TAC Cup Under 19's

has anyone seen Pat Hayes for Calder play? I heard he's showing real promise despite Dangerfield kicking a bag on him.
What are his chances of getting Drafted?

Probably the most likely to get drafed, would of done his chances a lot more by holding Dangerfield. Most the other u19, although mostly are playing well, dont seem to have shown a lot of improvement across the board.

whats everyone elses thoughts on the u19s at this stage? whos a roughie at getting drafted rookied?

They're doing well a lot of the 19 year olds which is good to see.

Not sure about DiMartino, I thought his injury was a longer term one. Kennedy seemed to make a remarkable recovery only missing two games. Post has been playing really well for Western.

Suckling at Sandringham continues to get better and better all the time coming off his knee reco.

Lofthouse has been kicking goals at Eastern in the last couple of weeks.

They're having an impact, hopefully these guys get a taste of VFL footy later in the season. I think that is the intention of AFL Victoria.

wasnt it meant to be 10-12. two weeks is a quite remarkable recovery

Dangerfield didnt kick all the goals on Hayes, Tsdarkis started on him, then White and lastly Hayes. Dangerfield has an enormous advantage on blokes in the TAC this year.

Tsdarkis started on him, then White
Thats the problem isn't it, these two guys are in the Vic Metro squad, I didnt see the game but quite possibly Dangerfield highlighted their flaws on the weekend. What ramifications could it have on their Vic Metro selection? Will AFL recruiters have found negatives on these guys based on this one match?

It stinks.

My roughies for this year as an U19 being drafted or rookied are:

Bill Burstin (oakleigh) - Dominated games last year for oakleigh along side harry croft. Got amazing hands and great kicking skills. Injury could hold him back.

Matt Suckling (sandy) - been troubled by injury over the last year, great player who always performs. lately has been playing well coming off a knee reconstruction.

Jayden Post (western) - Has been recently playing in the best for western this year and has shown he is strong and hard at the ball and

Dan Mclinden (gippsland) - Strong and solid player who can play KP. Can use his speed when need and will be a roughie on the rookie draft.

Will Johnson (sandy) - Strong player, has yet to play due to injury, an unknown to recruiters but looking at his testing results for his size see's him as a chance to be drafted.

Richard Jones (oakleigh) - Tall ruckman who played well at school footy level to be invited back at Oakleigh. Could bulk up a bit but has great awareness and a good set of hands.

Will Johnson (sandy) - Strong player, has yet to play due to injury, an unknown to recruiters but looking at his testing results for his size see's him as a chance to be drafted.

Hey mate, just wondering what injury he's had and how far away from playing he is?

With the second year of the Under 19 rule, I was wondering what people's thoughts were on this year's crop. I've seen most of them play now, my thoughts on those the prominent U19's are:

James Saker (Murray) - Attacking tall defender. Obvious interest as he played in the VFL U23 game and also filled in for Vic Country in a trial against Metro. Good overhead, beats opponent, kicking has improved- but enough ?? Rookie chance, good VFL prospect

Matt Hebbard (Murray) - High possession player who can go forward or back - but not a key position size and has struggled to play midfield whcih would be a concern- Good VFL prospect

Bryce Tickner (Nth ballarat) - Good player for the Rebels, improving and finding plenty of footy, Back Flank/Midfield type who might just lack the class necessary.

Troy Wright (Eastern) - Liked him after practice matches then broke his leg. Appears the Class factor of Eastern's midfield- inside/outside, athletic & great kick. Best of this years 19's. Draftable player whose stocks will increase if Eastern play finals.

Nathan Lyons (Jets)- Played every game in 2006. Good player for Jets- but like the rest of their 19 yr olds- seems to be playing to make the team more competitive and not be a realistic AFL prospect.

what did ya think of grant bell(nth ballarat rebals) he is a star m8

Hey mate, just wondering what injury he's had and how far away from playing he is?

apparenlty he has done a shoulder.
wouldnt have a clue when he is playing but id say soon. he did it during practice matches pre season. fair chance in my opinion!

Matt Suckling (sandy) - been troubled by injury over the last year, great player who always performs. lately has been playing well coming off a knee reconstruction.

How tall is Suckling, and what were his chances of being drafted last year before being struck down by injury

IS there any thoughts on the bottom age TAC cup players is there any that have the potential to go in this years drat

How tall is Suckling, and what were his chances of being drafted last year before being struck down by injury
Decent question, deserves a reply!

183cm/84kg.

The chances of being drafted is a tough one to give an answer to. Probably fair to say that there were flaws in his game as a bottom age player which he needed to improve, but given last year he had a knee injury first of all, then came back and did the ACL injury a few weeks later he didn't really get the opportunity to show whether he'd made the necessary improvement. I'm fairly sure he'd have been a part of Vic Metro last year, and from what I can gather the people at the Dragons and elsewhere who've dealt with him rate him as a leader and a person. So far this year I reckon there has been gradual improvement week by week.

At the end of the day a player only needs to capture the fancy of one recruiting manager from one club to end up in the system.

183cm/84kg.

The chances of being drafted is a tough one to give an answer to. Probably fair to say that there were flaws in his game as a bottom age player which he needed to improve, but given last year he had a knee injury first of all, then came back and did the ACL injury a few weeks later he didn't really get the opportunity to show whether he'd made the necessary improvement. I'm fairly sure he'd have been a part of Vic Metro last year, and from what I can gather the people at the Dragons and elsewhere who've dealt with him rate him as a leader and a person. So far this year I reckon there has been gradual improvement week by week.

At the end of the day a player only needs to capture the fancy of one recruiting manager from one club to end up in the system.

thanks, appreciate that

Did many of the Under 19 players step out for VFL Clubs on the weekend? I understand that this was to be a part of the arrangement, a really good idea too.
With the number of TAC Cup Byes (Development weekends) there should be plenty of opportunity for this. It would be great to see some promoted full time later in the year and play Senior VFL football. With the extra year, if they still aren't ready for that step i don't know how draftable they are.

Did many of the Under 19 players step out for VFL Clubs on the weekend? I understand that this was to be a part of the arrangement, a really good idea too.
With the number of TAC Cup Byes (Development weekends) there should be plenty of opportunity for this. It would be great to see some promoted full time later in the year and play Senior VFL football. With the extra year, if they still aren't ready for that step i don't know how draftable they are.
None did that I'm aware of.

I think a couple played VFL Reserves. I noticed Lofthouse for Box Hill and Quinton for Bullants.

183cm/84kg.

Really? I reckon the clubs made a mistake not picking him as a bottom ager. Each to their own.

The clubs may well have made a mistake, I'm glad to see you disagree with me but I don't want to argue over that one. That was two years ago, he had some bad luck last year and it's great that we've got the U19 rule in place so that guys like him can keep their AFL dream alive. I'm pleased he's still in the TAC Cup, respect him as a player and wish him every success for the future in achieving his dream.