Opinion Nth watching and experiences in Tassie

Saintly31

Apr 2, 2012
I'd love to know the thoughts of those who have travelled to Sth Tassie and how their experiences have been?

Not just the footy game, although a review of Blundstone would be great but also generally. Good bad or ugly is all welcome!! ha

Pros and cons, and we all know there are plenty of experiences when travelling. I've been to Melb every year since 8yo so yeah, not always perfect but also excellent Melb memories!

Be great to hear what experiences happened in reverse.

My partner and I make it to at least one game a year in Hobart. We were at the WCE game we lost by less than a kick. Great atmosphere but surprisingly a fair few WCE supporters made the trip.

We've done the tourist thing and visited the MONA museum, walked through salamanca markets and made the trek up Mt Wellington. For us it's a weekend of drinking, eating and watching North play.

Pros
-Only 45 min flight from melbourne
-Can generally get cheap flights if you keep a look out
-Weather has been good when we've been down
-Always Saturday day games so good to get on the gas
-There is the Casino if you really want to kick on
-Locals are nice enough

Cons
-Had to purchase tickets even with a full membership

I'd love to know the thoughts of those who have travelled to Sth Tassie and how their experiences have been?

Not just the footy game, although a review of Blundstone would be great but also generally. Good bad or ugly is all welcome!! ha

Pros and cons, and we all know there are plenty of experiences when travelling. I've been to Melb every year since 8yo so yeah, not always perfect but also excellent Melb memories!

Be great to hear what experiences happened in reverse.
Greatest footy trip I've been on by far. Although, I've only previously gone to Manuka Oval and also the SCG.

Funny you mention it, I'm about to upload a video of my trip to youtube tonight.

Anyway, I stayed a block away from Blundstone Arena (40 second walk! :D), 3 minute walk from shops and a pub. But, the best stuff is on the other side of town. Across the massive bridge will take you to the city, which is fantastic. The pubs in hobart are sublime. Big fireplaces, great atmosphere, brilliant beer ad fantastic food. Unlike Melbourne, the streets of Hobart on a Saturday night are quiet and you feel a lot more safe than you would on spencer st at 2am.

There was nothing bad about it IMO. Flew with Jetstar for $120 return, and it's only about a 75 minute flight each way. All I packed in my bag was spray jacket, coat, camera, iPad, wallet and was more than enough luggage IMO.

10/10. I will be going about every second year. Brilliant experience, and unlike Sydney, Perth etc., it doesn't hurt the wallet that much.

I haven't made the journey down there for a North Melbourne game yet, but certainly intend to with the family this year or next.

I have certainly travelled down several times back when a couple of my close mates played with the old Hobart Tassie Devils in the NBL up at The Derwent Centre. It was easy to get around, with "maps" so prevalent back then.

I was a lot more single back then and have a vague recollection of the odd "ugly" bumping, a couple which were "bad", and a few very very "good", who were most memorable. No "pro's" required, and the use of "cons" was definitely necessary. The last thing I wanted to return to the mainland with was an unwelcome "souvenir" of the trip. All of that's for an entirely different thread though of course.

Happy days back then staying in Newtown (yep, not far from Martin bloody Bryant's place), so close to the city, and in the city itself.

Looking forward to doing the East coast from top to bottom enroute next time over a week prior to game day.

Have attended one game each year. Totally agree with Atleyafterburners and Greater Gatsby's comments. I've taken my, now 13 year old, grandson each time. Stay in the city and get the bus across to the ground.

Nice updates and response.

Being a local I'm interested to see how people's trips have been and what has been good and bad plus for those from interstate it can be helpful to share info for people to use in upcoming trips.

Sounds like mostly good so far which is very positive!

Greatest footy trip I've been on by far. Although, I've only previously gone to Manuka Oval and also the SCG.

Funny you mention it, I'm about to upload a video of my trip to youtube tonight.

Be good to post that video here also mate, reckon will be quite interesting!

Once I watched a game of footy in Tassie and a drank too much and had a good time.

As I've said several times, I'm a frequent visitor to Hobart because of family (in-law) connections. Because we're there so often, we don't feel the need to cram too much into any one visit. And since we don't have to pay for accommodation, we have the flexibility to shop around for cheaper flights than the same-day ones, and make it a 3- or 4-day weekend.

Usually hang around the Salamanca markets on Saturday morning. Depending on how long we're there we'll often take a day trip out of Hobart to somewhere like Coal Valley/Richmond or the Huon Valley. Tend to save longer trips like the East or West coasts for when we're down with the car.

The highlight of footy weekends is, unsurprisingly, the footy. I like the saturation coverage in the local papers, the crowds at the Waterfront pub before the game, all the activity and excitement around the ground, and the atmosphere during the game. Not to mention National pies and Cascade beer instead of four-n-twenty and Carlton mid. A couple of games at Bellerive are enough to satisfy the old suburban ground nostalgia without sacrificing too much actual comfort and convenience.

Honestly I feel like some of the hardcore doubters would soften a bit if they went down.

Being a local I'm interested to see how people's trips have been and what has been good and bad plus for those from interstate it can be helpful to share info for people to use in upcoming trips.
The swans board has an excellent sticked thread on tips for visiting fans. Should we have one for Hobart?

Sounds like a good idea to me.

With a big game like Tigers coming up which will generate a lot of interest from interstaters it would be good to have it easily accessible for plans, tips etc

Never been to Bellerive Oval but was in Hobart late last year and had a really enjoyable time. Unlike Melbourne you can get around the city pretty quickly by car.

Considering going down for a game this year with the family.

What are some of the things to do in Tassie?

Doesnt really get much exposure - compared to other places in Oz.

Just a few of the most popular;
- MONA is a world class museum and travel experience. Not for everyone, but plenty to see and excellent facilities. It's extremely popular at the moment
- East Coast of Tassie, in particular Freycinet and Wineglass Bay, is a great drive and has some fantastic beaches and walks
- Salamanca Market is very popular on Sat mornings
- Port Arthur Historic Site very well known and enjoyed
- Wine Regions are underrated
- A trip up Mt Wellington on a clear day gives excellent views
- Cascade Brewery worth a visit
- Taste of Tasmania is excellent festival but only over NY period so not relevant to footy

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/themes/best-in-travel/top-10-cities/

Just a few of the most popular;
- MONA is a world class museum and travel experience. Not for everyone, but plenty to see and excellent facilities. It's extremely popular at the moment
- East Coast of Tassie, in particular Freycinet and Wineglass Bay, is a great drive and has some fantastic beaches and walks
- Salamanca Market is very popular on Sat mornings
- Port Arthur Historic Site very well known and enjoyed
- Wine Regions are underrated
- A trip up Mt Wellington on a clear day gives excellent views
- Cascade Brewery worth a visit
- Taste of Tasmania is excellent festival but only over NY period so not relevant to footy

http://www.lonelyplanet.com/themes/best-in-travel/top-10-cities/
further afield from Hobart:

Russell Falls
Tahune Airwalk
Hastings Caves
Bruny Island
The Wall in the Wilderness at Derwent Bridge
Franklin/Gordon wilderness, Strahan, Macquarie Harbour, even the weird local museum at Zeehan
Queenstown for the LOLs (though not nearly as striking as it used to be)
The murals at Sheffield on the way in to Cradle Mountain
If you're a bushwalker, the Overland Track, South Coast Track, Frenchman's Cap and Cradle Mountain are all pretty famous.

Nice work RobZombie. Knew I'd forget a heap....ha

Twinkletoes do you think a sticky for upcoming games is a good idea? Might give supporters good ideas for their travel plans?

Maybe, but there's a limit on the number of threads we can sticky before we end up with too many.

Alternately I'd suggest bumping this one in the weeks leading up to said events, and adding anything deemed relevant as well.

Those who are travelling down can also utilise it to ask questions of the local Map dwellers.

I spent three years at uni down in Hobart and had an absolutely awesome time. In those days, Fitzroy were playing home games at North Hobart Oval and I got along to a few of them. Due to the passage of time and the excess consumption of alcohol on game days, I don't have many clear memories of the games. However, a few highlights:
  • Full strength beer and negligible queues at the drink stands.
  • Some drunken dude invading the ground and joining the dancers in the pre-game entertainment before Roys v Hawks. Hilarious.
  • Darren Jarman kicking five in the first quarter of the above game.
  • Doc Wheildon kicking the most amazing soccer goal from about 40m out pressed hard up against the boundary.
I've just booked my flights down for the Richmond game in May. Can't wait.

Maybe, but there's a limit on the number of threads we can sticky before we end up with too many.

Alternately I'd suggest bumping this one in the weeks leading up to said events, and adding anything deemed relevant as well.

Those who are travelling down can also utilise it to ask questions of the local Map dwellers.

OK fair enough. Bump rather than sticky it is.

I reckon it will help a fair few not familiar with and to cut through a fair bit of time going through brochures etc

Hobart%20at%20Night.jpg

You're all very much welcome to visit.

-Pubs have a far different feel than anything i've experienced on the mainland.
-Very close knit feel, everyone doesn't just walk around in their own bubble.
-Bushwalking/National parks (got a mate who is a ranger if people need info).
-Wineries
-Number 1 Single Malt Whiskey distillery in the world currently.
-Taste of Tasmania
-Clean Air, second cleanest tap water in Australia.
-Top notch restaurants starting from North Hobart all the way to Battery Point.
-Wineglass Bay - legitimately rated as one of the worlds top ten beaches

823761-wineglass-bay.gif

also nearby Bay of Fires. (picture below is an overcast horrible day and still beautiful.)

bayOfFiresHeader.jpg

One big appeal is no matter where you're staying theres a getaway spot within a couple hrs drive.

I went with a bunch of mates to the WCE game about 11 of us all up, had an absolute ball (aside from the final result). We stayed near Salamanca. We hired a guy with a mini van that picked us up at the airport, then from the hotel to go to the game the next day and back again, and then back to the airport the day after. We went to MONA was well worth it. All the locals were friendly. We just stood on the hill for the game but that was really good. Weather was good, a bit cool.

In contrast the next year we went to the Gold Coast, similar deal but the general population up there at the pubs are a bunch of campaigners, it rained and was more expensive. The game was a massive disappointment and I cracked the shits.