Sorrento​
Cups WR​
25.3​
Cohuna GC​
Huntingdale-Cranbourne GC​
18​
Golden Beach GC​

Last edited by a moderator:
Question for all the competitive golfers out there - how’d you go starting out playing comps? I only play socially and practice quite a lot and to be honest Im very nervous about the idea of playing in tournaments and comps with formal rules and under pressure.

Did it take time getting used to it? Is it actually enjoyable?
Its just another round of golf.
98% of playing partners are excellent
In terms of any rule queries during the round, simply ask the group.
No need to be nervous

As toxic said, it's just another round of golf. In many ways, say stableford or par scoring, it helps...just pick up when you're allocated shots on that hole has expired. We all have these holes (or wipes as they are known in the industry). A shrug of the shoulders and onto the next hole.

When you think about comps, just think.....when you play at a course say on a saturday there's a "comp" on. Dont think of it like events on the PGA tour. You rock up right now, play with 3 strangers and you wont even know its comp.

Keeping it simple, its just another round of golf. Its STILL social, but you're playing to the rules. Just ask your playing partners, and they will help. Shit, damn, i still ask for rulings.....even pros do it on the tour.

Question for all the competitive golfers out there - how’d you go starting out playing comps? I only play socially and practice quite a lot and to be honest Im very nervous about the idea of playing in tournaments and comps with formal rules and under pressure.

I haven't played competitively in the last 25 years at all. I would feel uncomfortable and perhaps anxious about it as well so I understand what you are feeling. I did enjoy it though...I was younger and still playing against others in different sports so was perhaps used to playing competitions at that time. If you are thinking of doing it...jump in. I imagine it will pass quickly. From memory, with a bit of time you end up playing with people that become friends and it still has that social feel about it.

As toxic said, it's just another round of golf. In many ways, say stableford or par scoring, it helps...just pick up when you're allocated shots on that hole has expired. We all have these holes (or wipes as they are known in the industry). A shrug of the shoulders and onto the next hole.

When you think about comps, just think.....when you play at a course say on a saturday there's a "comp" on. Dont think of it like events on the PGA tour. You rock up right now, play with 3 strangers and you wont even know its comp.

Keeping it simple, its just another round of golf. Its STILL social, but you're playing to the rules. Just ask your playing partners, and they will help. sh*t, damn, i still ask for rulings.....even pros do it on the tour.

Thanks for the great advice. I like the sounds of stableford. My biggest fear to be honest is completely losing my game and making a fool of myself hacking around in the woods, and to be able to pick the ball up and move on would take a lot of pressure off. I’ve been working hard on my game but some days I completely lose the plot off the tee both ways. Short game I can always count on though, thankfully.

Do you play as a member of a club or a social group? What do you recommend? Is there a large range of abilities in the comps?

120 today. ****ing shattering.

round included a chip in for par (you beauty) as the highlight.

Lowlight was chipping on for four on a par five. elevated green. First chip rolls back down. Overcompensated second chip, then four putted. Two of those rimmed out.

I ****ing hate this game.

but I’ll also play tomorrow.

I’ve only just started out. Today was my third comp.

In the end 90 per cent of the time you are playing an individual sport. If you are at a good club you’ll find anyone you are playing with will be great at helping you out and settling any nerves. I’m off 36 but most weeks I play with a guy off 12. I thought that would be intimidating but really everyone is there to play their own game. No matter how you go it doesn’t impact them unless it’s a pairs event.

as for rules, you might as well practice and play with them no matter what anyway. That’s the game. You don’t play footy for your local ammo reserves under rules that make it easier.

Also club golf, you aren’t losing 30k if you stuff up a shot. You might win the NAGA and get some ribbing. Most blokes play because they like the game and they all started somewhere, likely with a pretty high handicap.

I’ve only just started out. Today was my third comp.

In the end 90 per cent of the time you are playing an individual sport. If you are at a good club you’ll find anyone you are playing with will be great at helping you out and settling any nerves. I’m off 36 but most weeks I play with a guy off 12. I thought that would be intimidating but really everyone is there to play their own game. No matter how you go it doesn’t impact them unless it’s a pairs event.

as for rules, you might as well practice and play with them no matter what anyway. That’s the game. You don’t play footy for your local ammo reserves under rules that make it easier.

Also club golf, you aren’t losing 30k if you stuff up a shot. You might win the NAGA and get some ribbing. Most blokes play because they like the game and they all started somewhere, likely with a pretty high handicap.

Cheers mate. Do you play for a club?

Thanks for the great advice. I like the sounds of stableford. My biggest fear to be honest is completely losing my game and making a fool of myself hacking around in the woods, and to be able to pick the ball up and move on would take a lot of pressure off. I’ve been working hard on my game but some days I completely lose the plot off the tee both ways. Short game I can always count on though, thankfully.

Do you play as a member of a club or a social group? What do you recommend? Is there a large range of abilities in the comps?

Work on removing that thought. We all have shockers, and remember its all relative. Someone whos just starting is not expected to shoot par. You may have 120+, no one cares. And if someone does, thats on them. Id be happy to play a round with you sometime, as would others here. As toxic said majority of golfers dont care if a partner is off 36. We all know what its like to start off.

Someone off a h/c of say 4 may curse the world if they shoot 90. Its all relative.

First step is joining a club. Just the local one, a public one. or where your mates are at. whatever. Ask them about joining fees, what membership entails (days you can play). Then ask about handicaps. The club will help with that, there's a process of playing a few rounds, have someone score the card for you and sign it. The club hands it to golf Aus and you get a handicap. THEN you enter the comps.

I am a member of a club, just like others here. With a golflink number (like an account number that's yours) it allows you to play in comps anywhere.

How do you enter comps then? Pardon my ignorance...

Is it worthwhile getting membership of a club? Man it’s pricey...

Once you have a handicap, you just rock up and tell the pro shop id like to enter the comp. There maybe a meagre fee (say $5).
membership is like any membership, footy club etc. youre a part of the club, nice feeling, just call up any time and play.

Plenty of "affordable" clubs around. What area are you in may i ask?

No need for apologies. Keep asking away, that's what the games about!

Cheers mate. Do you play for a club?

I play at a club. Like petey said, unless you are playing pennant it’s not for. One day I do want to play pennant because I’m really competitive and match play sounds fun.

but for now pennant is a four man team and there’s four divisions so limited spots and I wouldn’t be good enough even for division 4. I’m not in the best 50 players at the club, let alone best 16.

As much as you are playing in a comp just treat it as practice. But under the rules. Everyone knows you improve the more you play.

I’m 30, picked up a club for the first time in July. Hated the game before and never wanted to play it, now I love it. I’m terrible but I’ll get better.

Someone off a h/c of say 4 may curse the world if they shoot 90. Its all

a mate of mind summed it up. He said he started bad, got ok. Then he shifted the goalposts and was bad again.

Dhonni: I watched my coach play the end of the 18th today as I sat at the clubhouse and had a beer. He parred the hole but was annoyed (his drive was 20m from the green but he chipped then two putted), he’s a +1 golfer so effectively its a Bogey for him. I’m ecstatic if i par any hole and I’ve never had a birdie. It’s relative

I played in a social group for 12 years, 2nd Sunday of every month.
55-70 players
All professionally run by golf rules.
2nd comp I played with one of the 30yr veterans of the group.
She had played about 250 games with the group and was off the handicap of...............

WTF....

She scrubbed it, hacked it, had air swings.
Counted everything

Finished with 36 points.

Played to handicap and was HAPPY as with her round.

I'll never forget it

Moral of story, golf is a game against yourself and its meant to be fun

And if you play bad: you just walked 10km. I run at least 3km a day 3-5 days a week. A day of golf smashes that in terms of calories burned according to my Apple Watch

Once you have a handicap, you just rock up and tell the pro shop id like to enter the comp. There maybe a meagre fee (say $5).
membership is like any membership, footy club etc. youre a part of the club, nice feeling, just call up any time and play.

Plenty of "affordable" clubs around. What area are you in may i ask?

No need for apologies. Keep asking away, that's what the games about!

Thanks for the advice everybody, much appreciated. I’m in Perth. I’ve looked at the private clubs, like Hartfield and The Vines but it just seems too expensive to get it signed off by the wife. I’ve also seen there are “clubs” around that seem to be tied to public courses.

I play and practice at Hillview a lot after work cos it’s really close. It’s not a particularly well kept course. I’d like to play weekends more but it’s always so busy everywhere I go now, especially in the mornings, which has got me thinking that playing comps would at least give me an opportunity for some regular weekend play, instead of having to resort to virtual golf at the whaleback driving range.. 🤪

Thanks for the advice everybody, much appreciated. I’m in Perth. I’ve looked at the private clubs, like Hartfield and The Vines but it just seems too expensive to get it signed off by the wife. I’ve also seen there are “clubs” around that seem to be tied to public courses.

I play and practice at Hillview a lot after work cos it’s really close. It’s not a particularly well kept course. I’d like to play weekends more but it’s always so busy everywhere I go now, especially in the mornings, which has got me thinking that playing comps would at least give me an opportunity for some regular weekend play, instead of having to resort to virtual golf at the whaleback driving range.. 🤪

Golf courses are always busy leading into summer. just do your research, ask hillview or other clubs in your area.

I was really nervous about playing comp. Tell the pro your situation and they should pair you with some great people.
I thought I was off 12 (didn't have a handicap) and am now off 6. It's improved me heaps. Makes you become more aware of where you lose shots. Playing with players better than you helps a lot. Not a huge difference between a 9 vs 15 handicap.
Would recommend if you want to get better.

How do you enter comps then? Pardon my ignorance...

Is it worthwhile getting membership of a club? Man it’s pricey...
Speak to whatever club is closest (Pro shop) and tell/ask them. There's probably a Sat comp. Say you don't have a handicap (if you don't). If they have a comp, ask to play with a guy who'll be happy to teach you the rules an protocols. There'll be one be bloke for sure.

Scored 40 today, finished second to a dude who scored 41. Weird round that included two lipped out birdie putts, a chip in for par, a monster bogey putt (at least 20m) and a hit powerline over a fairway.

Whats the ruling for hit powerlines?

So after 128 yesterday (would have been 15 points), I shoot 115 today for 30 points at another course.

I play today’s course so much better, frustrating because yesterday’s club is my home club and I play there every week while I’ve played today’s course a handful of times. My home club is longer but is also meant to be the district’s easiest course in terms of trouble.