Sorrento​
Cups WR​
25.3​
Cohuna GC​
Huntingdale-Cranbourne GC​
18​
Golden Beach GC​

Last edited by a moderator:

I once played in 90 km per hour wind and it was 7 degrees max with the slightest of drizzle on an off. Never again I swore to myself. A mate was going overseas the next day and couldn’t play again for 6 weeks.
90 is strong!

Once in a while I do like going out in the stink. Middle of last year one Saturday all the arvo groups cancelled but four of us were keen. We went out and had a ball. Multiple Guinness afterwards. Memorable round.

Have played a few rounds since my last update.

Not inspiring golf at all but good to get out.

Freeway - Haven't been back since the update, tee'd off at 1230 (actually was 1255 because it was that crammed). We played 11 holes in 4 hours and 45 mins. Kid you not. Was a complete joke of a setup, sending out as many people as possible and lots of weekend hackers. Not going to take aim at them, great they are playing golf. But the course needs a hard look at themselves, trying to make as much money as possible without any sort of course marshall or call ups on par 3s to make it flow better, 15 min wait time on nearly every hole. Course was interesting in places though.

Spring Valley - Good to tick this one off, I didn't mind it. Obviously the bottom tier for those sandbelts (is it considered sandbelt?) but they have had some greens upgrade last 12 months and are moving into doing more renovations. pretty flat track so need to work on improving their greens and probably some more bunkers. But I liked it, was in great condition, pity my golf game isn't.

Playing Gold Coast Royal Pines this Saturday morning before the footy, great to finally add in a QLD course onto my golf map.

Have a week off in May before new job, would love to get out and play one or two rounds at a new course. We will see how I go with getting that sorted.

Freeway - Haven't been back since the update, tee'd off at 1230 (actually was 1255 because it was that crammed). We played 11 holes in 4 hours and 45 mins. Kid you not. Was a complete joke of a setup, sending out as many people as possible and lots of weekend hackers. Not going to take aim at them, great they are playing golf. But the course needs a hard look at themselves, trying to make as much money as possible without any sort of course marshall or call ups on par 3s to make it flow better, 15 min wait time on nearly every hole. Course was interesting in places though.

Spring Valley - Good to tick this one off, I didn't mind it. Obviously the bottom tier for those sandbelts (is it considered sandbelt?) but they have had some greens upgrade last 12 months and are moving into doing more renovations. pretty flat track so need to work on improving their greens and probably some more bunkers. But I liked it, was in great condition, pity my golf game isn't.

Playing Gold Coast Royal Pines this Saturday morning before the footy, great to finally add in a QLD course onto my golf map.

Have a week off in May before new job, would love to get out and play one or two rounds at a new course. We will see how I go with getting that sorted.

Thats the problem with public tracks on par 3s. no call ups. not the fault of the players because most or majority thereof dont know what it entails. And youre right re: pace of play. i wonder if such courses have the budget for marshals etc. maybe from an outsider looking in they could employ marshals but would need to pay for them by cramming even more players in (gree fee revenue).

Enjoy RACV royal pines! i like staying there. Coming in off the freeway from the airport is funky with going off and doing a loop turn under said freeway. lol. what i will say is that it does get busy and be careful for players jumping onto different 9s if there's a hold up. happened to me but it was almost dark so yeah.

Thats the problem with public tracks on par 3s. no call ups. not the fault of the players because most or majority thereof dont know what it entails. And youre right re: pace of play. i wonder if such courses have the budget for marshals etc. maybe from an outsider looking in they could employ marshals but would need to pay for them by cramming even more players in (gree fee revenue).

Enjoy RACV royal pines! i like staying there. Coming in off the freeway from the airport is funky with going off and doing a loop turn under said freeway. lol. what i will say is that it does get busy and be careful for players jumping onto different 9s if there's a hold up. happened to me but it was almost dark so yeah.

We have I think the first tee time in teh morning so should be okay to fly around - hopefully we can jump on the good course for the second 9. Also staying on the course!

SV definitely sand belt. Only a couple of kms from KH.

We have I think the first tee time in teh morning so should be okay to fly around - hopefully we can jump on the good course for the second 9. Also staying on the course!
i rate the accomodation and whole setup. its so relaxing and everyones happy. nice weather helps too of course.

And the publics are happy to send lots of groups out in 2s...need much stricter rules in making people join up imo.

Also played behind groups that walk up the fairway and watch their friends hit....then walk sideways to their balls and get ready...not sure how they educate ppl with that.

Playing Waterford now weekly and it is a pleasure mid week with sweet **** all people on it.

Dumbarnie today. Howling winds, 3 - 4 club difference. Started with a penalty into a water hazard off the first, 51 at the turn, finished with 97. Somehow finished with the same ball I started with.
Beautiful course.
Got to play Dumbarnie a few years ago. Year Cam Smith won the open. It had only opened a short while so greens were slow but loved it. The nip of whiskey on the first tee from the starter was a great touch. We also played Renaissance which was spectacular. Week after Scottish Open. Gleneagles PGA course which seemed out of place and Carnoustie, which while great, didnt live up to the hype for me.

Couldnt get onto St Andrews as they had something on. We did walk around it for 3 days. Spending Sunday with Cam Smith for 18 holes the best golf day ever.

Got to play Dumbarnie a few years ago. Year Cam Smith won the open. It had only opened a short while so greens were slow but loved it. The nip of whiskey on the first tee from the starter was a great touch. We also played Renaissance which was spectacular. Week after Scottish Open. Gleneagles PGA course which seemed out of place and Carnoustie, which while great, didnt live up to the hype for me.

Couldnt get onto St Andrews as they had something on. We did walk around it for 3 days. Spending Sunday with Cam Smith for 18 holes the best golf day ever.
Except for the part when you abandoned your attempt to jump Swilcan Burn.

49 off the stick, 16 Stableford points (if I’m doing this correctly) for a quick 9 this afternoon at Collier.

Had my second ever eagle chance!
Proceeded to 3 putt 🥲

Look, I’m slightly addicted right now and playing a twilight 9 holes minimum 4 days a week.

It’s gonna be hard to stop after tonight!
42 is massive for me, absolutely massive. Didn’t think I had a score like that in me!

IMG_9680.webp

Par today. Greens have been cored and heavily sanded (just before Easter). Getting better but not great. Wet sand sticking to ball…you have to smash it to get to the hole.
Anyway started minus, minus, minus but finished minus 1. So some good bits in there. Only hit 8 fairways, 4 GIR but 32 putts helped.

Par today. Greens have been cored and heavily sanded (just before Easter). Getting better but not great. Wet sand sticking to ball…you have to smash it to get to the hole.
Anyway started minus, minus, minus but finished minus 1. So some good bits in there. Only hit 8 fairways, 4 GIR but 32 putts helped.
Cored ? Nooooooooo I’ll be there Tuesday 😭

Played at the National long island the other day It was great! Beautiful work by OCM opening up the once tight fairways. new greens will take time to bond with itself and golfers alike. It was the Original course layout. Hope to see and play the other two layouts soon, in a world first 18 hole three course setup

Haven’t played since 8th Feb.
Surgery completed yesterday.
Surgeon to review in 3mths to see if I can at least start practicing. Hopefully able to play again before Xmas, but 12 months before back to full strength. :(