Your Sporting History

lots of school footy, rugby, tennis, cricket, hockey.

Didn't star in any of them but always got a gig in the "A"s.

did a knee playing rugby at 17........redid it at 23 playing squash....

since then I've stuck to indoor cricket pretty much.........and the odd season of mixed netball when Mrs Dog's begging becomes too annoying. I just stand @ GS and take the lob passes and dunk.....no movement required really.....:p:thumbsu:

8-16 Hockey - got to states a couple of years.
5-20 (when the dreaded ist born changed my life for good, Competitive netball and superleague up to 5 times a week.
Now i have to be content with the odd coaching my daughters netball team (not for a couple of years tho)

Family were heavily involved in the sasf with my father being a chairman for about 10 years for a very successful premier league team, and other family members played at that level, with one playing for a time in the uk... we lived drank ate and slept soccer.

Still eat drink sleep sport any sport. Can't say I have played footy, but have watched it since i was 3.... go the double blues. Don't necessarily think you have to play the sport to have a great understanding.

I hated sport up until High School, then I loved sport but was always smaller than everyone else & didn't want to play.
I regret it now.

I've played indoor cricket for the last 8 years.
Would love to play 'soccer', don't quite have the fitness & skill for it though.

But in all seriousness,
played soccer from years 2-4
footy in year 5
Cricket from years 3-5
Tennis from year 5 till present
Hockey from year 6 till present
Irish Handball from year 8 - 12. (wish i could still play but with hockey, tennis, watching crows, watching eagles

Im half decent at Tennis and im fairly good at the old alleycracker, but nothing spesh. I think i am quite probably the worst hockey player in the club though.

Oh, and i umpire footy a fair bit. might see me at the junior comps out my side of town.

Hey Seanason my uncles were like Aussie champs at that sport I remember going to watch them at the private school on Pultney Road [was or is it Christian Brothers?]

Ok here we go I'm going to blow my very small trumpet as it looks like it's Ok to do.
Starting playing footy from an early age under a fair amount of pressure from a big SA football family. Had mixed success and the worst jumper in football history , bright yellow and maroon hoops...oohhh yeah
Played footy every year through school and managed to play some games for a South Adelaide squad much to my Double Blues historied families disgust. Gave it away for a couple of years then played for a local team in the SAFA, before moving out bush and reigniting my football career. A knee reconstruction put a dent in my game as did my desire to surf and drink copious amounts of alcohol on a Friday night. Coached and played in a Bgrade premiership in the late nineties, that was nice. Have been playing off and on ever since and as i have just returned from Indonesia I am attempting to play on Saturday.
I have had success in indoor soccer and cricket as well as volleyball taking out the flag at different times...good times oh so young and carefree.
I have had a crack at most sports but I'm pretty average at all of them. My claim to fame was being Mark Woodfordes doubles partner during a school tournament but the officials only put me with him as I could only serve underarm, great infront of a crowd of 500 people!! I also played basketball in the same team as Scott Ninnis from the 36ers [maybe once!!] All in all a great time has been had by me, I still surf and kick a footy but I am definately slowing down, damn you age damn you!

Played cricket and footy from the age of 7.

Played district cricket and footy until the age of 22 then decided to give tennis a go as I also played that on a social level.

Play Division 1 at my tennis club but still miss my footy and cricket.

Hey Seanason my uncles were like Aussie champs at that sport I remember going to watch them at the private school on Pultney Road [was or is it Christian Brothers?]
Would have been the Christian Brothers.

I remember my glory at the national champs - somehow there isnt the satisfaction of being national champ when only a handful of people show up.

I was the captain of a really good team - we had 2 players sent over to the world champs.Shame i was too old for the underage champs.

Would have been the Christian Brothers.

I remember my glory at the national champs - somehow there isnt the satisfaction of being national champ when only a handful of people show up.

I was the captain of a really good team - we had 2 players sent over to the world champs.Shame i was too old for the underage champs.

Yep I remember many years ago bragging to kids in the schoolyard about my two uncles and their success and noone even knew what the game was!!! But we did play a version of it at St Bernadettes primary up against the dunny wall!

I'm that old I was a Junior Stone Wheel roller for the Caveman 8

Nah, played backyard cricket and football then junior footy at various clubs in the Western Suburbs, (Ferryden Pk, Rosewater,Wingfield etc) then took up hard wicket cricket at 21 and had some good years some bad ones and a few flags along the way... 2 proud moments are captaining all 4 grades at my club ( only person to do so) and helping ( assistant coach) win an A grade football flag with my brother playing.

Played indoor cricket for a few years and won a few trophies. Incredible 8s and Full On Rogers were 2 of the team names :eek: ( how sad were some team names )

Now I sit back and tell people ''back in my day'' ... actuall after 7 years of working most weekends I am looking forward to picking up a bat and having a crack at a hard wicket comp again... probably North Pines

Till year 12 football & cricket were my life. Stopped cricket at uni - I was'nt that good anyhow! Still played footy though now in the ameatuer league (A2/A3) for 7 years, last 4 in the firsts. Lacked enthusiasm and basically had enough of getting injured. Played indoor netball for a while, now just play volleyball.

Biggest achievment - Got in Norths under 19 squad.:thumbsu:
Biggest disappointment - Never got to play as Norwood would'nt give a transfer.:mad:

Played American Football for 9 years, now coaching. Also played a bit of indoor cricket winning many premierships as a member of the "Big Roosters" :D. Member of Grange Golf Club but only play a couple times a year :thumbsdown:.

played footy and cricket until the end of school, was never anything sensational at either, a 3rds footballer and mainly 3rds with handful of 2nds crickter...

now umpire footy at a reasonable standard, also enjoy running, guess my main claim to fame is top 180 in the city-bay with little training... but been injured consistantly over the past couple of years so never really kicked on with the running thing

PLayed district cricket for West Torrens since I was 11 - my 10th year at the mighty Eagles this year. ALso played 1st XI for ST michaels in yr 11 and 12. Only ever made one state squad - the U/13's SAPSASA squad :p

Played footy for St Micks all through high school, playing first XVIII in Yr 11 and 12. Also played for Port districts in U/13's and U/15's. Now in my third year at SMOSH, playing the a's, who are top of the ladder :D

WHilst at school also played first XI soccer, playing up front, Open A squash, and was vice captain of athletics team (we won the B division Achilles Cup if anyone knows what that is). Good times at St Micks.

Also play golf (terribly), and still do a bit of running and cycling every july :p

PLayed district cricket for West Torrens since I was 11 - my 10th year at the mighty Eagles this year. ALso played 1st XI for ST michaels in yr 11 and 12. Only ever made one state squad - the U/13's SAPSASA squad :p

Played footy for St Micks all through high school, playing first XVIII in Yr 11 and 12. Also played for Port districts in U/13's and U/15's. Now in my third year at SMOSH, playing the a's, who are top of the ladder :D

WHilst at school also played first XI soccer, playing up front, Open A squash, and was vice captain of athletics team (we won the B division Achilles Cup if anyone knows what that is). Good times at St Micks.

Also play golf (terribly), and still do a bit of running and cycling every july :p

I just can't avoid these St. Michaels lads. :). We loved smashing you in footy though. :D.

Played footy for Gumeracha from the age of 5 to 17 but medical issues prevented me from going on to senior footy which is disappointing for me but Im still involved with the club, we're struggling a lot so we need all the help we can get. Both my Under 14 and 17s teams I played in made the finals every year, playing against two guys close to a few Norwood peoples hearts, Jessie Aish and my good mate Darren Pfeiffer.

I played tennis for Gum from 7-12 playing in, and losing 3 Grand Finals, but we were never expected to win any of them so it wasnt as disappointing. From then I swapped to Cricket, also for Gum from Under 14's up to A2 grade. I do really enjoy my cricket and hope to make it further in coming seasons.

And finally I played a few seasons of junior Indoor Cricket at Mt Barker and also a few fill in senior games where I faced none other than Sir Shaun Tait.... brown trouser times those were !!!
Played against Gumeracha on the weekend, obviously struggling but to their credit they didnt give up all day which is all you can ask. We were just pleased they got a team together in the B grade.

As for myself, obviously play footy, but before that I umpired footy for 7 years, must say I am a much better umpire than I am a footballer ;)

Played cricket most of my life, only recently given it up for work commitments.

Played against Gumeracha on the weekend, obviously struggling but to their credit they didnt give up all day which is all you can ask. We were just pleased they got a team together in the B grade.

As for myself, obviously play footy, but before that I umpired footy for 7 years, must say I am a much better umpire than I am a footballer ;)

Played cricket most of my life, only recently given it up for work commitments.

Its getting tough especially on the weekend as ill disciplined as we were in the A's too but things can only go up from here.

I heard a rumour that you guys were close to walking off at one stage? Im assuming after the guy got sent off, or the report?

Do you think the B grade will play on the weekend, against Meadows?

I heard a rumour that you guys were close to walking off at one stage? Im assuming after the guy got sent off, or the report?

Do you think the B grade will play on the weekend, against Meadows?

The players themselves didnt want too but the coach thought the Under 17 boys were getting hit, or targeted as he put it so he wanted to walk off. I mean we were down to 15 at 1 stage but the club is going through enough without having to stage a walkoff

Well if you lvoed smashing us in footy, that has to make you Sacred Heart?

They were the only team that beat us on a regular basis through my years.
LOL @ achillies cup - CBC like owns the cup. Its on loan during the 6 weeks or whatever its done over. Or is that the Lord Mayor's one? Was never the athletic guy...

Your Sporting History