Preview Geelong at the 2014 AFL National Draft, Thursday 27 November

22 disposal ave, disposals no worries and the guy kicks goals, check his stats!....you won't find that in the draft.
And clearences? Not an A grader.
Robinson, S. Selwood, Mclean are all B graders who are more like James Kelly than Joel Selwood. Clearences wont improve with them in the side. We are more likely to find an A grade mid at pick 10 in the draft than a delisted free agent from another club.
The club needs to get back to what it does best - developing and giving players a chance. It feels like Gary Ayres part 2. When players are discarded its usually because they aren't good enough. Picking them up just promotes mediocrity.

And clearences? Not an A grader.
Robinson, S. Selwood, Mclean are all B graders who are more like James Kelly than Joel Selwood. Clearences wont improve with them in the side. We are more likely to find an A grade mid at pick 10 in the draft than a delisted free agent from another club.
The club needs to get back to what it does best - developing and giving players a chance. It feels like Gary Ayres part 2. When players are discarded its usually because they aren't good enough. Picking them up just promotes mediocrity.
Sometimes players delisted from other clubs can improve a lot in a different system. It's not always a lack of ability that leads to players being dropped, it can be attitude, homesickness, lack of opportunity, and personality clashes too. Some guys like this thrive if given a fresh start, see Stefan Martin as an example. There's no guarantee even a pick 10 will turn into an A grade player. The whole thing is a crap shoot.

Well if the papers are to be believed Robinson is headed to Brisbane.

But it did also suggest another club was interested.

I know this kid didn't do much at Carlton but I wouldn't mind having a look at Kane Lucas.

He is good mates with Duncan and was highly rated as a junior (won AA iirc) and had a decent 2013.

Played 42 games and is 23. We need some midfielders and he has been in the system.

Just get a little tired of Selwood being punch up meat in big games with no one to bother the opposition. I see Clarke as physical support for Hawkins, what's the problem with that? And someone else for Selwood and Stokes.
I was asking if you'd had counselling as a result of being a Hawks supporter. :)
I can see where you're coming from, meto- I am angry at the umpires for not protecting Selwood and Johnson etc from the off the ball sniping but I have very mixed feelings about "if you can't beat 'em, join 'em". If the club feels that we need to go down this road, then I'd rather have someone expendable like Robinson- but, with all of his other issues, he'd probably be suspended when we need him.
We just need players to play hard, fair footy- not the sniping thuggery that has been so successful at the Hawks and which works well for Freo when they play us. I can't ever see the club accepting that type of play from any of the Cats and I'd rather our club not win a premiership based on the Matthews/Clarkson/Lyon school of cheating.

If we wanted a player like Robinson we would have kept Schroder, its the same prototype. It's not that Robinson is and player, he just isn't the type of mid we need. He wins plenty of clearances but most of them are just wild kicks to get them out from congestion, even when he is in space his disposal is sub par.

I know this kid didn't do much at Carlton but I wouldn't mind having a look at Kane Lucas.

He is good mates with Duncan and was highly rated as a junior (won AA iirc) and had a decent 2013.

Played 42 games and is 23. We need some midfielders and he has been in the system.

Like Trengrove, he a poor mans Duncan for what ever reason he just didn't develop and given that he hasn't stepped up under more than one coach I'd be inclined to blame the player rather than the coaches.

Sometimes players delisted from other clubs can improve a lot in a different system. It's not always a lack of ability that leads to players being dropped, it can be attitude, homesickness, and personality clashes too. Some guys like this thrive if given a fresh start, see Stefan Martin as an example. There's no guarantee even a pick 10 will turn into an A grade player. The whole thing is a crap shoot.
There are different factors involved, no doubt.
I prefer to look at players on a case by case basis. Different positions, etc
Guys like Robinson have already reached their potential. He isn't being held back. He's best 22 We have seen the best he has to offer. If he's not a clearence specialist now he never will be.

Sometimes players delisted from other clubs can improve a lot in a different system. It's not always a lack of ability that leads to players being dropped, it can be attitude, homesickness, and personality clashes too. Some guys like this thrive if given a fresh start, see Stefan Martin as an example. There's no guarantee even a pick 10 will turn into an A grade player. The whole thing is a crap shoot.

Hawthorn have done ok with imports for certain roles, anyway worth a thought!

I'd probably rather Panos, he's the same age as Bundy, young 23yr old.

I don't know piv , i guess there would be truckload of players to pick from. He did not strike me as someone who could come in and hold his spot.
there must be some desperately keen guys that are just chaffing for a chance. Not one whisper one Shannon Taylor for instance. Whats the best names just from the VFL? SANFL? WAFL?

Like Trengrove, he a poor mans Duncan for what ever reason he just didn't develop and given that he hasn't stepped up under more than one coach I'd be inclined to blame the player rather than the coaches.
Hmmm, Judd, Murphy, Gibbs, Simpson, Carrazzo, McLean and then adding Thomas makes for a fairly crowded midfield rotation so I'm not completely sure it is all the player's fault.

Had a nice run of mid to high possession games in the VFL which led to a late recall in the year (where he played one game as a sub - the thrashing at the hands of Port).

Lucas versus a speculative pick in the 70s...

I reckon I'd take my chances with the poor man's Duncan.

I don't know piv , i guess there would be truckload of players to pick from. He did not strike me as someone who could come in and hold his spot.
there must be some desperately keen guys that are just chaffing for a chance. Not one whisper one Shannon Taylor for instance. Whats the best names just from the VFL? SANFL? WAFL?
Well, I was just looking at one poster's Phantom Draft - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threads/mightydons4s-2014-phantom-draft.1080427/ - and they have us getting taking;

#47 - Capiron (I'd give that a tick)
#55 - McGrath (can't comment)
#60 - Cunico (Another tick for me)
#77 - Markov (not a bad get in the 70s)

If it played out that way, I'd happily by-pass someone like Lucas.

But drafts don't always go to plan now do they. ;)

Hawthorn have done ok with imports for certain roles, anyway worth a thought!

I'd probably rather Panos, he's the same age as Bundy, young 23yr old.

Agree meto
Panos or maybe Newton - both look like clearance machines
On Robinson - my son shows me his Insta- book or Facegram or some such thingy - would win most outstanding dickhead hands down.....

Hmmm, Judd, Murphy, Gibbs, Simpson, Carrazzo, McLean and then adding Thomas makes for a fairly crowded midfield rotation so I'm not completely sure it is all the player's fault.

Had a nice run of mid to high possession games in the VFL which led to a late recall in the year (where he played one game as a sub - the thrashing at the hands of Port).

Lucas versus a speculative pick in the 70s...

I reckon I'd take my chances with the poor man's Duncan.

When I say poor man's Duncan I don't mean that he is 85% Duncan just that he fills the same role as a wingman. It's like you went to the supermarket looking to buy gummy, you wish you could afford starburst snakes but you only have enough money to buy the expiring coles brand coke worms. You're buying gummy but you're probably going to throw out half of the packet. If we get Lucas, we'll have another wingman but he won't be worth more than we pay for him, I'd rather to the lottery.

That's fair enough.

It is fair to say I rate Lucas a little bit more than you and feel he is worth taking a punt on.

But as I said in the post to Turbs, if we landed a kid like Markov then I'd be comfortable with that.

agree on Lucas. Could be worth the punt ahead of a Newton perhaps

I'd rather take a punt on Lucas over Newton and M Robinson. He seems good overhead and has some pace. Good size too. Handy depth player, we seem to have lost a few of those this season.

However, given that he was on the trade table, suggests we are not too keen on him.

I'd rather take a punt on Lucas over Newton and M Robinson. He seems good overhead and has some pace. Good size too. Handy depth player, we seem to have lost a few of those this season.

However, given that he was on the trade table, suggests we are not too keen on him.
Possibly because clubs were taking a punt that he'd be cut.

Similar for us with Hunt and (perhaps) Brown.

Perhaps it is also why we didn't trade for Newton.

...at 25 years, he's now at the best time of his footy life, his next 4 years.
And Carlton still delisted him. Strange.

Robinson, S. Selwood, Mclean are all B graders who are more like James Kelly than Joel Selwood.
Scott Selwood is a far better player than either of the players you've lumped him with...

Newton hasn't been delisted? Thought he was a required player at PA.
I believe he might be out of contract.

http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-ne...el-curries-sevenyear-itch-20140326-zqn89.html

That article was earlier this year so, based on this quote;

Port Adelaide extended Ben Newton's contract by one more year last season hoping that this year, his fourth, will see him find a way into the senior team.

I'd suggest he is out of contract unless Port signed him up after the article in March (which is possible).

I gather you're not impressed? :oops:
I said it earlier. He plays some good footy.
The guy is a tosser.

We are not winning a flag any time soon.
Might be 8 years, might be 44.

But he won't be in a premiership team with us. And I'd hate for him to contribute to the screwing of the footy club culture.

The guy is a tosser.

But he won't be in a premiership team with us. And I'd hate for him to contribute to the screwing of the footy club culture.

It's ok and fine with me, I promise not to mention his name again.... Now you know how I felt for so long, I'd rather spare you. :rolleyes:

I will be extremely annoyed and surprised if we take a key position player with pick 10.

I am fairly sure it will be a mid, unless they are all taken by then. The most urgent need is to find another midfielder to replace Christensen. Hamling and Brown were not in the best side, so I see that as less of a problem. And Kolo had a nice debut season and if the mail from the club is right, Blicavs is going back to half back permanently (where he played some promising games this year).

We need mids, first and foremost.

I can see that point of view but I'm looking at it slightly differently. I'd be more than happy if we take a mid such as Pickett or Ahern but I don't see it as being not without a chance that we take a KPD with pick 10. If Durdin is around at 10, he would represent a fairly unique opportunity to grab a potential ten year quality FB/CHB. With Lonergan and Rivers nearing the end we need more than just JK to fill these voids. I'm not that confident that either Blicavs or Walker are viable options down back. Goddard is another good option here but now that we have pick 10, Durdin would be a better option I think.

Whilst you are correct that we need mids - they are generally easier to attain than KP players. I see as having no chance to challenge for a flag for at least 3-4 years now. Why not take (if available) a real quality KPD who was rated prior to injury earlier in the year as a probable top 5 pick? We can load up on mids with our later picks - even one or two mature mids may be looked at. Shannon Taylor and Ben Newton are two that may appeal. Whilst the mids that are available at 10 are good, I don't see them as being necessarily of the quality of previous years. Ahern and Pickett are two good ones - but not necessarily players that are "no-brainer" selections.

I'm now hoping for Durdin, but will be quite comfortable if we take Goddard or Pickett or Ahern. I think each would add to our list.

Definitely mids with our later picks. Hopefully we can get a combination of young and more mature talent. catempire mentioned that Newton may be available - I'd assume in the PSD if at all. With the picks we have I'd hope someone like Gore or Bampton might drop but are not confident at all of that. I like the look of Lukas Webb. Think he could be a useful late pick.

I'd like to see us draft a mid with some outside speed but there is no one that really appeals that is likely to be around with our late picks.

I agree with that, any of those guys I am happy with.

I think we might try for one or two physically mature mids at later picks-Gore or Bampton are good options, or Glenn as a mature player.

On your last line, Nathan Drummond fits the bill and I rate him very highly. Had a great year, speed and athleticism wise is right up there and marks well. Not sure if he will become a genuine winger over time or more an attacking defender but he is well worth a look with our 3rd round picks.

The guy is a tosser.

Agree. Think I'd rather have Justin Murphy back at the club.