• Thread starter Thread starter Roy boys

Roy boys

This team continues to amaze alot of people but i think thats simply people being naive & not looking past what they saw on the field for the last 2 months of last season.
I'm not saying they'll win the flag or anything becuase i dont personnally believe there good enough but i'll give you a quick summary on why they've been good & why it was prehaps obvious that they would infact improve.

Players back from injuries - All these players have suffered injuries in the past 2 years ( Hahn, Murphy, Griffen, Cross, Minson apolgies to any i've missed) last year Cooney & akeermanis both weren't able to complete pre seasons, they had no competent ruckman now they have Hudson & an improving Minson. They now have multiple forward options which now is more important then having purely a key forward not that they couldn't do with one but they have Johnno, Welsh, Murphy, Aker, Hahn, Cooney, Gia etc who can all kick multiple goals of which half were either injured or not at the club last season.

All these thiings plus a magic thing called confidence has led to a revival which should of been predicted but prehaps not to this exent.

Mitch Hahn and Robert Murphy were huge losses, people foget how importaint both were, especially Murphy

Now you got Aker/Cooney/Griffin firing as well, if they can keep away from the injuries they'll go deep into september.

And Hudson has been wonderful in the ruck, much better then street.

Basically, difference between 2005

Murphy/Aker/Hudson/Hahn
You have then got blokes in career best form-Cooney/Griffin/Lake/Morris
You still have Brad Johnson who so far hasnt played to his ability this year as well.

It goes a long way when everyone is preforming. and you have a full strength team on the park. the dogs always had it. just a horror season last year

Good test for hawthorn/Bulldogs comming up to see where they really are, both have knocked off some good teams, but bulldogs/cats/hawthorn are the front-runners soo far.

I'll also say that i believe the dogs are the 4th best team behind geelong/hawthorn/Brisbane but still the improvements they've made have been terrific.

North this week will be a good match. They spanked us last year.

We were able to field pretty strong teams last year, our options this week are very limited. I think we were down to 26 odd players last week and a rookie we elevated last week got a punctured lung.

Still, I hope we are still competitive despite the injuries.

Bulldogs seem to slip a little under the radar because of the success of Hawthorn and Geelong, I reckon they are still a little bit behind these two teams but would love to see them go all the way this year

Will struggle in the Finals
Why?

If our backline can hold up and improve ( through Wight and Williams being able to beat good KPP, not just compete), there isn't much more for us to do other than natural improvement and consistency. Multiple forward options, excellent midfield, good skills, contested footy, efficiency high. Dogs are better than many of us think but it won't be accepted until we compete/beat Hawthorn, Geelong, Brisbane or Port.

I think the review at the end of the year was important too. It identified deficiences internally that have been addressed.

Rocket is free to just concentrate on coaching without having to meet with disgruntled sponsors about players wearing wrong apparel or drinking the wrong brand of drinks publicly. He can just concentrate on what he's good at; coaching!

James Fantasia's appointment has been crucial in the overall too as he's been able to relieve Rocket of those ancillary tasks.

Last season 9 players didn't complete pre season which told towards the end of the year. We just ran out of legs.

The alignment with Williamstown has also been very smooth, particularly Brad Gotch coaching Williamstown but being employed full time by the Bulldogs as a development coach.

There was an emphasis over pre season to have the players bulk up too, many adding 5+ kg's to their frame, consequently we are holding our ground more, not as easily shrugged aside & we are winning much more contested footy.

Lack of big time match and finals experience
Not enough big bodied players - they are easily pushed off the ball
Still yet to be really tested.. have had a fairly friendly draw so far this season

Have you watched a game of footy this year wise guy, especially the Sydney game :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Mitch Hahn and Robert Murphy were huge losses, people foget how importaint both were, especially Murphy

Now you got Aker/Cooney/Griffin firing as well, if they can keep away from the injuries they'll go deep into september.

And Hudson has been wonderful in the ruck, much better then street.

Basically, difference between 2005

Murphy/Aker/Hudson/Hahn
You have then got blokes in career best form-Cooney/Griffin/Lake/Morris
You still have Brad Johnson who so far hasnt played to his ability this year as well.

It goes a long way when everyone is preforming. and you have a full strength team on the park. the dogs always had it. just a horror season last year

Good test for hawthorn/Bulldogs comming up to see where they really are, both have knocked off some good teams, but bulldogs/cats/hawthorn are the front-runners soo far.

Well measured post, well done..

For the first half of 06 we were probably the form team of the competition, but losing Hahn and Murphy to knee reco's within a month or so really killed off our challenge in the long run.

Now that these 2 are playing good footy after injury riddled season's in 07 they are showing just how important they are to the structure of the forwardline.

Still yet to be really tested.. have had a fairly friendly draw so far this season

I think you need to stop watching replays of the 2005-7 Bulldogs and check out some games we have played this year. Top 2-3 in contested footy this year. Beaten strong body sides Adelaide, Sydney and St Kilda by NOT being pushed off the ball.

Most of the side played finals in 2006 and comfortably handled the big match atmosphere against Collingwood.

Draw wise, you can only beat who you play but beating Adelaide, Sydney in Sydney and Saints at a time when the world thought they were near 2nd favourites plus Freo in Perth ( Cats found that easy!) is not as easy as it seems.

I reckon they are. Dogs have had a very good run. Brisbane pushed us without Black, Brown and Johnston; three of their best.

And Freo SHOULD have beaten you a few weeks back and they're one of the worst teams in the comp - means little.

The Dogs are far superior (at this point in time) to Brisbane.

You didn't have to go to far into your book of clichés to pull this one out did you?

i will be handing out cluepons at midday tomorrow. you are welcome to come and get one.

Please don't comment on topics like this when you obviously haven't taken any interest in our season and haven't watched probably any of our games this year. Don't know how you can say we have had a 'friendly draw' after 8 Rounds meaning we have played half the comp and haven't lost.

aannnddd ill say it again...

if you are gonna have a crack at the bulldogs at least watch them play and have a crack at their actual weaknesses, of which there are a few. stop dribbling out the crap that you have been fed.

sorry mate we are now in 2008, different team and style, maybe you should check out a game before you comment

So the team that is ranked 3rd in the comp in contested possession are easily "pushed off the ball"... hmmm... you really didn't think this one through did you