Fixture Hawks after Tasmania? Sponsorship extended to 2025!

What to do with Tas games?

• MCG

Votes: 167 82.7%
  • Darwin

Votes: 12 5.9%
  • Albury

Votes: 11 5.4%
  • Newcastle

Votes: 3 1.5%
  • Auckland

Votes: 9 4.5%
  • Canberra

Votes: 9 4.5%
  • Marvel

Votes: 10 5.0%
  • Elsewhere

Votes: 10 5.0%

My original post was spit balling Launceston Council/Local business, pie in sky stuff
The AFL also said they don't see a problem with north playing in Hobart when we get a team, imagine how small the crowds will be for that when competing with the Tassie team.

Gil said he sees no ready why we (and North) could not play home games in Tas.

Reeves said we would look to play one home game @ Launceston v Tas.
Wouldn't seem a smart move to walk away from a 21 year investment like that.

Getting a home game at UTAS against Tassie is clever business

Wouldn't seem a smart move to walk away from a 21 year investment like that.

Getting a home game at UTAS against Tassie is clever business
North still playing games in Hobart would be silly, how many people do they think will attend those games when competing with a tassie team?

In 1991, would you rather play the Crows in Adelaide or Melbourne? The Tas crowd will be against us and feral.

Had we just spent 21 years playing footy in Adelaide in 1991 though?

We all know how long have been on Tassie. What was your point?

Your comparison of playing in Adelaide in 1991 vs Tasmania in 2028 was silly because we hadn't spent 1970-1990 putting in a lot of groundwork, time and money into developing a fanbase there. We have 10,000 members in Tassie and draw ~10-12,000 people to each game who are predominantly there to barrack for us. Playing a game against the Devils in 2028 in Launceston won't be remotely comparable to playing at Footy Park in 1991.

For our current Tassie membership, if the optics are the hawks were ‘forced out’ rather than us clearly abandoning them would be ideal.
We would still have a lot of Tassie originated fans who travel to Melbourne for games or live here for work

Also if Tassie get the deal gws and gf fans get as a Victorian membership, it’s 11 games, the gws or gf games in Melbourne plus the balance in the mcg for non blockbuster games

If you think about it it’s a better deal than Victorian based ga hawthorn members get

Your comparison of playing in Adelaide in 1991 vs Tasmania in 2028 was silly because we hadn't spent 1970-1990 putting in a lot of groundwork, time and money into developing a fanbase there. We have 10,000 members in Tassie and draw ~10-12,000 people to each game who are predominantly there to barrack for us. Playing a game against the Devils in 2028 in Launceston won't be remotely comparable to playing at Footy Park in 1991.

But will they get the modern equivalent of Tony hall and Darren jarman off us?

I think we'll be Tassie's first proper rival. Colonisers v post-independence. I always believed Tasmania was transactional and Hawthorn's various levels of window-dressing to make it look authentic was G-rated AFL sportswashing. Glad it's over we never ended up on the hook to move permanently.

We don’t owe Tasmania anything. Do what is best for Hawthorn.
Do you not think playing in a ‘clean stadium’ with a full crowd of mixed HFC members & TFC members would be best for HFC ?

Non HFC members will have to either buy a ticket to the game or buy a HFC membership to get in.

We also get $$ from the catering, signage, etc

I really don’t think you do fully understand the ‘clean stadium’ that T4P talked of

North still playing games in Hobart would be silly, how many people do they think will attend those games when competing with a tassie team?
Yeah, but if both North fans show up...

Until we play a home game against Tassie (which I would rather we didn't) we won't know what sort of support we will get. It seems to me that crowds are already dropping significantly. If there were 10,119 there for our Adelaide game I'll eat my hat. My guess is that there would be 20k for our first game against Tassie and we would have 5k support at best. That, to me, is no home ground advantage.

The other issue is dollars. This is where the AFL's footy socialism really hurts us. We get the minimum distribution from the AFL of $10.5 -11 million. Because we have so much money we could possibly make an annual loss and still not see an increase in our distribution because we have too many assets. Meanwhile, St Kilda have just given up playing games elsewhere and pocket $18-$19 mill from the AFL and their supporters get to see 11 home games in Melbourne. We are paying for trying to do the right thing. It's scandalous.

We will be easily outnumbered by Tasmanians if we chose to play Tasmania in Tasmania. Thus forgoing any home ground advantage. Not as drastic as playing the Crows in 91 (I was there), but nevertheless our 27 seasons there will be quickly forgotten by the 85% of Tasmanians who don’t follow Hawthorn. Plus a % of Hawk fans no doubt.

Thankfully it appears that we only want to play one game there - v Devils. The club is no doubt aware that games v other clubs will be poorly attended and not financially viable. Once we see that the crowd is strongly against us, I reckon we will be out of there quicksmart.

Not sure if reported elsewhere but Caro was saying today on 3AW that we’re gonna push for 2 home games in Tassie, potentially at the new stadium, once the team comes in.
Why would they push for two games in Hobart when most of their support is in Launceston and who would fund these games?