R.I.P The Happy Hour

Jul 26, 2004
rAdelaide
Adelaide United, Leeds United
Surely this great institution will not be scrapped, nothing better than heading down the local just in time for happy hour and some bar snacks on a friday.

I understand binge drinking is a problem but to be honest, when hasnt it been a problem? I dont think it matters what they do this will always be a problem.

Some people are going to make dicks of themselves and hurt themselves and others but so do Cars, should we put a ban or heavy restrictions on everyone, skin cancer is a huge killer, should we restrict access to the beach too?

I just dont get why Binge drinking is the "it" campaign at the moment, surely there is bigger problems to deal with, oil prices, inflation, housing crisis maybe? Or are those jobs too hard to do anything about?

Does anyone else get annoyed at this crusade to outlaw happy hours around pubs and clubs of Adelaide.

Mal Hyde said he doesnt want to be a wowzer or a party pooper, well yes Mal, you are.

Happy hour is brilliant, but I rarely make happy hour's on the weekend as I tend to drink with mates at someone's place before heading in :thumbsu: Much cheaper, usually don't get to town till about 10-10.30pm nowdays.

Will not affect me much.

What the ____? I haven't heard anything about this, what a disgrace! Happy Hour is brilliant, you can time your run to the pub and then load up on cheap drinks before hitting a joint before expensive.

This is all part of the governments knee jerk response in tackling binge drinking. The alcopops tax was just the start. Limited trading hours for pubs and nightclubs is next. Watch this space for warning labels on beer bottles.

Everyone still a fan of Rudd?

This governement is treating us like ____in children. Its ridiculous and they are flat out dumb if they think it will stop ________s being dick heads. Impeach the PM

I am still a fan of Rudd.

I laughed when Nelson made his Budget reply speech, saying the Liberals were doers while Labor just had meetings.

Hmmm ... within 2 weeks of being in power, Labor had signed the Kyoto protocol and apoligised to the stolen generation. Think again you poor excuse for a Thunderbird!

I wouldn't worry too much about the Labor talk about banning happy hours. I can't see it happening no matter how much they push for it. Premixed drinks are one thing, but labourers paying full price at the bar for a schooner or pint after work on a Thursday or Friday nite ... not good policy.

There is a hot bikini model who we should be using to push the pro-binge drinking message ... Lara Bingle (the l is silent).

I can see the campaign now: "Where the bloody hell are my UDL's Michael?!"

Given the amount of destruction it causes, if govenrments were serious about alcohol they would ban it completely.

The intentions are good with what they are trying to do, but they may be going about it the wrong way.

That said do you really think you would see much difference if a conservative government was in power??

This is all part of the governments knee jerk response in tackling binge drinking. The alcopops tax was just the start. Limited trading hours for pubs and nightclubs is next. Watch this space for warning labels on beer bottles.

Everyone still a fan of Rudd?
Dont blame me, I voted Liberal.

That's like Homer saying "Don't blame me, I voted for Kodos" ... or whatever that alien's name is.

Still, it will be comforting for Liberal voters to know you can probably continue saying that for the next 12 years ... in any state or territory you wish to visit :)

I have a strong belief that Duddy Ruddy's 14 year old son just came home to the lodge pissed off his face one morning hence this sudden binge drinking hysteria.

I mean we did not hear one word come out of Heavy Kevvy's mouth about it when he's running for office, but then out of no where he decides it's suddenly a grave national issue.

Or of course he just wants to raise taxes and raise inflation in order to keep whining:thumbsdown::rolleyes:

I am still a fan of Rudd.

I laughed when Nelson made his Budget reply speech, saying the Liberals were doers while Labor just had meetings.

Hmmm ... within 2 weeks of being in power, Labor had signed the Kyoto protocol and apoligised to the stolen generation. Think again you poor excuse for a Thunderbird!

I wouldn't worry too much about the Labor talk about banning happy hours. I can't see it happening no matter how much they push for it. Premixed drinks are one thing, but labourers paying full price at the bar for a schooner or pint after work on a Thursday or Friday nite ... not good policy.

There is a hot bikini model who we should be using to push the pro-binge drinking message ... Lara Bingle (the l is silent).

I can see the campaign now: "Where the bloody hell are my UDL's Michael?!"

He said sorry and signed an out of date protocol about climate change.

Did it have ANY impact on the ordinary person. No

And ofcourse this talk of scrapping Happy Hour comes up just as I turn 18.

And they called me crazy when I said the Government was after me lol

Rudd did all the easy, people friendly things first up but when the real decisions have to be made he has been shown up badly IMO.

Anyways back to the topic at hand....... surely they cant ban happy hour. The very idea of it is absurd, especially given prices of everything else in the world at the moment, which the government dont seem to give two tosses about.

This governement is treating us like ____in children. Its ridiculous and they are flat out dumb if they think it will stop ________s being dick heads. Impeach the PM

If people want to act like children then they should be treated like them.

It wont stop binge drinking but it's the perception to the masses that it will. It looks like they are doing something about it.

By the way it's a unilateral decision by all states and territories to look at it.
They are getting feedback from the people it affects the most. That being the police and medical people who have to deal with the end result.
It's not a pretty sight.

It's funny how much passion such an issue drums up amongst those who otherwise have little interest (or understanding) in what, some would say, should be more important political issues.
"YOU CAN TAKE OUR LIVES... BUT YOU'LL NEVER TAKE OUR FREEEEDOM (to binge drink and make ________s of ourselves)"

If people want to act like children then they should be treated like them.

It wont stop binge drinking but it's the perception to the masses that it will. It looks like they are doing something about it.

By the way it's a unilateral decision by all states and territories to look at it.
They are getting feedback from the people it affects the most. That being the police and medical people who have to deal with the end result.
It's not a pretty sight.

Spot on. Act like a dick, get treated like a dick.

To be fair I reckon if a poll was taken, across Aus. the result would be that binge drinking should be tackled. Now as a binge drinker of many years, even I can see the issues.

What is it these days with younguns trying to get as pissed as they can as quickly as they can, and then making feckwits of themselves.

Here is my take on the binge drinking issue. Its a bit of an essay but stick it out.

Binge drinking has always been an issue. The university boffins, social researchers and general do-gooders of this world have now given it a name that is marketable. For years kids have snuck a bottle of vodka, a few brews or other forms of drink into parties in an attempt to be rebellious, act beyond there age and experiment with the effects of alcohol. This is not news.

Does anyone here know what constitutes a binge??? I get the feeling it is only about 4 -5 drinks. A standard evening at the pub in front of the footy i would have thought? One a quarter and one at half time??? Not unreasonable? The point is, that by definition, a binge is not that much.

Binge drinking and drinking to excess is a cultural issue. Young people going through adolescense see getting drunk as cool. Who can stomach the most drinks?? Who can do the most outrageous things?? Who slept with/hooked up with who after throwing down to many? It is accepted in this nation as parents know that although it is not good for an individuals health, at one satge in their lives they did it themselves.

I am guilty of binge drinking. I turn 21 in november and still head out way to often with the boys and wake up with a headache. Alcohol does wonders. It lowers your inhibitions to make a tool of yourself on the dance floor and gives you the confidence to chat to that girl you go weak at the knees with otherwise.

I am learning though. Turning 18, hitting night clubs a few times a week with saturday nights only ruined by sunrise, now less frequent. Maybe a quiet few ones at the footy club (but probably still enough to "technically" hit a binge level, but at the same time but under .05 driving home :confused:) and the odd night once a month (at most) where we will go hell for leather in town. I am still young so give me that one :D.

The point is i am learning as, others will, that there are more important things in life than door charges, six packs and jager bombs. I am learning that a beer gut is harder to lose than i first thought and that wasting a whole day with a hangover is not worh it. We all get past this stage of life. We all grow up and realise its not that cool after all.

Education and tolerance levels regarding behvaiour towards alcohol substance starts at home. My parents knew and accpeted that i would go to parties and drink. By not stopping me, some of the associated rebelliousness was lost. They placed a responsibility in me that i would learn from mistakes and enjoy myself without too many. I pushed the limits and consequently adjusted my behaviour on occasion.

It is not right for keivn rudd to ban happy hours, lock out night clubs and pubs and rasie alcohol prices when the percentage of the population we are concerned with is a minority. Some mums would enjoy a UDL on a friday after work. To use the term "working families", K.Rudd is now making this harder, more unnafordable, and taking away a simple pleasure many of us have.

In closing....Get over yourself Rudd....Stop policing our behavious, our choices and our decsions regarding how we lead our lives and the activities we involve ourselves in. Given enough mistakes we will learn eventually. Kids will outgrow their behaviour towards alcohol. Sont ruin it for the rest of us...Stop looking like a tool
RANT OVER

R.I.P The Happy Hour