Opinion Effectiveness of the Board and Executive Leadership

Are you a relative (or a rehash) of Silent Alarm?
A Weekend in the City had some real potential but Kele wanted to push the band in a commercial direction and I guess, why not. guy had serious drive. the album was way too polished and everyone says that, but the issue was song selection and dedication to a theme: Cells Shaped Like Stars and Blue Moon had some good lyrics and those b-sides are still corkers.

Who rocks up a corporate function, and let's be honest most people who have 'met' someone in football did so at the Doig or a signing session or at the Feddy, and doesn't represent their interests with the utmost? people on 75k go to out of hours events and still the flag.

It'd be more insightful if you knew them growing up, knew them before the money truly rolled in, or knew them in business.

I've met barflys with lots of bad words about both the Steves and plenty of ill to speak. those people also cared for the club.

Lots of people who suck up to these sorts have spent no time in Freo and don't know much about football. lots of people on this forum became members after attending a game in their mid-30s.
Barflies? rofl.

I literally worked directly with Steve Harris for 5 years and we still keep in touch 10 years later.

He achieves more before his first morning s**t than you have in your sorry life, I'll put the house on that.

Barflies? rofl.

I literally worked directly with Steve Harris for 5 years and we still keep in touch 10 years later.

He achieves more before his first morning s**t than you have in your sorry life, I'll put the house on that.
Yeah, some people go to pubs and socialise. these were normal people who had life experience and wanted to just chat about football. they were actually quiet people, too.

Belittling someone's existence isn't especially nice, either.

Yeah, some people go to pubs and socialise. these were normal people who had life experience and wanted to just chat about football. they were actually quiet people, too.

Belittling someone's existence isn't especially nice, either.
You're the one having a go at someone who is a complete stranger to you.

Barflies? rofl.

What a pathetic post, no content just BS and belittling other people. Thumbs down 👎

Who rocks up a corporate function, and let's be honest most people who have 'met' someone in football did so at the Doig or a signing session or at the Feddy, and doesn't represent their interests with the utmost? people on 75k go to out of hours events and still the flag.

It'd be more insightful if you knew them growing up, knew them before the money truly rolled in, or knew them in business.

I've met barflys with lots of bad words about both the Steves and plenty of ill to speak. those people also cared for the club.

Lots of people who suck up to these sorts have spent no time in Freo and don't know much about football. lots of people on this forum became members after attending a game in their mid-30s.
Mate I grew up in Spearwood, went to Hamilton high, played for the cougars and souths before playing my second colts season at peel and transferring to the flames. Went to newton primary. And grew up playing at south beach on weekends on the courts there and swimming for a cool down before catching the bus back. My dad worked on south terrace for 29 years and I spent my afternoons there four times a week. But sure no one knows footy like you.

Others know from my other posts that I have the old green away strip and went with my dad and brothers to the footy for the first 8 years we were a club. Then got my own membership. But that’s me.

I met Steve at a fundraiser for work in third world. And after I ran into him at a breakfast with a couple of business friends. These were over a decade apart. So yes I know him a bit from business. And you get a read on people and he seemed consistent character wise.

Mate I grew up in Spearwood, went to Hamilton high, played for the cougars and souths before playing my second colts season at peel and transferring to the flames. Went to newton primary. And grew up playing at south beach on weekends on the courts there and swimming for a cool down before catching the bus back. My dad worked on south terrace for 29 years and I spent my afternoons there four times a week. But sure no one knows footy like you.

Others know from my other posts that I have the old green away strip and went with my dad and brothers to the footy for the first 8 years we were a club. Then got my own membership. But that’s me.

I met Steve at a fundraiser for work in third world. And after I ran into him at a breakfast with a couple of business friends. These were over a decade apart. So yes I know him a bit from business. And you get a read on people and he seemed consistent character wise.

You went to Hamilton high?

shifty side eye

Woah woah woah, weren’t you the 21 year old know it all, now you’re a grizzled old bar fly w***er?

What a pathetic post, no content just BS and belittling other people. Thumbs down 👎
Youre Cute I Love You GIF by BellaKatDesignCo

Ironically give the discussion on the JL thread, I'd argue Bell would have been far more suited to a board role as a passionate ex player with decent extra curricular experience
Bell was plugging holes and being the glue. he was being asked for a long time to be part of the club and didn't feel the time was right. he came on when Lyon was desperate and doing silly s**t like overruling the list manager (Bell, who'd just come on – you could use the word 'bullied' here) to get in idiots like McCarthy and Hogan.

The Steves were also looking at their exits around then and Garlick was just coming in. not that I rate Garlick either. he was pretty clearly interested in the high up AFL position while at FFC.

Bell was doing strange s**t like attending breaks and being part of the coaching.

There was a strong rumour at the time this was because Longmuir wasn't trusted to deliver messages to the players in simple terms.

Bell was everywhere and that wasn't right and his position needed to be more clearly defined.

I personally would have had him as a senior coach or CEO and not this weird in between role.

Bell was plugging holes and being the glue. he was being asked for a long time to be part of the club and didn't feel the time was right. he came on when Lyon was desperate and doing silly s**t like overruling the list manager (Bell, who'd just come on – you could use the word 'bullied' here) to get in idiots like McCarthy and Hogan.

The Steves were also looking at their exits around then and Garlick was just coming in. not that I rate Garlick either. he was pretty clearly interested in the high up AFL position while at FFC.

Bell was doing strange s**t like attending breaks and being part of the coaching.

There was a strong rumour at the time this was because Longmuir wasn't trusted to deliver messages to the players in simple terms.

Bell was everywhere and that wasn't right and his position needed to be more clearly defined.

I personally would have had him as a senior coach or CEO and not this weird in between role.
Yes, I remember those rumours. I think the genuinely just wants to the club desperately to succeed and was overstepping, I’d still be comfortable him moving to a board position though I’m sure that ship as sailed

Fair enough. I think you are a sad keyboard warrior that blends into the masses of keyboard warriors.
This sort of stuff is like the kid at school who riles you up and up and when you give him a well deserved smack or dressing down, just goes off in weird angles. this was a mature discussion and he got upset.

I tapped out of this football club because it wasn't productive to my life and stuff like this reinforces it. this is a blame everyone else, no accountability, 'always next year' fan base.

I've had family members give their weekends to this club for 0 full reward and people like this reckon a flag is five months away.

I'm sick of it and want a flag and I'm not interested in 'oh jeez in three years...'

Yes, I remember those rumours. I think the genuinely just wants to the club desperately to succeed and was overstepping, I’d still be comfortable him moving to a board position though I’m sure that ship as sailed
I think the timing was wrong but applaud him for having the guts to come on when the club was clearly in flux. 2015-2017 was a dodgy time for the club.

Gary Lyon sits there telling everyone else how smart and good he is but didn't have the balls to have even a minor role at Melbourne when the club was at its knees.

Are you a relative (or a rehash) of Silent Alarm?
I'm a passionate advocate for the town of Fremantle and its football club. I think it could be the best place in the world with a hard, ruthless, astute, and charismatic football club that is full of heart and character.

Errant Bounce , I disagree re Simon Garlic. It was media from Melbourne that werd playing spin the wheel and rubber arrow stopped on Garlics name.
I am pretty sure he refuted the suggestion very quickly.
Is there any one that has been involved, ever, that has been any good?
Easy to sit back and take pot shots.
Someone earlier mentioned Eddie Everywhere in all honesty, in my opinion that is a person, or a person like him to
Get us noticed.
This post is very similar to the one after the Derby loss.

I'm a passionate advocate for the town of Fremantle and its football club. I think it could be the best place in the world with a hard, ruthless, astute, and charismatic football club that is full of heart and character.

There's a bunch of people that think they own the club because of their connection to Fremantle town and/or the WAFL clubs, and you seem to come from that ilk.
AFL, and Freo, have moved on from just being defined from the original few square kilometres they related to.

Personally I think it'd be far better off if there was a solution that kept the club in Fremantle, but there weren't "slight advantages" they were canyons between what could be offered there and moving.

Maybe there's enough will in the future for a solution to be found, but in the meantime the club couldn't hold onto the hope and actually keep up with modern AFL.

There's a bunch of people that think they own the club because of their connection to Fremantle town and/or the WAFL clubs, and you seem to come from that ilk.
AFL, and Freo, have moved on from just being defined from the original few square kilometres they related to.

Personally I think it'd be far better off if there was a solution that kept the club in Fremantle, but there weren't "slight advantages" they were canyons between what could be offered there and moving.

Maybe there's enough will in the future for a solution to be found, but in the meantime the club couldn't hold onto the hope and actually keep up with modern AFL.
I would personally not hesitate to move back to Freo as genuinely think driving to Freo for “work” will keep a lot more players. There is a lot to be said for where you work and Cockburn just isn’t it.

But it would obviously need the city to not be obstinate self absorbed twats

I would personally not hesitate to move back to Freo as genuinely think driving to Freo for “work” will keep a lot more players. There is a lot to be said for where you work and Cockburn just isn’t it.

But it would obviously need the city to not be obstinate self absorbed twats
Our asset is our town. imagine selling the Strip, South Beach, the West End.

Victorians are astounded by just how heckin good Freo is. not a cheap place to live these days but that's not a problem of theirs.

We generally have a passionate connection to the club and see it as part of our identity.

As in, many of my family grew up in intense shame from being Fremantle because it was essentially a ghetto.

So what if I see a sense of pride in the club that bears its name?

I've been to areas across the world where their team is their identity and they care a lot for it.

Regarding the move, it was during a stupid time where clubs were obsessed with massive new builds in dud suburbs that promised resources and facilities. Essendon have an MCG-sized ground in a giant shed they can train in when it rains. they've done nothing since leaving Windy Hill in 2013; St Kilda are back at Moorabbin; Hawthorn are clearly torn on Dingley. it's a dumb and clunky cliche but like North Melbourne said when they won all those flags: 'our weights are just as heavy as West Coast's.'

Fremantle Council wanted the ground to remain in line with the South Terrace streetscape and to have the new facilities look aligned with the old pavilion which has always been part of every single draw up of the Freo Oval redevelopment which has centred around the ground realigning to that old pavilion.

Freo was hellbent – sorry, the 'Dockers' (we wasted time talking to Levi's about all of that, too to regain the shitey name) – on moving and used those heritage 'restrictions' as an excuse to leave.

I can provide information and sources on all of this.

Clubs have realised massive facilities don't do much and both players and staff like working in inner city areas jut like they want to live in them, too.

Nothing I'm saying is outlandish.

Fremantle just needed a single oval to kick on, we would have had the Stan Reilly Centre carpark for a bigger pool (not sure why 50 metre pools were so important back then for footballers but anyway), and we could've been at least vibrant.

You're not telling me it was a beautiful thing to get a coffee and sit under the figs and watch the boys have a kick.

Sorry that I care about my home.

When exactly?

96, 97 and part of 98.

Mrs Seara was the best teacher I had in my lifetime. She could walk into a room full of hypo badly behaved kids and the room would silence at her hello. Diminutive woman that she was, she was like a tower. Actually had nice grounds and good ovals, swimming pool etc. Way too many fights though.