Is Brad Sewell now Hawthorn's best player?

Oct 9, 2006
Left of centre.
Super Tottenham....from the Lane.
I think that this is a fair question based on the last 18-24 months of football.

Sewell is now at least as damaging as Mitchell at clearances and has the scope to tag an opponent whilst winning his own ball. His disposal is excellent, his decision making elite and he is rarely if ever beaten one on one. Garry Lyon regards him as the AFL's most "competitive" footballer and it is very hard to disagree with this.

Personally, I would select him first every week.

You know what TC, I am inclined to agree with you.

Sewell is the consummate professional. Utterly determined and desperate, incredibly tough and strong. But what I love about him most is he simply doesn't play for free kicks. Takes the knocks, gets up and goes again. In time his second and third efforts will be legendary if not already so.

Certainly one of our most important players. I seem to remember we managed to go unbeaten last year up until the game he injured his shoulder (against the bulldogs) - I don't think that's a co-incidence.

I think the game he (and Lewis) played against Port Adelaide in Tassie last year ranks as my favourite from Brad - pretty much got us back into that game himself, with clearances, run & goals!

Certainly one of our most important players. I seem to remember we managed to go unbeaten last year up until the game he injured his shoulder (against the bulldogs) - I don't think that's a co-incidence.

I think the game he (and Lewis) played against Port Adelaide in Tassie last year ranks as my favourite from Brad - pretty much got us back into that game himself, with clearances, run & goals!

What about the GF when he stepped it up a notch in the 3rd and 4th quarters. His centre work was exceptional.:thumbsu:

I've been thinking about this recently too, and my opinion agrees that he has stepped up to be our number one midfielder. Mitchell has a tendency to get tagged out of a game every now and then, whereas when someone tries to tag Sewell, he just burrows in and works harder. Exceptional rise from where he was 3 years ago. Reminds me of a very rich mans Brett Kirk :D

Our best player this year and certainly our best midfielder. Mitchell is fantastic on his day and not far behind, but Sewell is just a complete monster in any contest.

Certainly one of the team's most consistent, and his clearances are hugely beneficial to the side. I love the fact that he's a tough and gutsy player too.

But assuming Franklin & Hodge were both fully fit and back to their best I don't think I'd be inclined to put Sewell at #1.

He's one of Hawthorn's most effective, certainly. Up there with Franklin, Hodge, Bateman IMO ... and they each bring certain strengths to the group.

You're absolutely kidding yourself if you think one of Sewell's strength is his disposal though. Good hands in close, OK short kicking when under no pressure, but hitting a target over 30m or more especially under pressure is no sure thing. That's why he either roosts it forward or dishes off short to someone with better foot skills. Playing within his limitations shows maturity ... but if he could kick he'd be king of the world already.

i seem to remember that he won something at our club a couple of years ago that is judged by the coaching staff.

I think that gives you a fair indication of what they think about him.

It's always tough to say who is "the best".

He is definitely in the top 5 and definitely one of the most consistent.

He is a deadset superstar. The incredible work he does under extreme pressure each week is mindblowing. My wife must get sick of me repeating 20 times a game "how good is Brad Sewell".

As an outsider looking in I won't comment on him being your best player as I don't watch enough Hawthorn matches to really know but I would certainly say Sewell is one of the most under-rated jets going around.

I love his hardness at the contest, his ability to think his way out, and through, traffic. He hits his targets more times than not (even under pressure), tackles hard and has a great ability to release team-mates.

All up - I personally think he is a ripper :thumbsu:

No. Still Buddy for mine.

Then Sewell, Hodge, Mitchell, Bateman on about the same level.

Buddy is not in his best form but lets not forget he is our reigning B&F (in a premiership team) and the reigning Coleman medalist, at age 22, playing with 2 opponents on him every week.

So do I :) - but then I have money on a few players :rolleyes:.
I've lost count mate I've got that many bets on Coleman Brownlow Premiership & then a heap of Multi bets had a great week end last Round looking at backing it up again this week!

I think that this is a fair question based on the last 18-24 months of football.

Sewell is now at least as damaging as Mitchell at clearances and has the scope to tag an opponent whilst winning his own ball. His disposal is excellent, his decision making elite and he is rarely if ever beaten one on one. Garry Lyon regards him as the AFL's most "competitive" footballer and it is very hard to disagree with this.

Personally, I would select him first every week.

Good thread CK, although I may go even further and suggest his last 30 months have been outstanding. Third in the Crimmin's in 2006, winner in '07 and eighth last season after missing half a dozen games shows how highly regarded he is by the club.

And tellingly, when he doesn't play, we really struggle to win, so yes - he'd be my first pick as well.

Is Brad Sewell now Hawthorn's best player?