Hawks Declare Hand for Trade Week

• Thread starter Thread starter timhawx

Throw in a Zac Dawson gotta make it happen.

People we need A graders - the more the better.

It has nothing to do with who he'll replace in the forward line - there is room for all A graders in every side.

Our time is now to secure another Premiership NEXT YEAR...letting go of a pick 16 and a fringe player at best is nothing.

Come on Hawks - Make it happen.

Mate, it wouldn't be pick 16 plus Dawson. Dawson has no trade value whatsoever.

It would be more likely pick 16 plus Dowler or if we negotoiate very well Boyle/Taylor.

Far too much to pay for a 28 year old given that this will be the last uncomprimised draft for close to the next decade.

Plus there is the little issue of ROK's exhorbitant asking price. Very good player but $500-600K per season? Not a hope in hell.

Disagree Phil

Do we have room for him in our first team, he'll be entering his 3rd season next year with just one game to his name

I disagree Hawk, All it takes is one injury to one of our Kp forward talent to unsettle the mix. Thorp hasn't exactly set the world on fire but we have to consider he hasn't done a pre season, has also been injured and not to mention its been quite the hard task breaking into our team for the past 2 years, Thorp is a highly rated KP player and his talent is still untapped.

As if.. what reason does Hawthorn need to pick up O'Keefe?

He doesn't solve our key position defender worries, nor any of our other criteria, or does it...

And, he is asking for a salary that a premiership side shouldn't be able to afford.

Agree - especially the point about the salary.

Perhaps we are just trying to force up his price so some other team overpays (and so takes them out of our true plan).

Have faith.

O'Keefe is not an inside 50 player. He plays that lead up role that we can have difficulties with using the likes of Ossie. ROK is bigger and stronger overhead so would add plenty. We don't need but if the coaches think he could be an important cog, who are we to judge?

If there is one thing i've learnt over the last four years it's that those in charge of this footy club know better than the fans. I trust whatever decision they make.

Spot on :thumbsu:

Mate, it wouldn't be pick 16 plus Dawson. Dawson has no trade value whatsoever.

It would be more likely pick 16 plus Dowler or if we negotoiate very well Boyle/Taylor.

Far too much to pay for a 28 year old given that this will be the last uncomprimised draft for close to the next decade.

Plus there is the little issue of ROK's exhorbitant asking price. Very good player but $500-600K per season? Not a hope in hell.

Leaving his price tag to one side - lets face it no-one knows what he will be paid so media speculation is exactly that.

We must get ROK to our club. Pick 16 and one of Boyle, Dowler, Taylor, Mcglynn will get him to Hawthorn.

Draft Picks are completely over rated.

We picked up Cam Stokes in the Rooky draft and he was unlucky not to be a premiership Player and there are plenty of other examples.

Conversely, Dowler, pick 6, has been in the System for 3 years for absolutely zero result and there is no gurantee he'll even make the grade.

Brennan was a pick 10 for next to nothing result.

Getting 50-100 games out of an All Australian /absolute gun/ nightmare match up would be a priority over picks & fringe players.

What we pay him is irrelevent and so are the players and picks we trade for him...we know what we're getting with ROK there is no speculation...a bird in the hand......

This is a brutal industry - another flag awaits us next year and we want the best players available NEXT YEAR.

ROK is good to go for 50-100 quality games in a Hawk jumper and quite possibly 3 premiership games included in that.

Leaving his price tag to one side - lets face it no-one knows what he will be paid so media speculation is exactly that.

We must get ROK to our club. Pick 16 and one of Boyle, Dowler, Taylor, Mcglynn will get him to Hawthorn.

We picked up Cam Stokes in the Rooky draft and he was unlucky not to be a premiership Player and there are plenty of other examples.

Conversely, Dowler, pick 6, has been in the System for 3 years for absolutely zero result and there is no gurantee he'll even make the grade.

Brennan was a pick 10 for next to nothing result.

Getting 50-100 games out of an All Australian /absolute gun/ nightmare match up would be a priority over picks & fringe players.

What we pay him is irrelevent and so are the players and picks we trade for him...we know what we're getting with ROK there is no speculation...a bird in the hand......

This is a brutal industry - another flag awaits us next year and we want the best players available NEXT YEAR.

ROK is good to go for 50-100 quality games in a Hawk jumper and quite possibly 3 premiership games included in that.

I think you're wrong.. about everything, Td.

Everyone knows he wants a big salary and probably deserves one.

Draft picks, I don't think are overated, but obviously luck is involved. If you consider the top 25 picks are worth having and beyond that is luck, it's easy to think they're overated because 25 is less than the remaining 75 or so potential candicates, therefore teams are bound to find a star in the 75%.

Cam Stokes wasn't really unlucky to miss playing in the premiership, he only played in one final and was probably behind 2-3 players.

I think what we would pay for him is relevant because atm we have Buddy, Rouhead, Hodge and Mitchell ect (our best players) at $500,000 pa or less, which they agreed too as a pay restriction in order to keep the group together. Subsequently ROK potentially asks for a wage in excess of $500,000, what message does that send to the players in a group who just won a premiership, whom deservedly require a pay increase?

Mmm-kay.

I for 1 would not be impressed if we got ROK. He doesn’t fit into any criteria that has made this team what it is.
He is 28, in January.
He will come straight in and be one of the highest paid players on the list, which surely would not be good for team harmony, when there are several players who would all be worthy of substantial pay rises after delivering a premiership.
He is a forward which we have a abundance of.
His arrival would surely limit Thorp and Dowler even more.
He would come at a cost of our 1st round pick at least.

No to ROK.

We must get ROK to our club.

I'm sorry....WHY?

We are the premiership side with a young and inproving forward line.

Nobody has given any reason as to WHY we actually need a 28 year old forward with a limited AFL lifespan.

Maybe we'd like him....hell I'd like Fev, Judd, Pav, Riewoldt, Cox, Kerr and Ablett on our list too.....but it really isn't as though we need him and we should not sell our souls to get him. I wouldn't give up Dowler or Thorp and I sure as hell wouldn't be tabling any more than about $700K for two seasons either.

He's surplus to our current requirements. Would be a nice get but we don't NEED him at all.

No matter what we think, it's what Clarko wants. So whatever happens he might do something crazy and actually draft ROK even though it is against our wishes.
This time last year we were saying we wouldn't pick up Stuart Dew in the draft. We did and look at where we ended up this year.

Hodge - pick 1
Roughead - pick 2
Franklin - pick 5

All finished in the top four in our 2008 premiership best and fairest.

Draft picks are not overrated at all. They are not a guarantee of success but with all of the research done by club scouts these days, there is less likelihood that a "gun" will slip down the list on draft day. The Swans will want to maximise their chances of getting a quality youngster and rightly so and if you think that pick 16 and a McGlynn type will get the job done, then you are living in fantasyland. They have demanded a top ten pick for O'Keefe and that is precisely what they will get.

Everyone talks about his price tag. It's not hard and fast. Maybe if we came knocking and he saw that we are a good chance at going deep into finals again next year he may play for less. Just because he says $600k doesn't mean anything. F$%k, he could end up accepting $350k to come to a club that might win him another flag. And who said he put that price on his head?? What, they HS or the Age??? **** me when are they credible sources. Next thing you'll say SEN said it too!!! Players like ROK play for flags, not money (granted I've never met him, he just seems like a good bloke).

You reckon Franklin, Roughead etc couldn't get more or wouldn't love more. They know though that we are a chance for multiple prems and will stay for that. If ROK wants success, he'll come to us for that chance, not money. Don't get caught up on the money.

According to SEN news The Hawthorn Football Club have declared their hand in this week trade talks and are going after Sydney Swan Ryan O'Keef

I'll be interested to see where thes leads :confused:

Do we really need him in our forward line, given the price we would have to pay?

Don't get him. He's too old, too expensive and he pretty much plays the exact same role as Williams. It'll mess up the team balance and I don't like it

with you Nev why the hell would you want that piece of crap :confused:

Dowler and Thorp are required and will play big parts in 09....so the suggestion to trade them is laughable, if it wasn;t soo serious :cool:

SEN have said Pelchen has said we're very very interested. I'm more worried about who goes out of our side for him.

Taylor? Sydney do need a ruckman, having lost Spider.

Or Clarke plus early draft pick... Do the Hawks really want this guy so bad??

If he's going to get paid a similar amount or more than Hodge, Mitch, Franklin etc HE CAN GET STUFFED. We don't need money hungry mercinaries at our club. If his salary request is reasonable ok, he is worth pick 16/Boyle or Mcglynn. I trust the club's judgement more than mine of course, but paying him too much is NOT the way to go. Immediate ill feelings will occur and rightly so....

Personally I dont think we need him. We are young and have just won the flag. He is 28 years old. I would much rather have Dowler and Thorp on our list.

Taylor? Sydney do need a ruckman, having lost Spider.

Or Clarke plus early draft pick... Do the Hawks really want this guy so bad??
Think he meant who goes out of the Premiership 22, so O'Keefe can get a game.

I don't think we need him, even as a 'small' backman. We've already got a few of those and they are doing just fine. If Pelchen is really keen, I can only assume there's something in him and the club has thoroughly assessed the options. I can't see him playing purely as a midfielder... seems a strange choice to me.

I think if we got him he'd play HBF or as part of the midfield rotation.

Ladson + 2nd rounder for mine.

Would they take it?

Dowler + 2nd is what I'd be willing to offer. If they reject it, **** em.