2009 Trade Discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter 54Dogs

what are peoples thoughts on carlton? will they be found out soon and will we see a drop in their disposal count?

i was thinking ottens-kruzer, raines to houlihan

but then have hentshell dead, with garlett looking to be axed soon. might not trade at all with broughton a certainty to come in and big sauce jacobs getting 50-60 for 4 weeks cover for ottens

I have him in my side also and he's one of the few premiums that are letting my team down. My forwards are scoring quite high at the moment, with premiums Pav and Lids looking at finally hitting their straps following this round, and mid-tiers Houlihan, Skippy and Higgins doing likewise. However, Harvey stands out like a sore thumb amongst them, and it hurts even more to think i chose him over Richo, who i've always wanted to have in my team as he's an awesome DT'er.

But one of my golden rules is that you should never trade a premium for a premium unless an LT injury strikes, so i think i'll hold off and have faith in Harve's. :thumbsu: Plus, seeing as though i've already used 2 trades last week and will almost certainly use another this week, it seems wise to now hold off on the trades for a few more rounds as my team will then look quite settled.

My forwards are all over the place... Chapman, Buddy, Harvey, Higgins, Skipworth, Krakouer, Hentschel/Walker.

I agree, never trade a Premium. But I haven't traded yet, and will probably do only 1 trade.

If I was to trade... Deledio or SJ? I'm thinking Lids. :p;)

I'm really angry. My Brother's team made 1981 this week (without picking a captain)while I made 1821. It's his first year and here's a hint for anyone about his team, pick a midfield full of premiums. He's got Gibbs, ABC, Swan and he's also picked a load of good rookies (Cheney, Robinson, Beams). He was smart enough not to start with Raines but to go with Geary and didn't get Anthony. Next year I'll do my team differently. Premium Mids and heaps of Rookies!

This year there were alot of gun rookies. doubt itll work next season, dunno if itll pay off this season either bar the mid rookies.

Also have to remember this is only round 2. Theres 20 rounds to go mate.

If buckley plays (please footy gods, please please please!) then i m not sure if i will trade.

Either way though, raines to cheney sounds good, especially if hill isnt named.

Really unsure what to do this week. Reconsidering trading out Raines for Cheney, as I'd be nervous having to sweat on two of Petrenko, Suban, Cheney and Rance each week.

Thinking of downgrading Ottens to Kreuzer, who could very possibly increase his average to 70+ this season, considering his development over the preseason and the much higher possession game we're playing this season. Not much of a stretch - he did average 65 in the last 6 weeks of 08.

Then with the cash, upgrade Anthony to Rich and pray that Suban (or even Hill) manage to keep their spot for as long as it takes Raines to get over the knee.

Thoughts?

I think everyone should be using trades this week. It doesnt make sense not to. This is your last chance to trade crap players/ get good players before there prices change. In my case I have an opportunity to get rid of Mc Clean and get L. Harding. I'll defs be using two trades this week. We know so much more than we did 2 weeks ago.

whats everyones thoughts on
cheney and rance ??? both job security and scoring capabilities

i havent seen cheney play watched rance seems like a decent dter but that couldve been cause of all the backmen richmond had out... his role could slightly change once they get back in team thats if he keeps his spot...

Ok. Pretty much have to preface this with:
Please god don't laugh, I am only a rookie myself, and I missed the round 1 lockout.

Anyhow, the situation is this.
Traded last week for a total of 66k in the bank, now looking to make 2 more trades this week to fix my ailing team in prep for the rounds that count.

my most recent idea is:
Trade out Scott Harding for one of the cash midfielder rookies (Robinson, Zaha, Beams, other?)
This gives me enough to upgrade Solomon (don't laugh) to Richo.

Useful trades I think, and should provide an immediate points boost in addition to quite a lot of money over the long term.

Worth it? Other factors are that I have Ottens, but I'm currently happy to replace him with Jacobs, and I both Hill and Suban starting in the back line, which is starting to look precarious.

Really unsure what to do this week. Reconsidering trading out Raines for Cheney, as I'd be nervous having to sweat on two of Petrenko, Suban, Cheney and Rance each week.

Thinking of downgrading Ottens to Kreuzer, who could very possibly increase his average to 70+ this season, considering his development over the preseason and the much higher possession game we're playing this season. Not much of a stretch - he did average 65 in the last 6 weeks of 08.

Then with the cash, upgrade Anthony to Rich and pray that Suban (or even Hill) manage to keep their spot for as long as it takes Raines to get over the knee.

Thoughts?

ottens to kreuz doesnt seem so bad.. he seems to be in good touch picking up lots of touches around ground and goin frward effectively... prob with money u make on it though i'd prefer to upgrade one of your backs personally

Yeah I have Lade, really not happy with his form, Im thinking Lade -> Kruezer.

I may just sit on the money for a bit as I see no reason to upgrade any.

The only obvious other trade I could do is Butler -> Hocking. However I have cover in Beams and Robinson so no need to really trade there, I can wait for Butler to come back.

I have a last four backline of Raines Hill Cheeny Suban. At the moment Suban should hold his spot so still holding out on Raines.

The Reason is I can trade Raines to anyone under 278K (already have houlihan) so to me I wouldnt be happy with any of them, therefore not going to trade and ill wait til I can make some more money.

Thoughts?

Side atm is:

Fisher Goddard Chad Adcock Houlihan Raines Hill - Suban Cheeny

Bartel Ablett Kornes Butler Otten Rich - Robinson Beams

Cox Lade

Deledio N Brown Franklin Goodwin Higgins Skipworth Krackeour - Brown Walker

Ive got my trades sorted out

Raines to Cheney and then Hentschel to skippy with 30k in the bank! pretty solid stuff!

These are bad trades. You are using two trades for guys that are not going to stay in your team, and you are not really getting closer to keepers. By the time Cheney goes up to Raines price, Raines will be playing again.

Just a warning to anyone thinking about trading Raines... you will regret it whe he comes back, he will probably finish the year at about 300k and you will miss out on that cash. Also, I dont see why you would trade out hentschel yet, he is supposed to play next week and is a guranteed starter for crows if fit. At 122k he could make a fair bit of money for your team.

Not for all players.
No trades for me this week. I wish I could but we only have 20 trades.

If we had 25 I could lock in two trades but unfortunately that's not the case.

Pretty happy with my team (bar one or two) but I think there is still a lot of improvement.

Make 4 trades in the 1st 2 weeks and then maybe another 2 in the next 2 weeks then go easy is how I approach it. There is no point not being happy with your team and sliding down the rankings, you want to be competitive right from the start. Of the 20 trades you have the ones made now are more valuable as you get 20 rounds worth from them and you can gain instantly from expected price changes before 3 games.

These are bad trades. You are using two trades for guys that are not going to stay in your team, and you are not really getting closer to keepers. By the time Cheney goes up to Raines price, Raines will be playing again.
Just a warning to anyone thinking about trading Raines... you will regret it whe he comes back, he will probably finish the year at about 300k and you will miss out on that cash. Also, I dont see why you would trade out hentschel yet, he is supposed to play next week and is a guranteed starter for crows if fit. At 122k he could make a fair bit of money for your team.

Its also about managing risks. You want to have a bench guy playing, so he can be an emergency to prevent a zero. Also you dont want to run the risk of needing to do more than 2 trades one week cos you didnt trade the week before.

Getting rid of Hentschel would be a relief I would have thought. There's plenty of fat to be made elsewhere, and it may as well be from someone that might be worth keeping. Hope he can prove me wrong though.

Sure Hentschel and Raines may eventually make you money, but so too will a lot of other guys. Haselby will make money too but I am getting impatient and think there may be better options - cheaper and more potential for points and cash, so I might trade him out.

Nooooo

Wells had a very solid pre-season and if you give him time he will peform for you. I know it may seem tempting but in reality its only round 2. You probably chose Wells at the start of the season as a keeper so you probably shouldn't offload him after 2 rounds..... just my 2 cents.

Massive backline problems ... my bottom four backs: Raines, Collier, Suban, Hill.

Not keen on trading Raines without upgrading him.

I actually made trades on lockout day (pre-rnd 1) to try and fit in Collier/shift Hill to the bench. In the process, I brought in Butler for Travis Tuck (5th mid). What a masterstroke. :rolleyes:

Joel Selwood has not lived up to expectations but I guess he did get the knee dropped in his head in round 1.

Should I trade Wells for Gibbs? Will Gibbs give 120+ every round?

I'm a little annoyed with Selwood's output so far, but things are bound to change for the better. Still expecting an average of 100.

looking to drop butler to a rookie and upgrade t tuck to gibbs

is it worth it.....not sure if Tuck's shoulder will cause him problems throughout the season and this worries me a bit

I was always worried with Selwood. I reckon an average of 90-95 will be more of a chance because he doesn't usually score big 100s. Therefore when he scores below a 100 he wont always make that up.

Gibbs always had a higher roof imo and was cheaper.

Like many others, the arse end of my backline is a little shaky

Dempsey, Hill (Raines, Broughton)

I'm tempted to hold onto Raines, but I need the cash from somewhere. Have Butler on the mids bench, but if I was to trade him it would mean Otten and Rich are my fifth and sixth mids, and I'd like the added security of having one on the bench to downgrade later on.

I can either save my mids or backs this week. Raines -> 86k would give me enough to upgrade Hill to a Gilbert or similar, but I'm not getting a keeper out of it. My mids would remain relatively stable though.

The same first trade followed by a Reilly -> Gibbs trade will give me that added keeper, but at the detriment of my backs.

Tough decision this week.