ridiculous to me. Especially for people who take up golf at later date.

I understand these courses want to maintain some sense of exclusivity, but I reckon they could earn more by charging less.

Charge just enough to make a small profit. Sounds like a smartarse answer but it’s sort of true, they are not for profit.
Also need a balance sheet to fund capital projects (there’s always something going on) over and above maintenance.
$5 is about right for subs, joining is closer to $15 now I reckon.
And there’s a fair waiting list and a wait even after you get accepted. Suggests the price is not an issue.

Charge just enough to make a small profit. Sounds like a smartarse answer but it’s sort of true, they are not for profit.
Also need a balance sheet to fund capital projects (there’s always something going on) over and above maintenance.
$5 is about right for subs, joining is closer to $15 now I reckon.
And there’s a fair waiting list and a wait even after you get accepted. Suggests the price is not an issue.

Thank you. I think TennisPlayerAndy would be interested in this

IMO, having played at Royal Melbourne which is seen as the zenith, I'd say 5k a year would be fair and reasonable. If you had 1000 members paying 5k a year, that $5m in fees only.

Joining fees are another thing entirely. Being forced to pay five figures to have the privilege of paying 5k a year for golf seems ridiculous to me. Especially for people who take up golf at later date.

I understand these courses want to maintain some sense of exclusivity, but I reckon they could earn more by charging less.
I think you might be underestimating the cost of running a golf club. Big clubs will have a staff around 20-40 people to begin with. Add in costs for general maintenance such as equipment and horticultural expenses. Then plug in any costs for future major work and a few million in income will go pretty quickly. Keep in mind that these aren't courses where members are volunteering to mow the lawns.

15k just to join?

Steep.
I literally know of members of RM who don't play. We're so lucky to play golf in Australia when $15k per year is the top of the pile. In Europe and US, the game is unbelievably expensive if you want to be a member.
I once watched a show with Fred Couples and Mark Wahlberg playing at the Madison Club in California. I thought 'thats a beautiful course, I wonder how much to play"
Check this out.
Screenshot_2020-04-12-20-50-35.jpg
15 &5 is cheap. Respond when you've picked your jaw up off the floor.😆

I literally know of members of RM who don't play. We're so lucky to play golf in Australia when $15k per year is the top of the pile. In Europe and US, the game is unbelievably expensive if you want to be a member.
I once watched a show with Fred Couples and Mark Wahlberg playing at the Madison Club in California. I thought 'thats a beautiful course, I wonder how much to play"
Check this out.
View attachment 856858
15 &5 is cheap. Respond when you've picked your jaw up off the floor.😆

No doubt. Golf overseas is even more extortionate. We are lucky to have so many different courses publicly available.

I’d love to play at PB but spending a weeks wage to play, accommodation, caddy etc is ridiculous.

I’ve played Hamilton Island and I keep
telling myself that’s close enough. Haha.

I had the same discussion with someone about kingswood. He complained about the courses closure, was against the merge with Peninsula GC. It went on for a while, his main reason for his angst was that it was "a good course". I mean, he was really pissed off. I explained that the way it was going it would have to rely on the help of volunteers to as Bicco said mow the lawns, help out in the shop, etc. He did not consider anything like that.

oh and get this.....he wasn't even a member hahaha

No doubt. Golf overseas is even more extortionate. We are lucky to have so many different courses publicly available.

I’d love to play at PB but spending a weeks wage to play, accommodation, caddy etc is ridiculous.

I’ve played Hamilton Island and I keep
telling myself that’s close enough. Haha.

I had a tip to PB and its sister courses next month all ready to go. Now no go. :(

Played at discovery bay and clearwater bay in hong kong. Both amazing views and great time was had. Joining fee?

Clearwater - HK$5,000,000 (around 1 million AUD). hahahahha lol.

Played yesterday at the fantastic Kingston Beach golf course down in Hobart. it was so nice having everyone in pairs. we were never stopped during our 18 holes. Me and my playing partner hit our best scores on a proper 18 hole course.(109 and 89), probably helped by the above. I lost 4 balls and only hit 2 fairways, so to crack 110 is damn good for me. it was so nice being out on a course with the fresh air and rain. I already miss DLS, as the last couple of holes were tough to see. pretty much had to guess where the ball went.

feel sorry for all you Vics with your courses closed.

Played yesterday at the fantastic Kingston Beach golf course down in Hobart. it was so nice having everyone in pairs. we were never stopped during our 18 holes. Me and my playing partner hit our best scores on a proper 18 hole course.(109 and 89), probably helped by the above. I lost 4 balls and only hit 2 fairways, so to crack 110 is damn good for me. it was so nice being out on a course with the fresh air and rain. I already miss DLS, as the last couple of holes were tough to see. pretty much had to guess where the ball went.

feel sorry for all you Vics with your courses closed.

Oh yeah that’s right no more daylight savings. As you said last few holes [emoji874] are tough as to see! Well done on finishing and your best score mate.

Kingston beach. Is that like a cross between Kingston Heath and 13th beach haha. [emoji6]

Joining fees for the Sandbelt clubs (as at mid last year) ranged from $7.5k (YY) to $16k (RM). All other than YY are over $10k to join.

If you include the mandatory levy there is no club with annual subs under $5k.

I heard a shooter on radio complain about bans on hunting. He said he does it for food and should be exempt.
Add it to the grey list.
So many people fishing (excuse the pun) for loopholes.

On a side note just dropped my eldest daughter back to her mum in Yea.
Cops pulled me over on way down and on the way back.
Simply - where are you headed to? And why.

Both were ok with my explanation.

Just bizarre

Add it to the grey list.
So many people fishing (excuse the pun) for loopholes.

On a side note just dropped my eldest daughter back to her mum in Yea.
Cops pulled me over on way down and on the way back.
Simply - where are you headed to? And why.

Both were ok with my explanation.

Just bizarre
Make sure you have some shopping bags on you. Say you're going to the shops for food. haha

As for Vic course closures, it is what it is. We shall prevail

I don't see how it's any different to exercising. Providing social distancing rules in place (no flag stick, no rakes etc.), you don't come close to anyone. Feels like a rule for the sake of a rule.

I've accepted it because it's only been a couple of weeks. If it's the same in 2 months then it might be a different story