Restricted Free Agent Zak Butters

Tricky spot for Port if he does leave with draft picks the next few years likely swallowed up for Cochrane, Pilot & Salopek. You'd suggest they'll have a few SA boys lined up to come home as part of any deal
Garcia had interest from Port last year, has 3 years to go on his contract. Can almost guarantee he’ll be the steak knives with our 3 firsts.

watching port yesterday, why would butters want to stick around?

Uninspiring coach and gameplan, fragile list. Why not go play for the team he supported as a kid for a tilt at the flag?

What’s more valuable if port finish bottom 6 and he wants to go to the dogs and they happen to win a flag?
The compo pick (likely top 6) or 3 picks worth 18-24 ?
Personally, I think Ild rather the compo pick

watching port yesterday, why would butters want to stick around?

Uninspiring coach and gameplan, fragile list. Why not go play for the team he supported as a kid for a tilt at the flag?
I don’t think you’ll find anyone to disagree with you.

For all the complaints about three firsts being unfair, until last year you could only trade one year in advance. Jeremy Cameron only went for "three firsts" because Geelong happened to do trades with WC and GC the year prior. It's rare that a team's draft assets line up with a player that wants to join them.

What the AFL should have done 15 years ago is have bands that meaningfully reflect player contracts. Whether it's TDK, Nas, Butters or whoever if you are a top 10 paid player in the comp your FA compo should reflect that. An Oscar Allen being borderline band 1 triggering identical compo to a player that is earning double is just silly even without ladder position coming into it. Allen on output and contract 'feels' like an end of first round pick player. Butters 'feels' like a top 5 pick.

The draft is already a joke. I would have no issue with Port being given a start of first round compo pick or compo similar to what Melbourne got for Tom Scully and Geelong for Gary Ablett Jr where you can choose when to use your picks. But the system doesn't allow it and like everything else if it didn't hurt you for the first 14 years then no point complaining about at in the 15th.
On the GAJ compo - does it really matter if you can choose the year of your pick if it's pick 15? You're at a part of the draft that is tapering to lottery.

GAJ compo was criminal

Port rarely hold players in realistic scenarios.

Houston - terms first agreed to by both clubs and player with Melbourne. Melbourne then imploded. Houston's management looked for another club and found one in Collingwood. Collingwood could not match Melbourne's offer and offered what they realistically could.

Impey - had his best mate and pseudo-mentor leave the club and state. Requested a trade to be closer to Jackson and his family. Port worked fairly with Hawthorn for the trade.

Duursma (the worst one) - was traded for BZT and some junk. Duursma wanted a fresh start and was provided one.

Ladhams - wanted out in a non-football state and Port were happy to let him go. Pete and pick 16 for pick 12 and 51 - yikes.

Howard and Ryder - Both requested trades to Stkilda and both were granted along with pick 10 to St Kilda for picks 12 and 18.

Frampton - requested a trade to Adelaide for more opportunities. Was facilitated for a R4 pick that was not used, or had any chance of being used.

Homsch - Requested a trade for more opportunities and more money and facilitated for a junk pick that was never used.

Wingard - requested a trade after being neglected by the club. Wingard was for Burton, 15, 35 and 61. At the time Burton looked great, but injury-prone so a relatively fair trade.

Pittard and Polec - both wanted fresh opportunities, a fresh start, and more money. Port was happy to trade them for pick 11.

Lobbe - traded to Carlton for a junk pick searching for more opportunities.

The list goes on and on. The only times Port have been hard on players requesting trade out have been Nick Stevens as his management did not present a realistic trade and Ben Jacobs - again whose management did not present a realistic trade.

If Zak chooses the dogs all indications point to Port getting the best trade they can from the available resources the dogs have. The recent trading history of both clubs demonstrates this. There is no fantasy trade going on here. Look at what the crows got for Dangerfield when he turned free agent - Gore, 9 and 28. I know times have changed and picks are viewed differently, but all clubs know the Free Agent rules and risks.

We picked a great one in Zak with pick 12 - but we knew the risks. North knew the risks picking JHF as did St Kilda picking NAS. We can't be happy getting them and then cry foul when Zak wants to leave for the same reasons players want to come home to port.

F, FF, FFF and whatever else the dogs find behind the couch.
I like the fact that we don't force players to play for the club against their will. Those players end up becoming a liability.

Personally I think this is the year we look at letting players explore their options before Tassie come into the competition. Lyon and Heally aren't wrong. There's a serious opportunity at a reset here. I'm not sure what picks we'd end up with but at the risk of spending 3-5 years scrounging it out to become semi competitive and win a final or two I think there's more upside to resetting now.

Collingwood have done this for a premiership.

I don’t think you’ll find anyone to disagree with you.
I think Butters was always going to go back home irrespective of our position juust like Dangerfield. I'm not critical of Danger looking back as that's the nature of the business and Footscray fans have definitely been hurt by FA to date.

The writing was on the wall for us for some time and I knew it because I kept a close eye on player and team stats and saw that the top 3-4 players were consistently performing but we had 4-5 semi consistently, and a dozen that just aren't up to standard.

If you look at it like that then why don't all players just head hunt the premiership teams?

Most sensible Port Supporters know he'll be going end of season. Hopefully we can get some decent compensation.

By every report his chances of staying are slim to none
Not saying you're wrong but consider the fact that the two primary reporters of this have been Jon Ralph and Chad Cornes who are both complete flogs who's validity can easily be questioned. Jon Ralph is the Herald Sun's Victorian football jerk off boy who always creams over the prospect of a Vic player returning home. He said that Bergman was gone mid-way through last year which he ended up being wrong about.

And Chad Cornes is bitter towards the club because Josh Carr gave him the flick and since getting an SEN gig he's done nothing but rip into us. He's got the same craving for clicks that his brother does.

Until C4[2]Yo`DooR confirms that he is gone I will hold my breath, but based on the new draft rule changes I wouldn't be shocked if the decision turns out to be a mutual agreement.

Not saying you're wrong but consider the fact that the two primary reporters of this have been Jon Ralph and Chad Cornes who are both complete flogs who's validity can easily be questioned. Jon Ralph is the Herald Sun's Victorian football jerk off boy who always creams over the prospect of a Vic player returning home. He said that Bergman was gone mid-way through last year which he ended up being wrong about.

And Chad Cornes is bitter towards the club because Josh Carr gave him the flick and since getting an SEN gig he's done nothing but rip into us. He's got the same craving for clicks that his brother does.

Until C4[2]Yo`DooR confirms that he is gone I will hold my breath, but based on the new draft rule changes I wouldn't be shocked if the decision turns out to be a mutual agreement.
I have no idea who that last guy is.

I was just going off what they say on Gettable tbh. Cal’s pretty much an AFL mouth piece at this point, and with how tied Butters’ future is to Cochrane and the draft

Everybody has been talking about it, not just those 2.

Not to mention if we matched he'd probably just stay given the drawcard of leaving is $$.

True and then you wouldnt have the cap space to keep guys like Morris who i assume you want to keep more.

And if he wants to leave, unfortunately I cannot see Zak signing his life away at Port to dwell at the foot of the ladder.

If he wants out he will get out.

Hopefully the going doesn't get tough at all during his time at WB then! he might just up and leave